10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Very nice. Has a good crust with a soft fluffy center.It also smells wonderful. It does have a yeasty flavor, and good texture. I changed nothing about this recipe. I set the machine for a 1 1/2 lb loaf. Cheers!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kerr(ie)bear March 06, 2004

Great Loaf, but NEEDS SALT! I'm trying it a second time with half a tsp salt to see if that works. I also crisped it up in the oven after baking for a short time to make the crust a little browner.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommandant April 24, 2008

I hated to rate this two stars, but I tried this recipe twice and both times the bread didn't have any flavor for us, it kind of just tasted like water. I am sure that this is something that I am doing wrong, but like I said I tried the recipe twice with the same results both times. However, both times I did have a great texture and it smelled really good. If anyone has any ideas of what I might be doing wrong please let me know, because I think that if I could get this to taste right we would really enjoy it. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KellyMac6 February 03, 2008

Very good, came up great. I modified it for my 1 Hour Setting, and it still comes up great. Use HOT water instead of lukewarm water. Use 4 tsp of yeast instead of 3. Use your 1.5 lb express 1 hour setting and you'll have super baked french bread. The texture is yummy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
suzidoer November 13, 2007

Delicious! Great texture on inside, crust is a little chewy just the way we like it, delicious taste. The reviews are always helpful.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cheesmkr February 12, 2006

My bread came out delicious and I used the only flour I had, All purpose flour. This is the first Machine made bread recipe that worked for me. Thank you

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lena #2 August 19, 2005

I liked this alot! The crust is very light and crispy, almost pastry-like. The inside is very light and fluffy. Just beautiful. I wanted a more wheaty flavor, so I used 2 cups white flour and 1 cup wheat flour. The wheat taste was still very faint. I highly recommend this one.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mindi Bunch June 08, 2005

Lovely bread..just how I like it..crisp crust and fluffy center..I used 1/2 tsp salt instead of the 1/8 as recipe stated. The top of the loaf just touched the top of my machine other than that it was a perfect shape. Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Evie* May 19, 2005

This bread had a nice crust, and the texture was fine. However, it had no flavor at all. I even put butter on it, and still I have had better.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
QueenBof6 October 11, 2004

This bread was pretty good, but I have made better. It hade a strong yeasty flavor and the flavor of the wheat flour definitely came through. It had a nice crust. The center was denser than I would of liked, but still acceptable. After the first kneading cycle, the dough seemed to wet (sticking to the sides of the pan) and I added a couple of pinches of wheat flower. On my bread machine the cook time on the frech bread cycle was 3 hours 50 minutes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Roger/OH September 15, 2004
French Wheat Bread (Bread Machine)