140 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I never write reviews and this recipe is so awesome i had to say something. I made this for a xmas brunch with friends and it was AMAZING & EASY to make ... LOVE IT !!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
empress115 December 12, 2009

My kids HATED these. They were dry and tasteless and they fell apart. All of the other reviews seem to love them, but we did not.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PluckyMomo September 13, 2014

We haven't had a chance to freeze these yet, but they were a big hit straight out of the oven. I did 1 1/2 batches of batter, and got almost 12 slices out of it. I used french bread, cut into 1" slices, with each slice cut into thirds. I used parchment paper, and turned them carefully with a spatula - no problems sticking. I baked them a bit longer than 25 minutes. We had them for "night breakfast" with sausage and grapefruit. We're looking forward to reheating the leftovers for breakfast. Thanks for sharing! (Also, I've never added the butter, and we haven't missed it a bit!)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lori in NC July 30, 2014

I made these for my husband for fathers day as he loves french toast sticks. They did not look like the picture. Since my oven runs very hot, I kept the toast in tact and cut it into 3rds after baking. I believe I let the bread soak up too much of the egg mixture. They did taste good however the middle was not as firm as I had hoped and the toast did not brown like the photo. Will make again but will truly dip the toast in the egg mixture instead of set it in and then flip it over. Definitely worth another shot! I gave 5 starts because the taste was there but I did not follow the directions exactly which is why I believe I ended up with the result I did.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MrsEmmaRoberts2014 June 15, 2014

Made this recipe, but cut out the butter and added 1T maple syrup. My toddler to my parents love this quick and easy meal. I don't cut my up until after it is baked, and only if my toddler request it. Great meal! Freezes well!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
paul.kristinae March 26, 2014

I cut the bread in thirds and lightly toast it before dredging. It keeps the integrity of the middle slice.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nikkistew January 26, 2014

These were amazing-so simple and delicious!!! We sprinkled just a little extra cinnamon on the second side near the end of baking and they turned out fantastically. We'll use this method often. Thank you very much!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CookieMonster2323 December 25, 2013

We followed the recipe exactly but use regular white bread and it comes out wonderful. There has never been enough leftovers to freeze.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
stephmerrifield November 28, 2013

You may see the cooking time and wonder whether its really worth it. It absolutely is. These were sooooooooo amazingly good, probably one of the best breakfast recipes I've ever tasted. If you don't love it, you might just be a dang fool.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dpernick September 27, 2013

I cut the recipe in half as I only had two eggs but followed the recipe as written. I did use Splenda instead of sugar though. I didn't even get to try this as my husband and son ate it as soon as it came out of the oven. They both said they liked them. I didn't cut mine like someone else suggested. I will have to make these again so I can try them.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bmcnichol October 04, 2012
French Toast Sticks - OAMC