Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Fresh Baguette Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Fresh Baguette

    Average Rating:

    52 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 52

    Sort by:

    • on July 25, 2002

      AWESOME! I made this the day before yesterday--divided the recipe in two to make TWO fresh baguettes--used one for a bruschetta and just ate the other plain! Your technique of putting water in the oven really makes a difference!! Thanks Skat!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2002

      I made this this weekened the only addition I did was add an eggwash to the top of the loaf, and it came out great made it on a pizza stone wtih some yellow cornmeal on the bottom. What a great breat recipie. "Anyone else have any other trade secrets on this?"

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2002

      Awesome! This bread was soft on the inside and had a crispy crust on the outside... just perfect! I had to use regular all-purpose flour because that was all I had on hand, but it turned out just fine. I will definitely be making this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2002

      Fantastic recipe! Super easy in the food processor. Definitely worth it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2003

      Wonderful recipe! Smelled really great when it was cooking, and it turned out perfect. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2003

      This was really great and restored my faith in my ability to make bread. It reminded me of the great bread we used to get in Brooklyn. I even forgot to add the sugar (duh) but it came out great anyway !! Crisp crust, tender inside. Thank you so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2003

      This was a really easy recipe. I took a short cut and threw the ingredients in my bread machine to do the kneading and rise, then pulled it out for a second rise before separating it out into 4 mini baguettes. The outside was crusty and perfectly browned-my DH did brush it lightly with a little olive oil - the inside was soft and perfect. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2002

      Even though I don't think this recipe really needs another review, I have to say that it was amazing! I used whole wheat flour and a little extra sugar, but other than that held true to the recipe; and like everyone before me found this bread to be amazing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2002

      Really excellent recipe! Very simple to make. We had it right out of the oven w/pasta last night, and if there's still some left tomorrow morning it will be french toast!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2011

      fantastic recipe. this is the first bread i have ever made and it turned out ideally. i used 4 cups bread flour and only had to cook it for about 22-25 minutes but i made 2 smaller baguettes instead of one bigger one. i'm eating it right now still warm with some olive oil and balsamic and i can't get over how good it is.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2010

      Very simple recipe to follow; incredible results! I will definitely be making this again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2010

      I halved the recipe and baked a smaller loaf, and it came out perfectly. Let's just say, it didn't last the whole day. The bread had a nice, crispy exterior, and the interior was soft and moist. What I did was place a baking tray with water inside the oven while it baked to ensure it was steamy inside. I also brushed a little olive oil on it prior to baking. If I made this again, I would play it up and add oregano or sun-dried tomatoes.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2010

      I'm so excited about this bread! It was simple to put together and had the perfect density inside with a nice crusty outside. I used half AP/ half whole wheat flour and baked two slender loaves on Chicago Metallic's Perforated Baguette Pan which helped keep the loaves evenly shaped. I also kept the dutch oven with water underneath while baking. With a loaf always in the freezer, there's no reason to buy baguettes again. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2003

      This recipe was delicious and easy. I have never made bread before, and if I can make it (I'm 15), anyone can. One note, though--Make sure that you put the water into the oven for an hour before baking so it becomes humid. Otherwise it is dense, but still good. Thanks again, s'kat, for an incredible recipe

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2013

      This recipe is so simple and has worked for me everytime. I prefer a softer crust so I just take the bread out earlier. I've also made buns with this recipe. The only reason I didn't give five stars is that the salt quantity is far too high. I find a quarter of what is asked for works great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2011

      I don't see how I could add anything new to this review so I'll just say...."What everybody else said!" Great recipe and thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2011

      Super easy to make, beautiful and what a lovely texture. I made 4 mini loaves out of this recipe to make Portabello French Dips for lunch with friends. Fantastic!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2011

      Made this bread for dinner tonight to go along with my homemade Broccoli Potato & Cheddar Soup....and YUMM!!!! It turned out super delicious. Made just as recipe instructed...except I must not have put enough water in my pan in the oven because half way through cooking I realized it had all evaporated! So...I panicked for a second...then just grabbed a stick of butter from the fridge and rubbed it all over the outside of the bread and let it continue to bake for the rest of the time. Let me just say...the buttery crust made it even better!! So I'd probably do the butter thing again next time, but on purpose. Thanks for posting this recipe. I'll never buy the store made bread again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2010

      Made this for a smoked Gouda fondue. The crust was excellent and the flavor was what I expected but I was hoping for something with larger holes so as to soak up more cheese. Still a very good recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2010

    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Fresh Baguette

    Serving Size: 1 (882 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1859.2
     
    Calories from Fat 48
    63%
    Total Fat 5.4 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 0.8 g
    4%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 5838.0 mg
    243%
    Total Carbohydrate 388.6 g
    129%
    Dietary Fiber 15.4 g
    61%
    Sugars 5.5 g
    22%
    Protein 54.5 g
    109%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites