36 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

What I like best about this recipe is the easy clean-up. I don't usually make french toast because you have to watch it so closely, and I'm never sure if the center is cooked through. I used a belgian waffle iron, whole wheat bread, egg beaters, vanilla soymilk and cinnamon. No leftovers! This is how I will make french toast from now on. Thanks for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
veggie_mama March 11, 2007

These are great. I used a whole loaf of texas toast (16 slices) and quadrupled the recipe. I froze the rest and pop them into the toaster oven for a quick and delicious breakfast. Thanks for the great recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hugce March 30, 2003

This is a keeper! Much quicker then French toast, none of the mess for waffles. Perfect for when company stays over. The egg mixture was a little bland for me, I like more spice, but that's personal preference. Try this one!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nikoma August 03, 2010

Words cannot describe how good this is. Super easy, fast, minimal mess, and the whole family loves it. My new favorite recipe! I made this twice in less than a week, and I rarely make the same thing twice. Even bought a larger waffle iron specifically for this recipe so I could make multiple slices at once. None of my three boys has ever voluntarily eaten French toast, and I had to double this recipe since they ate so many slices. Used Orowheat Potato bread, a heavier textured regular sandwich bread which worked well. Am sure any bread would work nicely. Omitted the cinnamon since I planned to serve with Syrup for Blueberry Pancakes which was delicious. Also excellent with maple syrup or honey. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LonghornMama July 03, 2010

These were so good. They were also so so easy. The cinnamon gave these a great flavor. Made these for my kids for breakfast and I just had to have some too. I will be making these time and time again. Thanks so much for sharing. Made for Zaar Cookbook Tag. June 2010

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gertc96 June 21, 2010

I went to make this again this morning and realized I hadn't reviewed this. We have a housefull of guests this morning so I'm making these. I also love the ease of clean up. These are great and delicious. I always use the texas toast it works great.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Susang October 05, 2008

What a quick, simple way to make french toast! I used thick sliced cinnamon raisin bread and still added cinnamon to the batter. The best part was the clean up being so easy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KarenTheMiltch June 05, 2008

So easy!! Clean up a breeze! Satisfies all!! Excellent with sliced banana!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
powder_bren February 12, 2008

Made this delightful recipe for breakfast on New Year's Day while watching the Rose Parade. Everyone loved it. I used a thick sliced bread named "French Toast Bread".

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ginny Sue January 27, 2008

This was a super-easy & very tasty recipe! My waffle iron cooked the slices perfectly.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Debbb January 06, 2008
French Toast Waffles