Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / French Toast Sticks - OAMC Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    French Toast Sticks - OAMC

    Average Rating:

    140 Total Reviews

    Showing 101-120 of 140

    Sort by:

    • on November 10, 2007

      Great recipe that makes heaps. I had intended to flash freeze half, but we had company pull up in the driveway just I took the french toast out of the oven, so I served them with coffee for morning tea. Really yummy. We dusted them with icing sugar. I also love the fact that I didn't have to use a frypan to make them - a big winner in our house , thanks JillAZ

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2007

      Used cafe style raisin bread as was on sale, TRUE! Mixed together sugar, eggs, milk, vanilla too! This is an easy brekkie for me! Will serve with jam, SO HEALTHY!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2007

      These are great. Easy to make. My husband thanks you! Great make ahead. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2007

      I tried this using a basic homemade white bread and it worked perfectly. I only had enough bread to make four thick slices so I halved the recipe. To save time, I made them as whole French toast pieces. The kids gobbled them up so I had none left to freeze. I'll be trying this again soon. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2007

      these turned out well for me. I made a double batch, used regular whole wheat sandwich bread (next time I will use french bread!), splenda instead of sugar, and I ended up putting in only 1/3 c milk- not sure how I did that! These french toast sticks were easy enough for the kids to help me with, tasty, and a great morning meal or afternoon snack. My boys love to dip these in applebutter or applesauce! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2007

      I tried making this one morning. The cinnamon and vanilla combination was just too strong. Next time I will ommit vanilla and just use cinnamon.Also, my bread sticks came out too soggy. I tried leaving them in the oven longer to make them crispy but it did not work. Maybe because my bread wasn't too thickly sliced. Next time I will toast the bread and brush the egg mixture on it and then place it in the oven. :(

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2007

      I liked this very much but was quite a bit of prep work and cook time was a bit more....maybe because I used italian bread thickly sliced. Enjoy preparing something ahead of time as the school year approaches. will make again but will make a double batch to make up for prep time...mine as well make it worth my while!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2007

      Just got done making these, The kids loved them. we will make them again and again. Just a tip blend the egg mixture in the blender it works great.Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2007

      Awesome recipe, just perfect. Everyone loved them and will make again and again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2007

      This was super east to make and I like the fact you bake it instead of fry it. We doubled the recipe and used a whole loaf of the "Big bread).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2007

      Husband and baby loved these. Unfortunately, they never made it to the freezer. Next time, definately making a double batch!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2007

      Yummy!! DD was growing tired of frozen waffles, so I made these this AM as a part of my OAMC day!!! Absolutely yummy! I was unable to find Texas Toast so I used Italian Bread instead and they turned out perfect. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2007

      These turned out great! I had enough extra batter to use up the whole loaf (I had to use thick cut white bread with sesame seeds on top called a "BBQ Loaf"). Very accurate instructions and very tasty results.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2007

      GREAT STUFF. I must say this is just awesome. PERFECT for freezing for later. I didn't have texas toast style bread on hand so I used regular white bread. Definently would be better NOT to use white bread. White bread fell apart and was a bit difficult to work with. But the batter was GREAT. A super recipe. Again Thanks JillAZ!!!!!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2007

      Made a double batch of these this morning for breakfast with plenty of extras for the freezer. I used a whole loaf of the Texas Toast, with enough egg mixture leftover for four slices of regular french toast. After reading the reviews of the melted butter clumping when added to the egg/milk mix, I decided to combine everything but the butter and let that warm in the bowl on the stovetop while I preheated the oven and cut the bread into sticks. I then added the melted butter just before I was ready to dip and had no problems. Dipped about half as written, then added approximately a 1/3 c. maple syrup to the egg mixture to finish the rest. My three kids seem to prefer it with the syrup added. A delicious recipe without the additives in the store bought version. Thanks a ton!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2007

      These were good. I had two picky 6 yr. olds reqest french toast sticks for breakfast after a sleep over. I usually buy the frozen ones but I realized that I had ran out. So I made these for them instead and they loved them and turned in 2 empty plates! Anytime they clelan their plates it's always a keeper for me!! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2007

      YUM! Really simple idea and so easy to make. I used white toast but i think a thicker bread would be yummier! I was on a diet & i just ruined it by eating half of of the quantity i made (now i'll have to work it off before bed :). I didn't have any syrup but i sprinkled vanilla sugar over the top which was nice. Thanks JillAZ!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2007

      I couldn't find texas toast in my grocery store, so I bought an uncut loaf of white bread from the bakery and cut it into thick slices. The result was absolutely wonderful! I did use a 1/2 teaspoon of cinnamon and a full teaspoon of vanilla though. Because I was just cooking for myself, I had plenty for the freezer. This morning, I popped a few in the toaster oven and they were SO much better than the frozen french toast sticks that I've bought in the past! Everyone should try this!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2007

      Hubby was snowed in this morning and hungry. This was fantastic and he finally stopped grumbling about the snow and started raving about this. I did increase the cinnamon to 1/2 tsp and the vanilla to 1 tsp though. It was gooooooood! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2007

      We all love this, including my 4 yo and 2 yo. I have so far only used orowheat original bread--the regular thin slices--and it's been delicious. I save time by not slicing them until after they are done in the oven. I found the individual dipping so time consuming. But if you are using thick bread, it might need it. I also nearly doubled the cinnamon. I did mine in the oven at 350 for 5-7 min. on each side. Thanks so much for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for French Toast Sticks - OAMC

    Serving Size: 1 (86 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 199.6
     
    Calories from Fat 87
    43%
    Total Fat 9.7 g
    14%
    Saturated Fat 5.0 g
    25%
    Cholesterol 111.1 mg
    37%
    Sodium 223.9 mg
    9%
    Total Carbohydrate 22.2 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 0.6 g
    2%
    Sugars 9.5 g
    38%
    Protein 5.7 g
    11%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites