36 Reviews

Loved this recipe. Try it with adding 8 oz. cubed cream cheese. Place 1/2 of cubed bread then cream cheese then remainder of bread. Also add 1/3 cup real maple syrup to mixture you pour over it.

22 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lisa3 November 07, 2001

Oh, this was excellent! I loved it because of the taste of French toast without all the dipping and frying. This was really good. I had some dried apricots, which I stewed, and served as a topping too, yummm! I have been trying dishes to take on a camping trip, and this one definately goes with me. Thanks for posting it.

17 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Miss Annie May 31, 2002

Wonderful!!I did all prep the night before and forgot about it the next morning!Needless to say we had it for dessert that night.I added some chopped nuts and it was a hit!Thanks

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
crawfish pie March 06, 2002

This was very good.Loved being able to prepare it the night before.The kids thought it was great!I will be making this again.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Divinemom5 June 03, 2002

I made this for my husband's workplace (he's a Marine). Sometimes it's difficult to judge how good a recipe is when I send it there, because they'll eat anything, so I made a second one for my son. Both reviews were fantastic. Thanks for posting.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bogey'sMom June 03, 2002

Great recipe! I use leftover bread,stale rolls,buns & cake. What a transformation, it was a gourmet meal. I will keep a bag in the freezer to collect odds and ends of baked goods and bread just for this recipe.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
herbsnflowers December 23, 2014

To die for! I used hawaiian bread rolls and it was amazing. I also made it the morning of and only let it soak into the bread for an hour but it was perfect!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kateew October 22, 2011

excellent recipe! I didn't have time to let it sit overnight and it still came out great. I added a couple of sliced apples to mine. Thanks for sharing.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Katjconsult September 08, 2009

I wish I could give it more than 5 stars!! SO EASY!! You must like your French toast soft, and moist to enjoy this recipe!! I have used "Texas Toast" bread instead of the french loaf, and I have ommitted the cinnamon. No matter how you dress it up or down, it comes out AWESOME!! In the future, I will mix the bread cubes and egg mixture in a bowl for a quick toss before putting them in the pan (this is my tried and true best way to make it!) AND I will uncover the pan for the last 10 minutes of baking! YUMMY!!! Thanks for posting!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MakeMineCadburys June 18, 2009

Just realized I haven't rated this recipe and it has become a christmas tradition for at least the past 5 years or more! The family loves it and I have a school friend who I shared this with and he makes it every year for his family and they love it as well. A very versatile recipe that I've made as written and "customized" if you will. Thank you for a gem, Nicole!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tish in OH December 24, 2014
French Toast Casserole