Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / French Toast Sticks - OAMC Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    French Toast Sticks - OAMC

    Average Rating:

    139 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 139

    Sort by:

    • on December 07, 2011

      This is really great to have on hand in the freezer.
      I would reccomend not cutting the bread into 1/3's until after baking. The middle piece tends to break easily when dipped.
      I really like this NOT cut but using whole slices of bread.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2010

      These were so good that they never made it to the freezer. Everyone liked them and that is quite an accomplishment in my house. I made them exactly as written, except I forgot to turn them halfway but they were great anyway. Thanks for such a great recipe. UPDATE Today I was in a hurry making these and I forgot to add in the melted butter. My kids and I could not tell the difference. So from now on, I will not add the butter.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 15, 2010

      Oh my gosh these are so good. Although they did not ever make it to the freezer as planned. I love the ease of it all. My only suggestion is to make sure you spray the pan well with cooking spray. I did a light spray and had to fight to get some to turn over. Definately will make many times again. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2011

      Made this weekend--the kids & DH liked it so much that they wanted to have it for dinner. I used parchment paper (as noted by another reviewer) to avoid any sticking. The recipe was doubled to make an entire loaf of Texas toast, but I found that I still had to add a couple of eggs to get all the pieces covered. I chose to bake a wee bit longer (1 minute or so) to get a little more golden brown & crispy, cos my kids seem to like French Toast stix that way. Thanks for this great make-ahead breakfast recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2011

      To avoid the problem of sticking to the pan...use Parchment Paper. Easy to flip and brown beautifully. My kids love these!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2011

      Mmmmm....these are so good. We had "breakfast for dinner" last night and these were a BIG hit. I loved the cinnamon in these. I had little cups for our syrup so the kids could dip. thank you for sharing these little gems with us.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2011

      I made these for the first time yesterday, after a miserable failure earlier in the week with another recipe. I followed the recipe exactly as written. They were a success. Both children (8 & 9) devoured 4 sticks each. I did have to bake them longer in order for them to have a toasted appearance. Another reviewer posted that when cutting the bread into 3 slices, the middle stick ended up to soggy, but I didn't have any problem w/sogginess. I baked them on a silpat mat, so there was no sticking at all. I brushed them with butter immediately out of the oven and then sprinkled them w/ cinnamon sugar. This recipe is a definite keeper.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2010

      The flavor was excellent we loved them. My only change would be to not cut the Texas Toast in three strips but in two strips. The middle gets too soggy and is terribly hard to flip in the oven without falling apart. Having the crust on one edge really helps them hold up well. Overall great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2010

      I used leftovers from a loaf of bread I made for dinner the night before from my bread maker (it's never quite as good the next day!) This was the perfect solution for the unused bread. I let the bread get a little stale and then let it soak a little longer in the liquid. Fantastic! My 4 year old loved it! As she said, it was "just like the restaurant!" Froze a bunch for those mornings we're rushing out the door for preschool. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2010

      Very good and easy, I doubled the liquid mixture and it was enough to do a whole loaf of the texas toast bread!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2009

      I never write reviews and this recipe is so awesome i had to say something. I made this for a xmas brunch with friends and it was AMAZING & EASY to make ... LOVE IT !!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2014

      I made these for my husband for fathers day as he loves french toast sticks. They did not look like the picture. Since my oven runs very hot, I kept the toast in tact and cut it into 3rds after baking. I believe I let the bread soak up too much of the egg mixture. They did taste good however the middle was not as firm as I had hoped and the toast did not brown like the photo. Will make again but will truly dip the toast in the egg mixture instead of set it in and then flip it over. Definitely worth another shot! I gave 5 starts because the taste was there but I did not follow the directions exactly which is why I believe I ended up with the result I did.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2014

      Made this recipe, but cut out the butter and added 1T maple syrup. My toddler to my parents love this quick and easy meal. I don't cut my up until after it is baked, and only if my toddler request it. Great meal! Freezes well!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2014

      I cut the bread in thirds and lightly toast it before dredging. It keeps the integrity of the middle slice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2013

      These were amazing-so simple and delicious!!! We sprinkled just a little extra cinnamon on the second side near the end of baking and they turned out fantastically. We'll use this method often. Thank you very much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2013

      We followed the recipe exactly but use regular white bread and it comes out wonderful. There has never been enough leftovers to freeze.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2013

      You may see the cooking time and wonder whether its really worth it. It absolutely is. These were sooooooooo amazingly good, probably one of the best breakfast recipes I've ever tasted. If you don't love it, you might just be a dang fool.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2012

      I cut the recipe in half as I only had two eggs but followed the recipe as written. I did use Splenda instead of sugar though. I didn't even get to try this as my husband and son ate it as soon as it came out of the oven. They both said they liked them. I didn't cut mine like someone else suggested. I will have to make these again so I can try them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2012

      These are delicious! I tried it as is first but used regular white bread. It was yummy, but reheated they were a little hard. The second time, I used Texas toast and added more sugar because I want my kids to be able to eat this on the go and I dont want sticky fingers in my car. Sooooo good! If you up the sugar you dont need syrup! Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2012

      I am rating this on behalf on my 5, 3, and 1 year old boys...They loved these! Perfect breakfast idea for my 5 year old starting K in 2 days. Will always make sure I have these in the freezer! Thank you!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 7

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for French Toast Sticks - OAMC

    Serving Size: 1 (86 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 199.6
     
    Calories from Fat 87
    43%
    Total Fat 9.7 g
    14%
    Saturated Fat 5.0 g
    25%
    Cholesterol 111.1 mg
    37%
    Sodium 223.9 mg
    9%
    Total Carbohydrate 22.2 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 0.6 g
    2%
    Sugars 9.5 g
    38%
    Protein 5.7 g
    11%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites