Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / French Toast Casserole Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    French Toast Casserole

    Average Rating:

    35 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-35 of 35

    Sort by:

    • on May 08, 2009

      I love this recipe! It's fail proof! I remembered that I had to bring a hot dish for a brunch a few hours before the brunch. I weighed 10oz of basic white bread including the crust I poured 4 eggs and 2 cups of milk over the pieces and manipulated them with my hands to ensure that every piece was covered and soaking up the mixture. I let that sit on the counter for about 20 minutes and then followed the rest of the recipe. I cooked it uncovered for the first half and then covered for the second half. I drizzled syrup over the top and it was perfect. Not a bite was left when I picked up my dish from the buffet table!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2009

      I really liked this! I made a few changes. I used only 6 eggs and 2 cups of milk. I went a head and put the butter and sugar/cinnamon mixture on the night before, and it didn't seem to be any worse for wear from it. I cooked it cover the entire 40 minutes and then uncovered for an additional 10 min. It turned out a little bit soggy, but not bad at all. I really liked the the way the french bread cooked up versus regular bread which I have always used in the past. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2008

      Served this at a Sunday school breakfast and enjoyed by all. I did add 8 oz of cubed cream cheese and layered it between the bread. Fresh maple syrup is great with this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2008

    • on May 10, 2008

    • on November 25, 2007

      I thought this was great. I like the crispy sugar/cinnamon topping. This is super easy to make. I will definitely make this again, but I may try adding nuts.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2007

      Im not sure what I did wrong I halfed the recipe as it was just for 2 of us, but the end product came out soggy and eggy tasting. I cooked it for over an hour! Im gonna give it a try again and use less eggs and more staled bread.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2007

      First, I have to say that I found this recipe because I went in search of a recipe to use up some pita bread that had been cut into wedges for a dip but wasn't eaten, and was frozen instead. When my refrigerator broke, I needed a way to use it quickly. I wasn't sure if this would work with pita bread, but it turned out wonderfully. I cut the recipe in half, but only had 3 eggs. I also forgot to add the topping, and it turned out fine, serving it with maple syrup. I think this would be even better with french bread and the toppping, but I think that it is versatile enough to use what you happen to have in your house or without the topping to reduce calories. Definitely a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2007

      This was amazing - I cut the recipe in half since it was just for 2 - but we ate it all!! I will make this again when we have overnight guests. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2006

      just got done serving this for my grandmothers 80th birthday brunch. There were NO left overs, the whole family ate it up and adored it. So many people asked for this recipe. I just used plain white bread and cooked it for about 45 minutes. Turned out beautifully.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2006

      This is SO EASY! I served this at a New Year's day brunch, and didn't have any leftovers! I actually made it a week in advance and froze it, then took it out a day before and let it thaw in the fridge. It was a bit soggy on the bottom, but I forgot to cover it for the first 20 minutes in the oven. And, as I mentioned, I had frozen it. The flavor was great, especially with some honey drizzled on top. My husband enjoyed it with some blueberry pie filling. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2003

      Sorry, this didn't excite us. The kids did not like - they said you could taste the egg too much. I thought it was OK, but not something I'll make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2003

    • on January 24, 2003

      This was pretty good. Easy to make my family seemed to like it OK but they didn't eat it all up. In fact I had leftovers for several days before I just got rid of it. Good but not great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2003

      After the rave reviews, I really expected a lot from this dish and was very disappointed. Bland flavor and rock-hard bread cubes on the top - the only thing I can figure is that maybe I did something wrong, but I followed the recipe exactly. The kids sampled it, but opted for cold cereal instead. Given how simple french toast is - I'll stick with that in the future.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    1 2 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for French Toast Casserole

    Serving Size: 1 (126 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 191.7
     
    Calories from Fat 69
    36%
    Total Fat 7.7 g
    11%
    Saturated Fat 3.7 g
    18%
    Cholesterol 137.6 mg
    45%
    Sodium 215.6 mg
    8%
    Total Carbohydrate 21.3 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 0.8 g
    3%
    Sugars 5.3 g
    21%
    Protein 9.0 g
    18%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites