Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / French Toast Sticks - OAMC Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    French Toast Sticks - OAMC

    Average Rating:

    140 Total Reviews

    Showing 121-140 of 140

    Sort by:

    • on January 07, 2007

      This was fast to assemble and dip... I baked my sticks for 30 minutes to get them just a bit crisper. Thanks for a wonderful addition to my recipe book! .

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2006

      Excellent recipe! I used whole grain french bread and double the cinnamon - the taste was so good the kids didn't even notice the whole grains (which they usually complain about!) Thanks for a great way to sneak those grains into my kids!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2006

      So, so good! We make this with soy margarine and vanilla soy milk (dairy allergies), omitting the additional vanilla. We use "artisan" sourdough bread, cut an inch thick, and the texture is fantastic - nice and crunchy and chewy, not all gooey and soggy like french toast can sometimes be. Reheating frozen sticks takes 30-40 seconds in our 1000 watt microwave. Thanks, JillAZ, we make these all the time!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2006

      Great recipe!! My daughter loved them! Which is a great thing. I didn't bake as long as what was stated as my oven runs hot. Next time I make I will add more cinnamon cause the kids want them to tast cinnamonny! lol Thanks JillAZ!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2006

      Excellent recipe!!! My husband and 18 month old really loved them! I made extras to freeze for my once a month cooking plan! Thank you, Jill!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2006

      Wow, so good! Like many, not nearly as many made it into the freezer as I had hoped because they were too good to resist. For some reason, the melted butter became kind of clumpy - maybe the eggs/milk were too cold?? - but they still came out delicious. Followed recipe exactly and wouldn't change a thing next time. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2006

    • on September 10, 2006

      Great recipe and OAMC technique. I used nearly two small loaves of Pepperidge Farm whole grain cinnamon swirl sweet bread, added a bit more milk and egg and decreased the sugar. Texas Toast would probably give a result that's closest to the frozen French toast sticks you can buy, but I wanted these to be firm enough for the kids to hold and dip in syrup. I look forward to experimenting further with this wonderful recipe! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2006

      This was really good. I will now use this in my breakfast arsonal. Thanks, jillaz

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2006

      Really good and easy recipe. I had never bought Texas toast before and we really liked it. One loaf was exactly enough to double the recipe. When I tried to turn them halfway through the first batch they weren't quite done yet and stuck to the pan, so I had to cook mine quite a bit longer before turning them. I ended up raising the temp to 375 for the final batch, which worked great for me. They crisped up really nicely at that temp (at least in my oven). They reheat pretty well and my 2 yr. old gobbles them up. Much cheaper than buying them frozen.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 10, 2006

      I'm defintely giving this recipe 5 stars...it's great fresh out of the oven and I make this on Sunday's for my husband and daughter... My problem lies in reheating after freezing...they just weren't good. They seemed to get hard after reheating for 60 secs, and even after decreasing the reheating time, they just didn't have the same flavor. I'm in no way blaming the chef/recipe...I did follow the steps to the 'T'. I think I'm just partial to the fresh out of the oven taste of this recipe and that seems to be the only way I want to eat it. This recipe is still and always GREAT!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2006

      Wonderful recipe. I am always looking for quick good breakfasts and being able to freeze this is great! I did make a few changes. I didn't have Texas toast or French bread so I used my families favorite wheat/white bread and cut the slices a little thicker. Also, instead of melted butter, I used canola oil (The first time I tried it, when I added the melted butter to the eggs, the butter clumped up. This probably wouldn't happen if I let the eggs get to room temperature first, but the oil worked fine). In addition, I used 1/2 tsp. cinnamon and 1 tsp. vanilla. And I increased the cooking time to 30 minutes, for 15 minutes on each side. This recipe is awesome!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2006

      Perfect in every way! I first made a loaf of Basic Machine French Bread Basic Machine French Bread, letting it cook in the machine so I had a loaf that was a rectangular prism. After cooling, I used my bread slicing guide to make thick slices by skipping every other slot. I could then proceed per the directions above. One and a half recipes of the egg mixture was just the right amount to make up the whole loaf. By the way, I used the blender to mix the egg dip. A few of the toast sticks were eaten right away because they smelled so good, even if it were 10:00 at night! The rest got frozen and my daughters are loving the convenience for a quick breakfast. Thanks for a great idea.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2006

      Loved the reccipe! One tip: I mix the cinnamon with the sugar prior to adding to the egg mixture, as it will not clump this way. Otherwise, made just as directed.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2005

      Deee-licious and super easy, too. None have made it to the freezer yet but have been enjoyed by all.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2005

      I recently started something a bit different with the cinnamon and thought this might make a neat suggestion. Instead of incorporating the cinnamon into the "batter", dust it over the slices of bread and then cut it into sticks, dipping into the "batter" after that. I will be trying this recipe and then updating my review. -Azure!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2005

      DS liked the first batch so much that there's now a double batch in the freezer. Perfect as written. Thanks, JillAZ.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2005

      These were very yummy! Ours didn't make it to the freezer either. Will try that next time! Thanks for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2005

      These are wonderful! They taste so good and are so much more healthier than the store bought. I'm glad to find such a kid pleaser breakfast. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2005

      My kids went crazy for these French Toast sticks and they're begging for more! I used Texas Toast and followed the recipe exactly. They bake to such nice, golden brown. We ate them right away, but I will be making another batch for the freezer - if the kids don't eat them first. These have got to be healthier than the French Toast sticks I buy at the grocery store and much more affordable. Thank you so much for such a family friendly recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    1... 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for French Toast Sticks - OAMC

    Serving Size: 1 (86 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 199.6
     
    Calories from Fat 87
    43%
    Total Fat 9.7 g
    14%
    Saturated Fat 5.0 g
    25%
    Cholesterol 111.1 mg
    37%
    Sodium 223.9 mg
    9%
    Total Carbohydrate 22.2 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 0.6 g
    2%
    Sugars 9.5 g
    38%
    Protein 5.7 g
    11%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites