140 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Doubled the recipe. Was only able to get 14 slices, but who cares?! Rather than baking/or making sticks, we just fried them in a pan whole. Delicious!! Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Steph_40135 August 18, 2009

I followed the recipe exactly (but doubled it) and my grandsons (ages 6, 4, and 15 mo) enjoyed them... as did DS and DIL. The leftovers made it to the freezer but were finished off the next morning. I esp liked that they were baked rather than fried. Definitely will make again. Thanks for sharing this recipe! EDITED TO ADD: Made again today using a loaf of artisan bread sliced appx 3/4" thick. Did not cut into sticks. Baked on parchment paper and it did NOT stick... yea! Had to bake a bit longer b/c the bread was heavy and thick sliced. Leftovers are heading to the freezer for later enjoyment! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Impera_Magna June 21, 2009

These were great fresh out of the oven. I have to agree with a previous reviewer, they are not as good reheated in the microwave (they seemed to get a little rubbery)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Christi D June 02, 2009

I followed the recipe as written except I used OJ and took out the vanilla. I made 6 batches at once and all of my batches stuck to the pan really badly so use lots of oil! I also recomend doing the egg batter in 1 or 2 batch bowls because my butter kept solidifying. These are awesome reheated, but the slight orange flavor was pretty much gone after freezing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
paperprincess424 May 27, 2009

These turned out really well, except that they stuck to the pan horribly, even though it was greased. I think this was due to pouring the extra dip over them, as the sheet pan tilted a bit in the oven and the ones without the extra dip were fine. The ones that the dip pooled by were the ones that stuck badly. Next time I'll try it without using up the extra dip, but my 18 month old loves these and it definitely saves me time every morning!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RSL May 14, 2009

These were YUM-O and way cheaper than the store bought kind. Aside from them sticking to the pan (I guess I didn't oil the pan well enough!) Thanks Jill!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
klkscanner May 04, 2009

These were awesome. I made enough to freeze for a month but with 5 kids and a husband in the house they were gone much faster than that! Thank you.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mommy2five March 27, 2009

This is excellent. I made a double batch planning to freeze some for quick breakfasts, but my family ate almost all of it in one meal.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lbrtdc March 27, 2009

These were just what I was looking for. Baking them in the oven was so easy. It did take a few minutes more and turning them over one more time to get them browned, but no problem since I wasn't standing at the stove cooking all of these in a pan. I haven't tried freezing any yet, will do that next go around. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jenny Frenny March 25, 2009

I like how these were crispy on the outside. The kids liked dipping them in syrup.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TSpoon in UT February 17, 2009
French Toast Sticks - OAMC