Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / French Toast Sticks (oamc) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    French Toast Sticks (oamc)

    Average Rating:

    50 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 50

    Sort by:

    • on February 15, 2010

      My husband requested french toast sticks so I decided to try this recipe. It was delicious. I found them to be just a tad too sweet but everyone else thought they were perfect; they definitely don't need any syrup for dipping though! I made them as directed, but the egg mixture was only enough for 6 slices of bread (I used Arnold white sandwich bread, and very lightly battered the strips). They didn't stick at all on my lightly buttered stove top griddle, which was nice. My husband was looking for a crispier stick, so after they were done I put them on a cookie sheet and baked them at 350 for a little less than 10 minutes. They were exactly what he wanted! We will be making these again. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2011

      Made these this morning for my first OAMC session. I didn't add the icing sugar to the egg mixture, I reserved it to sprinkle over the top after they were done. They never made it to the freezer, everyone loved them so much!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2009

      October 2007: These were so good fresh & after reading other reviews about not having any left over we made a double batch to make sure we had some to freeze. We have found that they are good both in the toaster & in the microwave. I'm sure they'd be great in the oven but no one wants to wait long enough to heat it up! My one year old loved being able to eat one (without syrup) while toddling around the kitchen. My DH & teenage son just plain loved them. Better than store-bought & better than drive-thru. Thanks for the keeper! UPDATE November 19, 2007: It's been one month & we've tried them in the oven (delish) & today DD & I put some from the freezer into the toaster on the #4 setting (I use #3 for toast) & they were nicely crunchy on the outside & soft & hot on the inside. Very impressed with this recipe! Thanks again! Update May 24, 2009: We are still loving this recipe. For some reason I thought the original recipe called for Texas Toast, which I almost always use, but sometimes I just use the batter on regular bread & I did that this morning & finally got a photo I wanted to share. Next time I make the sticks I'll photograph those too. I do always use the Texas Toast for the sticks as they are nice & thick. :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2014

      These are really good!! Like others we don't ever have leftovers to freeze even with a double batch. The only thing is I don't ever get eight slices of bread even if I double it. I guess I need to dip them quicker so they don't soak up as much... Very yummy though!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2014

      Love the ease of putting these together. I did cut down on the powdered sugar by half and that probably could be eliminated completely. The only modification I did was to add protein powder. I have picky girls and sneaking in extra protein is good. I put all of the ingredients in the bullet blender to mix and then into the bowl to dunk. I highly recommend the blender for this. Since I live in a cold climate I was able to flash freeze them outside on the porch! :-) It was -60F with wind chill. Took no time at all to freeze. Thanks for the great super easy recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2013

      Delish! I made these during my OAMC breakfast cook day. Tripled the batch. I used half and half instead of milk and added a splash of vanilla. My picky eater son devoured 6 sticks! Definitely will be a staple in my house.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2013

      My husband's favorite is a baked recipe. I really liked this recipe. I cut the sugar by 1/3. I would cut it even more, because I don't think I can taste a big difference between this recipe and a recipe with very little sugar (it's not sweet enough to give up the syrup, and the syrup makes it sweet... so why not skip it?). Thanks for the recipe... I like the "sticks" idea, and I'll make and freeze sometime.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2012

      I loved this recipe, and more importantly the kids loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2012

      Quite good - everyone gobbled these up for breakfast this weekend. Made exactly 8 slices - I used plain white bread that I was looking to get rid of.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2011

      I've been making this french toast for about 2 yrs now, and it's my family's favorite! I tried other recipes, and was told to stick with this one.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2010

      Very good! All of my kids loved these and thought they were better than the ones from the store (which I rarely buy). I agree you don't need syrup for dipping but are fine with it as well. Mine always stuck somewhat to my griddle and also to my pan. Not sure what I need to do to avoid that. I made a double batch, using Texas Toast, and we didn't have any left over! So much for having some in the freezer for busy mornings. I will have to make more next time. Thanks for sharing this wonderful recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2010

      Just a bit on the sweet side and I cut the sugar in half. I made them with a heavy bakery sourdough and it was AWESOME!! Will be making these again very soon. It did take about 8 batches to do my whole loaf of bread, but it may have had something to do with how substantial my bread was.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2009

      oh boy are they yammy! I was afraid that it would be too sweet with 1/2 cup of icing sugar but it was perfect,we enjoyed them very much and I will fix them for my grandkids but also for ourselve regular.Thank you for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2009

      DELICIOUS!!!!!!!! I used wheat bread though (that is all I had on hand) and everyone in my house loved it. :) I am making more to freeze as suggested for those really busy mornings. Thanks for posting this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2009

      Im going to visit my 7yr old grandson for 3 weeks, was looking for recipes we can cook and eat together. I cant wait to try this one it sounds so good ! Well it was a BIG hit, we had a fun time making them and David loved eating them just plain out of the toaster oven. We did use texas toast for bigger stix. Great kid friendly recipe !!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2009

      I quadrupled this recipe and used a whole loaf of Texas Toast and 5 slices of regular white bread. Also, I did not cut into sticks so that I could toast it in the mornings. I did add a TB of vanilla and I omitted the butter. I cooked this on an electric griddle and used butter flavored cooking spray. It is very good and my kids like it as well. The only reason I did not give it 5 stars is that it did not "wow" us. Yes it is good and I will probably make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2009

      Love these sticks. Great for a quick breakfast. My 17 yr old loves them. Thank you!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2009

      Oh, why did I wait so long to try these? This is fantastic! I had a loaf of expensive bread that expired yesterday and I didn't want to toss it, so I did this. I tripled the recipe, except I only used one cup of the sugar (instead of 1 1/2)- it was still plenty sweet. I did this in a pie plate, but it really wasn't deep enough as I had a hard time mixing up the batter (note to self- next time either double or use a bigger bowl). Anyway- thank you SO much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2008

      Nutmeg was a little much for my kids, but they are picky. Will definitely make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2008

      This is very good. I have a daycare and this works well for little hands. I used my griddle for these, sprayed it with Pam and omitted the butter. I got about 6 slices out of the batter and tripled the recipe to use a whole loaf of Texas Toast. I plan to freeze the rest for some easy quick breakfast. Thanks fror posting another great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for French Toast Sticks (oamc)

    Serving Size: 1 (511 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 43.1
     
    Calories from Fat 14
    34%
    Total Fat 1.6 g
    2%
    Saturated Fat 0.8 g
    4%
    Cholesterol 14.7 mg
    4%
    Sodium 47.0 mg
    1%
    Total Carbohydrate 6.1 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 0.1 g
    0%
    Sugars 3.0 g
    12%
    Protein 0.9 g
    1%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes