Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / French Tomato Mustard Pie Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    French Tomato Mustard Pie

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on October 26, 2003

      Excellent! This dish gets one of my rare "To Die For" ratings ! DH ate half the pie himself. I made the recipe as directed using a pre-rolled (Pillsbury) pie crust, Dijon mustard and the Herbes De Provence sent to me from the chef as part of the "Salt and Pepper Shaker Swap". Kasha lives in Provence (France) and this wonderful dish makes me wish I did also. This recipe will be the star of my "book of special tricks". I served the pie with Broccoli with Lemon-Garlic Crumbs #71074. Thanks Kasha for this very special recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2012

      Yummy! We really enjoyed the mustardy pie crust. As other have noted, the crust did end up soggy even though we squeezed as much juice/seeds from the tomatoes as we could before slicing them. Next time I will try pre-baking the crust. However, it may just be the nature of the dish. Either way, we enjoyed it. It was a great way to use up six tomatoes as our garden explodes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2010

      I enjoyed this and will make it again. I agree that the quality of tomatoes is very important!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2010

      so 6 tomatoes did not fit in my pie crust. mine must have been much smaller then yours or my tomatoes much bigger. i fit in about 3 i think. i ended up subbing half regular mustard and half dijon because i wasn't happy with my homemade stuff and i didn't have herbes de provence but i did have some lovely fresh dill so i went with that. wish i would have added some fresh cracked pepper. i was guessing on the cheese amounts and wasn't sure i had enough so i threw in a little mozza that needed to be used. i was worried about the amount of mustard so i did let it cook a bit longer to try to mellow it out as much as possible. i too needed to drain after cooking but it is early spring so tomatoes are not at their best. the mustard does mellow out but it still completely dominates the dish to the exclusion of all other flavor. kind of gave me a headache. if i make this again it will be with less then half the mustard. this is edible but only just.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2008

      So simple to make and yet so VERY tasty! I baked the crust before filling and then scattered each layer of tomatoes with the Herbes de Provence. Brought back memories of a tomato pie I enjoyed at a sidewalke cafe when living in Aix-en-Provence. Thanks for the memories Kasha!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2007

      I did use a rolled pie crust from the supermarket but made French Style Mustard and Herbes De Provence to use in the making of the pie. Except for the soggy crust this was an excellent side to this evening's pork chops. I'll do this again because it was delicious but I will make it crustless and scatter the herbs over the tomatoes as I layer them so that each has its own little compliment. TFS, even my GD and her friend liked this one.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2006

      I made this for our vegetarians as part of Christmas Eve dinner. The quality of the tomatoes are pretty important in this recipe. The ones I used were too watery (perhaps should have used plum tomatoes this time of year) which made it necessary to drain juices from the pie after it cooked. Also, I would decrease the quantity of mustard for my tastes (others did not feel that way). I will definitely be making this again with pulpier tomatoes and a little less mustard. It was a tasty dish, presented nicely, and I look forward to making it again during the summer months. Thank you for sharing this recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2005

      I made my own pastry for the recipe - it was a definite winner in our household! Yum

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2004

      Kasha, we loved this recipe. The only change I made was to make the pastry myself, but the flavours of the tomato, Dijon mustard and cheese was superb. Great summer flavours in the middle of Aussie winter, thanks so much for sharing this one.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for French Tomato Mustard Pie

    Serving Size: 1 (132 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 194.3
     
    Calories from Fat 114
    58%
    Total Fat 12.7 g
    19%
    Saturated Fat 4.5 g
    22%
    Cholesterol 13.0 mg
    4%
    Sodium 148.7 mg
    6%
    Total Carbohydrate 14.6 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 1.9 g
    7%
    Sugars 2.6 g
    10%
    Protein 6.0 g
    12%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    French mustard

    herbes de provence

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites