143 Reviews

I never write reviews and this recipe is so awesome i had to say something. I made this for a xmas brunch with friends and it was AMAZING & EASY to make ... LOVE IT !!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
empress115 December 12, 2009

I'm so tired of buying the store bought ones. These ate great and I didn't even need to buy Texas today, I was already making bread and set aside a loaf to make these. Be very gentle when dipping, they get weak. I coated with cinnamon sugar just like the store. The kids want them for lunch and they're still baking!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Alli G. June 30, 2016

These are seriously SO GOOD, the perfect French toast that you could imagine. I've always tried new recipes but all the French toast turns out with too much egg glopped on the sides and such. I can't describe how or what makes it delicious. This recipe is a keeper for sure!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shantel M. January 26, 2016

I cut the Texas toast into 3rd's and had no problem dipping. If you foil your baking pan or not make sure you spray Pam a little heavy. Also I found that baking on the bottom rack gave me the best browning. Great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Vickisueblue210 October 15, 2015

My kids HATED these. They were dry and tasteless and they fell apart. All of the other reviews seem to love them, but we did not.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PluckyMomo September 13, 2014

We haven't had a chance to freeze these yet, but they were a big hit straight out of the oven. I did 1 1/2 batches of batter, and got almost 12 slices out of it. I used french bread, cut into 1" slices, with each slice cut into thirds. I used parchment paper, and turned them carefully with a spatula - no problems sticking. I baked them a bit longer than 25 minutes. We had them for "night breakfast" with sausage and grapefruit. We're looking forward to reheating the leftovers for breakfast. Thanks for sharing! (Also, I've never added the butter, and we haven't missed it a bit!)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lori in NC July 30, 2014

I made these for my husband for fathers day as he loves french toast sticks. They did not look like the picture. Since my oven runs very hot, I kept the toast in tact and cut it into 3rds after baking. I believe I let the bread soak up too much of the egg mixture. They did taste good however the middle was not as firm as I had hoped and the toast did not brown like the photo. Will make again but will truly dip the toast in the egg mixture instead of set it in and then flip it over. Definitely worth another shot! I gave 5 starts because the taste was there but I did not follow the directions exactly which is why I believe I ended up with the result I did.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MrsEmmaRoberts2014 June 15, 2014

Made this recipe, but cut out the butter and added 1T maple syrup. My toddler to my parents love this quick and easy meal. I don't cut my up until after it is baked, and only if my toddler request it. Great meal! Freezes well!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
paul.kristinae March 26, 2014

I cut the bread in thirds and lightly toast it before dredging. It keeps the integrity of the middle slice.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nikkistew January 26, 2014

These were amazing-so simple and delicious!!! We sprinkled just a little extra cinnamon on the second side near the end of baking and they turned out fantastically. We'll use this method often. Thank you very much!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CookieMonster2323 December 25, 2013
French Toast Sticks - OAMC