Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / French Toast Extraordinaire Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    French Toast Extraordinaire

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on May 27, 2007

      The french toast came out very very soggy, and everything kept falling apart. If you make it, try to only use a little jam and a little cream cheese, and be prepared for it to fall apart. Try not to soak it too long - just the outside, so the "sandwich" doesn't become a soggy nasty mess.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2007

      My DH is in love with stuffed French toast from IHOP -- I have been looking for a recipe that is similar and this one came pretty close! Both he and I enjoyed it! I used regular white bread instead of the french bread suggested and it did not hold up well. Next time I will use a thicker slice of bread as the recipe indicates! Great recipe, thanks for posting!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2006

      Mmmmmm...yummy!! I halved this recipe and it turned out so great! I made it for Christmas brunch this morning, and everyone loved it! I used Texas Toast for the bread, and used grape jelly instead of tomato jam. Also used 1/2 soy milk, 1/2 skim milk. I switched it up and made two of the sandwiches with lite strawberry cream chees, and the other one with lite regular cream cheese. Thanks!! :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2006

      Great recipe! I made it this today on a snowy December morning and it really hit the spot. I used raspberry jam as well and I halved the recipe (since there is only two of us!). Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2006

      Excellent! This makes for a perfect addition to a brunch menu. Looks decadent and tastes great! I didn't manage to find tomato jam, used raspberry ... seeds and all ... loved every bite! We all loved this French Toast Extraordinaire, and have added it to my Brunch recipes. Thank you for sharing this delicious recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2005

      Wonderrful! I use the french toast recipe part all the time even when I don't take the time to make the actual cream cheese filling. It has become a staple in our house! Sometimes we substitute orange juice for the lemon juice and that works well too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2005

      This recipe began it's life a very long time ago as a Monte Cristo sandwich. Nice to see a new twist on it instead of the ham and cheese done this way with powdered sugar on top jam on the side. This method is nothing new and this way it is a nice new taste for a time tested method. Nice to see it here, thank you. I also reduced the milk and found that helpful. There are many many things to fill with using this method, nearly endless possibilities!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2005

      This is such a remarkable recipe. I was looking for some major "comfort" food and this was just what I was in need of... food fit for a queen! I used challah for this, and used lingonberry instead of the tomato jam. I couldnt believe something so delicious was completed in so little time :) Thanks girl!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2005

      I used Jellyqueen's Sourdough French Bread Sourdough French Bread as well as her Strawberry Figs Strawberry Figs. While the flavor combinations are wonderful my only complaint with this recipe is that there was too much milk in the batter. I reduced the amount of milk by about half of what called for and had more than enough. I also accidentally added more than the 1/4 teaspoon cinnamon. Everyone enjoyed it. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2005

    • on August 02, 2005

      Outstanding! I love this recipe. I used currant jam and have had this with 'Old Reliable French Bread (#52289) as white bread for an afternoon coffee break. Wonderful. The sweet flavors of the jam together with cream cheese. Jam and cheese were melted between the toast. And the batter featuring the taste of vanilla, cinnamon, nutmeg with a slight touch of sour flavor from the lemon and the delicate sweetness of the brown sugar. From the first reading I have known that this is after my fancy. Follow the recipe to the 'T' and you will have one of the most delicious toast for breakfast, as a desssert or for any break during the day. This toast will make you feel extraordinaire.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2005

      This is the breakfast of Kings, Queens, Dukes & Duchesses!!! This is FABULOUS and so decadent! This was a perfect brunch....and I looked like a STAR!!! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for French Toast Extraordinaire

    Serving Size: 1 (387 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 677.1
     
    Calories from Fat 245
    36%
    Total Fat 27.3 g
    42%
    Saturated Fat 13.7 g
    68%
    Cholesterol 269.3 mg
    89%
    Sodium 1054.3 mg
    43%
    Total Carbohydrate 80.3 g
    26%
    Dietary Fiber 3.9 g
    15%
    Sugars 14.1 g
    56%
    Protein 25.6 g
    51%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    tomato jam

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes