Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / French Toast Sticks - OAMC Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    French Toast Sticks - OAMC

    Average Rating:

    139 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 139

    Sort by:

    • on April 05, 2012

      We haven't had a chance to freeze these yet, but they were a big hit straight out of the oven. I did 1 1/2 batches of batter, and got almost 12 slices out of it. I used french bread, cut into 1" slices, with each slice cut into thirds. I used parchment paper, and turned them carefully with a spatula - no problems sticking. I baked them a bit longer than 25 minutes. We had them for "night breakfast" with sausage and grapefruit. We're looking forward to reheating the leftovers for breakfast. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2011

      I am sorry to say these did not work for me. :( I followed the ingredient list exactly, and when I went to flip them halfway through, they all stuck to the pan {sprayed with Pam} and half of them were burnt. I love the idea though - thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2011

      This was so delicious and easy. We sprinkled with cinnamon sugar on top. Um leftovers for OAMC, well...didn't quite make it to the flash freeze stage. :o)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2011

      These were so good!! I doubled the recipe hoping to have some left over to freeze. That didn't happen!! My 5 year old son kept going back for "just one more." I'll have to make a batch 'just' for freezing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2011

      Yummy! I just made this yesterday, did not try it at the time but rather froze all of it, and had some this morning and it is *fabulous*. I was worried because it looked dried out when I took it out of the oven (at one point i'd turned the oven off and left it in there intending for just a minute or two, but i forgot about it) and then figured it would dry more during the flash freezing, but this morning after microwaving it was tender and delicious.

      For those who say it comes out chewy, any bread that is over microwaved will be chewy. With my french toast the crust was slightly hard-ish (but maybe from being in the oven too long) but it was not chewy at all.

      I left the bread in whole slices, and for 2 slices I microwaved them 40 seconds on each side. It was perfect!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2011

      They came out great! Loved 'em!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2011

      Wow!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2010

      This is definately the best french toast I have tasted. I do, however think they taste better fresh. When I froze and reheated them I found them a bit chewy for my liking. I will definately keep the recipe though and will make them again to eat fresh!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2010

      This was easy to make. I doubled the recipe and used regular white bread. I used 21 pieces of bread for this amount of batter. I cut the slices of bread in two and some in three, we'll see how they taste reheated (and I will update my review). We had 5 of the pieces whole (including using two "sandwiched" with cream cheese for stuffed french toast) and they were yummy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2010

      These were so good! I wanted to try a new french toast recipe as the one we had prior was too eggy. The only complaint from my wife is that the edges of the white bread we used were too crunchy. I guess next time I could cut the crust off the bread, but I preferred it this way. Thanks for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2010

      Will be making a ton of these for my kids for a quick and easy breakfast on those busy school days. Made exactly as written. Won't change a thing. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2010

      Great recipe, only sub was we used regular whole wheat sandwich bread. Both my 3 and 5 year old loved it and so did my husband (who has suffered through my trying out different french toast recipes that did not turn out nearly so well, I seem to be french toast challenged...!) this recipe is great, the only problem is we made the whole batch and they ate so much of it there wasn't enough left to freeze so I'm going to have to make another batch!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2010

      Very good. We accidentally left out the butter (I melted in the microwave and accidentally left it there). We dipped the toast in the melted butter after it was done.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2010

      Great idea. I used a loaf of homemade cinnamon raisin bread I had in the freezer. Left out the sugar as the bread was already sweet. Served sprinkled with powdered sugar and blueberries and 2 1/2 year old inhaled them. Great for mornings you need to feed the kids and the brain isin't working, I nuked for 30 seconds in the microwave and then toasted in toaster oven to get a bit crispy. Making a second batch as I type to take camping to feed 4 hungry kids. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2010

      Bon Appetit, YA'LL. Made for Alphabet Soup Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2010

      I had a couple of loaves of homemade banana bread getting stale because they didn't turn out as well as usual. I used 1 to make this just to see if the stale bread could have a second life and they were WONDERFUL! Yum! I also did a few slices of regular whole wheat storebought bread just to see, and they turned out great too. I will make this whenever I need to use up stale bread from now on. I like that there was sugar in the milk mix, because to me that tempered the "eggy" taste that I usually do not care for in french toast, plus it made them appealing to my lttles (ages 5, 3, and 1.5) without syrup, although I did give them a little honey for dipping.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2010

      Made and froze these last night. They were very easy to put together, I followed the recipe exactly. I did have to cut my cook time down to about 20 minutes as my first batch got a bit dark. Tasted a stick fresh out of the oven and it was quite tasty. Heated a few up this morning from the freezer for breakfast and they were almost as good as fresh. They were a little "chewy" but other than that, very good. I've not tasted the frozen ones from the store, but compared to Burger King french toast sticks, they're not quite as good, but they're a lot cheaper and don't taste bad at all. I'll definitely be making them again and maybe take the advice of another reviewer and roll them in cinnamon/sugar. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2010

      OK - at the sake of my own embarassment (as I should know better) - you want to make sure your melted butter cools before pouring it into your eggs. Excellent recipe though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2010

      I followed this recipe exactly and my family LOVED these french toast sticks. I prefer to avoid the commercially prepared products like this since they include a host of preservatives. Love the real french toast sticks in this recipe! Thank you for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2010

      Super easy and very tasty - no egg taste like you get with most french toast. I use a loaf of wheat italian from the bakery at my megalomart, halved horizontally and then sliced. Increase eggs to 5 & sugar to 1/3C. and add a dash of nutmeg. We like to reheat ours in the toaster oven to keep that wonderful crispness.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for French Toast Sticks - OAMC

    Serving Size: 1 (86 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 199.6
     
    Calories from Fat 87
    43%
    Total Fat 9.7 g
    14%
    Saturated Fat 5.0 g
    25%
    Cholesterol 111.1 mg
    37%
    Sodium 223.9 mg
    9%
    Total Carbohydrate 22.2 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 0.6 g
    2%
    Sugars 9.5 g
    38%
    Protein 5.7 g
    11%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites