Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / French Toast Sticks - OAMC Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    French Toast Sticks - OAMC

    Average Rating:

    140 Total Reviews

    Showing 81-100 of 140

    Sort by:

    • on May 16, 2008

      These had a really good flavor. My only issue was that they seemed to be a little mushier than regular French toast...I just popped them in the toaster and they were fine. My 2 year old devoured her portion, as did I (and then some). I used sourdough bread because it was the ONLY thick-sliced dense bread the grocery bakery had...didn't seem to hurt the flavor. Also, mixing warm melted butter with cold milk and eggs made things a little clumpy and difficult to blend well...perhaps creaming those ingredients as another reviewer suggested would be best. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2008

      I made two batches of these yesterday. We ate an entire batch in the morning and I froze a batch in the afternoon. I thawed a few this morning for my kids and then popped them in the toaster. They were just as good as fresh out of the oven! NO SYRUP NEEDED FOR US! That's what makes it even better. Without the sticky mess, they become portable for early morning rushes out the door. I did notice on the first batch that when I mixed all of the ingredients together, the butter started to solidify again because the eggs and milk were so cold. So, the second batch I made, I creamed the butter, sugar, and cinnamon befor adding the other ingredients. Not only did it keep the butter soft, the cinnamon was incorporated more into the mixture instead of just floating on the top. I did not have any vanilla, so unfortunately, I had to leave it out. Had I had some, I would have definitely added it, but I didn't even miss the flavor as it was good enough on its own. Thanks for a new family freezer recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2008

      It was nice to make French Toast all at once, rather than piece by piece. The taste was good, but they really stuck to the pan, so I will HEAVILY grease the pan next time. With the addition of syrup, the sticks were a little too sweet, so I may also lessen the sugar next time. Will review again after freezing and re-heating. THank you for breakfast!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2008

      Made these for a family brunch & they came out delicious! I made the mistake of putting foil on my pans for easier cleanup, but even sprayed with cooking spray the bread got a little stuck -- lesson: don't line your pan with foil; just spray with cooking spray! I added a little nutmeg to the batter too - made them extra yummy. Thanks for posting - will make again! -M =)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2008

      These are a staple to have in our freezer, my kids love them!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2008

      Perfection! I wouldn't change a THING! We doubled the recipe and it used up the whole bag of texas toast with 2 slices left over

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2008

      Delicious! I used regular bread. Next time I'll be sure to make a double or triple batch, as this only made one meal for us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2008

      We used to buy the frozen french toast sticks at the grocery store -- not any more! These are soo good that not all of them make it to the freezer after a batch is made. I add more vanilla, and my kids just devour them. Thank you for the recipe. My kitchen smells yummy while these are baking.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2008

      Wow thanks for a great recipe. I like having healthy ready made breakfasts. Dh and 3 yr old loved them. I spread them with pb for my son. It is very inexpensive too make too. I dipped the bread in the wet ingredients and them sprinkled the cinnamon sugar over the sticks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2008

      WOW! These are great and very easy. My kids will love it. I did use brown sugar in place of the regular sugar. I used homemade white bread. This will be a winner in my book!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2008

      LOVE THESE!! I have made 2 batches & both tiimes only half made it to the freezer because my hubby, 3 year old daughter & I ate the other half. I also cooked at 400 (11 min each side) based on other reviews when they weren't browning at 350. This recipe is a keeper!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2008

      I doubled the recipe and used flax seed bread. I baked them at 400 degrees because I was having a hard time getting them to brown. I ended up with 1 1/2 gallon sized ziplocks full of sticks. My 3 small children loved munching on them and dipping them in syrup. Next time I will quadruple the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2008

    • on February 02, 2008

      What a great idea. I made this because I have a 20 month old and these are perfect for quick breakfasts. Mine didn't brown up much (pretty sure it was the pan I was using) but they still tasted great. I couldn't find any 3/4 sliced bread so I made a homemade loaf (with cinnamon) and sliced it really thick. I will be using this recipe quite a bit! I am going to recommend it to some of my friends with young kids. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2008

      My kids loved these and told me to make them again! I enjoyed them too and think they'll be a hit with my hubby. He usually doesn't like french toast because he doesn't believe the egg is cooked all the way through. He finds them disgusting. lol. However; I think cooking them this way will convince him they ARE cooked. They had a great texture, not soggy, and they were crisp. I sprinkled a little powdered sugar on them and the kids thought they rocked. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2008

      I HATE CAN'T STAND... french toast, but this was fantastic & WONDERFUL!! I made these for the family for OAMC. I thought I would just try it, and they are REALLY GOOD!! I don't even think you would need syrup with them. I already had cinnamon sugar so I just used 1/3 cup of that. I wish I would have doubled the recipe. I will be making these again for sure. I used french bread from the store so it only cost me about 2$ compared to the 7-10$ it would have cost to buy pre-made. I am going to try wheat bread next time. I also cut all of the crusts off prior to dipping in the mixture (per other comments). Really loved these, so did the family. Thanks so much!! Edit to change typo

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2007

      The egg mixture was almost the perfect amount. I noticed after flipping them (which was near impossible without a spatula, even with well sprayed foil) the other side didnt really get browned as much as just toasted. It was still terrific and will make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2007

      Wonderful to eat, superfast and easy to make - what more could you ask for?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2007

      Love this recipe! Easy to make, very tasty, and the kids can't get enough! I love serving these with apple sauce to dip into. This made enough egg mixture for twice the amount of bread though. Next time I'll just double the bread and not the rest of the ingredients. :) Thank you so much for posting! Great freezer filler.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2007

      loved this. i used an uncut loaf of french bread which i cut into about 16 thick slices so i doubled the recipe. i also added a dash of nutmeg & blended all the ingredients together in my blender. the cinnamon & nutmeg tend to settle at the bottom so i dusted some extra before baking. i also let the bread soak up the milk in a deep pan for about half an hour (turning 1-2 times) before putting it in the oven. teh bread smelled heavenly straight out of the oven. thank you for the great recipe JillAZ.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for French Toast Sticks - OAMC

    Serving Size: 1 (86 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 199.6
     
    Calories from Fat 87
    43%
    Total Fat 9.7 g
    14%
    Saturated Fat 5.0 g
    25%
    Cholesterol 111.1 mg
    37%
    Sodium 223.9 mg
    9%
    Total Carbohydrate 22.2 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 0.6 g
    2%
    Sugars 9.5 g
    38%
    Protein 5.7 g
    11%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites