Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / French Toast II Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    French Toast II

    Average Rating:

    82 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 82

    Sort by:

    • on October 28, 2001

      Easy and delicious! I halved the ingredients since it was only for the hubby and me, used regular wheat bread and forgot the vanilla, and it was still very good! Made 10 slices using 6 eggs.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2002

      this is how my dad always made french toast, and i was shocked to hear my bf's parents and everyone else made it differently! i always scale it down to 2 people by using 5 slices bread, 2 eggs, 1/4 cup milk, 2tbsp sugar, 1/2 capful of vanilla, and cinnamon to taste. hope this helps!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2002

      Wow!! This was wonderful! I scaled the recipe in half and used regular white bread. And it was enough for me, my DH and my two young sons. It was so good! nice and sweet how we like it! the first thing dh said was "what did you do different, this is great!" Will definatly make again and again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2002

      This was a wonderful improvement on a traditional recipe. I loved the extra flavor produced by the addition of cinnamon and sugar. My whole family enjoyed this easy, tasty recipe. Note: I was unable to get Texas Toast in my area, so I used stale ordinary "plastic sandwich" white bread and it still came out great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2002

      I added nutmeg (about half the cinnamon amount) as well. Excellent! I scaled the recipe to one serving, which was perfect for my wife and I.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2001

      ITS YUM!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2001

      what can i say its very easy and very gooooood. the kids loved it

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2001

    • on April 22, 2010

      Loved the recipe. Just one major problem... I ate too many of them! (yes they are that good) I used Melany's scaled down version... For 2 people by using 5 slices bread, 2 eggs, 1/4 cup milk, 2tbsp sugar, 1/2 capful of vanilla, and cinnamon to taste. Next time I am going to make the full version for the family.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2006

      Awesome! I used Rice Dream Original instead of milk, half sugar(1/4 cup) and an extra tsp of vanilla. Made with a loaf of regular bakery bread-and froze the extra. It reheats great, just thaw in the MW and pop in the toaster.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2014

      Very good! Halved the recipe, used whole wheat bread because that's all I had, and cooked on the griddle with butter. Was a little afraid of the large amount of cinnamon, but it was wonderful. Will definitely make again. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2014

      Wasn't quite the recipe I was looking for but overall taste wasn't bad. Here are a couple things that I would do differently from what the instructions said. The first is, if using dry toast, I would probably leave each side in the batter for 10 seconds per side so the batter/flavour can really penetrate the bread. The second is 5min per side at medium/medium high was way too long and hot for my stove. I'm not sure if it's because it's electric or just weird but at medium I found the bread was starting to burn if left for 2.5min and cut the time down to 2 min intervals (if unsure how your stove is going to perform, highly recommend doing 2 min intervals per side to get an idea of how long to leave each side). Overall, it wasn't a bad recipe and suited my french toast craving but doesn't compare to other recipes I've had.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2014

      It was delicious and my kids loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2013

      This was a really good recipe that my kids couldn't get enough of. I used up all the egg mixture and then froze the toast. We then just put them in the toaster on a lite setting and they were perfect. Thank you for sharing with us your recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2012

      Great - Enjoyed our stuffed with jam and cream cheese.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2012

      I've made this twice. Once with regular sandwhich bread for breakfast and the other with texas toast- for dinner. This was easy and very tasty. I halved the recipe and it made about 10 slices. It was so good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2012

      In my opinion this should be called "Real French toast!" Amazingly good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2011

      Seems to be WAY too much batter for a loaf, though the bread I used was somewhat fine-grained and didn't absorb as much as I'd have liked. Should have tried half a recipe first. The large amount of cinnamon worked out nicely though -- I thought it might be too much, but I really enjoyed the clear cinnamon flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2010

      just finished making this. Turned out delicious!! My fiancee was in heaven!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2010

      The perfect french toast! I halved the recipe for 2 adults and a 9 year old and it was perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for French Toast II

    Serving Size: 1 (148 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 337.2
     
    Calories from Fat 133
    39%
    Total Fat 14.8 g
    22%
    Saturated Fat 5.5 g
    27%
    Cholesterol 499.5 mg
    166%
    Sodium 218.0 mg
    9%
    Total Carbohydrate 32.0 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 2.0 g
    8%
    Sugars 25.6 g
    102%
    Protein 18.7 g
    37%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    Texas toast thick bread

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites