143 Reviews

Wow!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
casros January 23, 2011

This is definately the best french toast I have tasted. I do, however think they taste better fresh. When I froze and reheated them I found them a bit chewy for my liking. I will definately keep the recipe though and will make them again to eat fresh!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
micro_ang November 02, 2010

This was easy to make. I doubled the recipe and used regular white bread. I used 21 pieces of bread for this amount of batter. I cut the slices of bread in two and some in three, we'll see how they taste reheated (and I will update my review). We had 5 of the pieces whole (including using two "sandwiched" with cream cheese for stuffed french toast) and they were yummy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lmt425 September 26, 2010

These were so good! I wanted to try a new french toast recipe as the one we had prior was too eggy. The only complaint from my wife is that the edges of the white bread we used were too crunchy. I guess next time I could cut the crust off the bread, but I preferred it this way. Thanks for the great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shelbrain September 06, 2010

Will be making a ton of these for my kids for a quick and easy breakfast on those busy school days. Made exactly as written. Won't change a thing. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mom2hhh September 01, 2010

Great recipe, only sub was we used regular whole wheat sandwich bread. Both my 3 and 5 year old loved it and so did my husband (who has suffered through my trying out different french toast recipes that did not turn out nearly so well, I seem to be french toast challenged...!) this recipe is great, the only problem is we made the whole batch and they ate so much of it there wasn't enough left to freeze so I'm going to have to make another batch!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
wahmommy August 07, 2010

Very good. We accidentally left out the butter (I melted in the microwave and accidentally left it there). We dipped the toast in the melted butter after it was done.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jbw2106 June 14, 2010

Great idea. I used a loaf of homemade cinnamon raisin bread I had in the freezer. Left out the sugar as the bread was already sweet. Served sprinkled with powdered sugar and blueberries and 2 1/2 year old inhaled them. Great for mornings you need to feed the kids and the brain isin't working, I nuked for 30 seconds in the microwave and then toasted in toaster oven to get a bit crispy. Making a second batch as I type to take camping to feed 4 hungry kids. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GIBride01 May 17, 2010

Bon Appetit, YA'LL. Made for Alphabet Soup Tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gailanng April 16, 2010

I had a couple of loaves of homemade banana bread getting stale because they didn't turn out as well as usual. I used 1 to make this just to see if the stale bread could have a second life and they were WONDERFUL! Yum! I also did a few slices of regular whole wheat storebought bread just to see, and they turned out great too. I will make this whenever I need to use up stale bread from now on. I like that there was sugar in the milk mix, because to me that tempered the "eggy" taste that I usually do not care for in french toast, plus it made them appealing to my lttles (ages 5, 3, and 1.5) without syrup, although I did give them a little honey for dipping.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WendiMommyOf3 April 05, 2010
French Toast Sticks - OAMC