52 Reviews

AWESOME! I made this the day before yesterday--divided the recipe in two to make TWO fresh baguettes--used one for a bruschetta and just ate the other plain! Your technique of putting water in the oven really makes a difference!! Thanks Skat!

21 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
spatchcock July 25, 2002

I made this this weekened the only addition I did was add an eggwash to the top of the loaf, and it came out great made it on a pizza stone wtih some yellow cornmeal on the bottom. What a great breat recipie. "Anyone else have any other trade secrets on this?"

16 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
duke8888 January 02, 2002

Awesome! This bread was soft on the inside and had a crispy crust on the outside... just perfect! I had to use regular all-purpose flour because that was all I had on hand, but it turned out just fine. I will definitely be making this again!

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kim D. June 17, 2002

Fantastic recipe! Super easy in the food processor. Definitely worth it!

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
uberfrau April 27, 2002

Wonderful recipe! Smelled really great when it was cooking, and it turned out perfect. Thanks.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sheri-BDB March 27, 2003

This was really great and restored my faith in my ability to make bread. It reminded me of the great bread we used to get in Brooklyn. I even forgot to add the sugar (duh) but it came out great anyway !! Crisp crust, tender inside. Thank you so much!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Caz March 17, 2003

This was a really easy recipe. I took a short cut and threw the ingredients in my bread machine to do the kneading and rise, then pulled it out for a second rise before separating it out into 4 mini baguettes. The outside was crusty and perfectly browned-my DH did brush it lightly with a little olive oil - the inside was soft and perfect. Thanks

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tish February 28, 2003

Even though I don't think this recipe really needs another review, I have to say that it was amazing! I used whole wheat flour and a little extra sugar, but other than that held true to the recipe; and like everyone before me found this bread to be amazing!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Young Structural October 06, 2002

Really excellent recipe! Very simple to make. We had it right out of the oven w/pasta last night, and if there's still some left tomorrow morning it will be french toast!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marcy1 August 06, 2002

fantastic recipe. this is the first bread i have ever made and it turned out ideally. i used 4 cups bread flour and only had to cook it for about 22-25 minutes but i made 2 smaller baguettes instead of one bigger one. i'm eating it right now still warm with some olive oil and balsamic and i can't get over how good it is.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
blay27 April 15, 2011
Fresh Baguette