143 Reviews

This is really great to have on hand in the freezer.
I would reccomend not cutting the bread into 1/3's until after baking. The middle piece tends to break easily when dipped.
I really like this NOT cut but using whole slices of bread.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
barbacious December 07, 2011

These were so good that they never made it to the freezer. Everyone liked them and that is quite an accomplishment in my house. I made them exactly as written, except I forgot to turn them halfway but they were great anyway. Thanks for such a great recipe. UPDATE Today I was in a hurry making these and I forgot to add in the melted butter. My kids and I could not tell the difference. So from now on, I will not add the butter.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cilantro in Canada August 20, 2010

Oh my gosh these are so good. Although they did not ever make it to the freezer as planned. I love the ease of it all. My only suggestion is to make sure you spray the pan well with cooking spray. I did a light spray and had to fight to get some to turn over. Definately will make many times again. Thanks!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GoMoGo May 15, 2010

Made this weekend--the kids & DH liked it so much that they wanted to have it for dinner. I used parchment paper (as noted by another reviewer) to avoid any sticking. The recipe was doubled to make an entire loaf of Texas toast, but I found that I still had to add a couple of eggs to get all the pieces covered. I chose to bake a wee bit longer (1 minute or so) to get a little more golden brown & crispy, cos my kids seem to like French Toast stix that way. Thanks for this great make-ahead breakfast recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jug O'Mud September 24, 2011

To avoid the problem of sticking to the pan...use Parchment Paper. Easy to flip and brown beautifully. My kids love these!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CALaura August 29, 2011

Mmmmm....these are so good. We had "breakfast for dinner" last night and these were a BIG hit. I loved the cinnamon in these. I had little cups for our syrup so the kids could dip. thank you for sharing these little gems with us.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommyoffour March 17, 2011

I made these for the first time yesterday, after a miserable failure earlier in the week with another recipe. I followed the recipe exactly as written. They were a success. Both children (8 & 9) devoured 4 sticks each. I did have to bake them longer in order for them to have a toasted appearance. Another reviewer posted that when cutting the bread into 3 slices, the middle stick ended up to soggy, but I didn't have any problem w/sogginess. I baked them on a silpat mat, so there was no sticking at all. I brushed them with butter immediately out of the oven and then sprinkled them w/ cinnamon sugar. This recipe is a definite keeper.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
fat-sissy March 03, 2011

The flavor was excellent we loved them. My only change would be to not cut the Texas Toast in three strips but in two strips. The middle gets too soggy and is terribly hard to flip in the oven without falling apart. Having the crust on one edge really helps them hold up well. Overall great recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef_Beauchamp July 28, 2010

I used leftovers from a loaf of bread I made for dinner the night before from my bread maker (it's never quite as good the next day!) This was the perfect solution for the unused bread. I let the bread get a little stale and then let it soak a little longer in the liquid. Fantastic! My 4 year old loved it! As she said, it was "just like the restaurant!" Froze a bunch for those mornings we're rushing out the door for preschool. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TheKatsiki February 14, 2010

Very good and easy, I doubled the liquid mixture and it was enough to do a whole loaf of the texas toast bread!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bridget.bat4 February 07, 2010
French Toast Sticks - OAMC