7 Reviews

Oh my goodness! This bread is absolutely fabulous!!! I followed Crafty Lady's review, and put it in the breadmaker, and it came out beautifully. The sourdough added an extra depth of flavour and texture, and the crust came out excellent, too! Paula, this is a wonderful recipe! Made for ZWT5.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Katzen May 30, 2009

You just can't beat homemade bread. I cheated a little and used my bread maker on the dough cycle. Once the dough cycle was complete, I formed a ball and let it rest before forming it into a French loaf. It smelled sooooo good while it was in the oven. I couldn't wait until it cooled down enough to try a slice. I wasn't disappointed. Made for ZWT5.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Crafty Lady 13 May 27, 2009

Paula, this is a great recipe. Great flavor and love the chewy crust! An unusual method of preparing, but it works! Update June 7, 2007 Paula just made this again for ZWT III . . . and it's still as good as ever! Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Galley Wench June 07, 2007

Dear Paula, I made this bread for our best friends last Saturday night and it was delicious. It was the first bread I have ever made and your recipe was easy to follow and fun to make. I used the left over bread to make panini sandwiches the next day. I will definitely make this bread again. Thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WestTexasChef January 16, 2007

Superb! The instructions are very well written. For all you bakers out there who have tried every other kind of French bread...you need to get on this one! I was skeptical about the rising and then adding more flour( I'm an OLD timer)but it turned out great. The only suggestion I can make is to double the recipe cause one loaf is not gonna last long!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lisa Gay August 20, 2006

What a delicious bread Paula! This was the very first time I made sourdough and sourdough bread and all of the family really liked it. This bread will be made very often here during the weekends (when we have most time). I would give it a lot more stars if possible. This would also be a great bread to add spices too, but it has a great taste just plain! Thank you so much for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maïté G. July 14, 2006

Absolutely wonderful flavor and texture. I did have a problem with the dough spreading out during rising and making a fat loaf. I'll put it in a loaf pan next time to prevent this problem. I used exactly 2 1/2 cups unbleached all-purpose flour and it was right on. For taste and texture, a 5+ recipe. Oh yea, I used your Failproof Sourdough Starter as always. Thanks

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Nimz~ December 30, 2005
French White Bread