54 Reviews

I tried these today to give them a test run to see if I might want to make a larger batch for my 13 yo son. I used fat free cream cheese and they came out beautifully. I actually used two types of bread. White and Potato. The potato bread was a bit firmer-I preferred the white bread. I did not freeze them so I am interested to see how they taste after freezing but I can vouch that trying one fresh out of the oven is totally divine!!! These were so simple to make. A definite must have for anyone's recipe book!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
aggienxs September 16, 2010

I used this recipe as inspiration for something a teeny bit healthier. For filling, I used two over-ripe bananas, a teaspoon of vanilla, and a tablespoon of sugar for 5 rolls. I also used wheat bread and left the crust on, and used a butter substitute. The previous reviewer didn't freeze theirs and didn't have any complaints, so I didn't either. I'm sure the original version is much better than this one, and I think I would remove the crusts next time as well as make the filling out of a sugary fruit sauce instead. Pretty good, but not as good as our usual french toast or waffles.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SAHS September 24, 2010

Loved this! I spread the cream cheese mixture relatively thin and thought 3 roll-ups was a good serving size. I love that these are kept frozen in the freezer and take only 10 minutes to bake.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RAK #2 July 22, 2010

Made these for a brunch I hosted, and they were amazing. One of my super-foodie friends told me they were the best pastries he ever had. Made them with pagnotta bread from Trader Joe's. Incredibly easy, very tasty...just wish they were healthy.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nicole F. July 19, 2010

Made for an excellent breakfast! Loved the filling. Next time I might pour some strawberries over the top.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ImACookingDiva July 22, 2009

Tried these for a special new years morning treat and everyone raved how delicious they were! As we were eating we thought some fruit added to the filling or even topped with a compote on top would put them over the top. I may even try cutting them into bites almost like dessert sushi and served with toothpicks would be fun. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
loricrenshaw January 01, 2012

My family didn't really like these. They liked them better without the cream cheese.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
scrappinspud March 02, 2011

Great little treat for anytime you want something sweet. I made as directed and froze some and baked a few to test. They are simple to make but it does take alittle time to make but well worth it.
Thanks for sharing the recipe!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marsha D. November 13, 2010

These were a delightful little breakfast treat! They're definitely not healthy enough for every day, but they were a special breakfast after a kids sleepover. I made these the regular way for my kids and with modified ingredients for a little boy with a milk allergy. In his version I used regular bread (just without any milk ingredients) and Tofutti dairy-free cream cheese. You couldn't tell the difference!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JenniferB_RN October 11, 2010

I rolled out the bread, and than cut rust off, as this helped to make the end product larger. While I love this recipe, it is in no way healthy,but a great appetizer for guests, or a spark to any breakfast menu!
Looking for a recipe to wow guests, then you hav eit here! Not too hard to prepare,a nd limited ingredients!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
katrinepa2 September 23, 2010
French Toast Roll-ups