Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / French Toast Casserole Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    French Toast Casserole

    Average Rating:

    35 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 35

    Sort by:

    • on November 07, 2001

      Loved this recipe. Try it with adding 8 oz. cubed cream cheese. Place 1/2 of cubed bread then cream cheese then remainder of bread. Also add 1/3 cup real maple syrup to mixture you pour over it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2002

      Oh, this was excellent! I loved it because of the taste of French toast without all the dipping and frying. This was really good. I had some dried apricots, which I stewed, and served as a topping too, yummm! I have been trying dishes to take on a camping trip, and this one definately goes with me. Thanks for posting it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2002

      Wonderful!!I did all prep the night before and forgot about it the next morning!Needless to say we had it for dessert that night.I added some chopped nuts and it was a hit!Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2002

      This was very good.Loved being able to prepare it the night before.The kids thought it was great!I will be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2002

      I made this for my husband's workplace (he's a Marine). Sometimes it's difficult to judge how good a recipe is when I send it there, because they'll eat anything, so I made a second one for my son. Both reviews were fantastic. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2009

      I wish I could give it more than 5 stars!! SO EASY!! You must like your French toast soft, and moist to enjoy this recipe!! I have used "Texas Toast" bread instead of the french loaf, and I have ommitted the cinnamon. No matter how you dress it up or down, it comes out AWESOME!! In the future, I will mix the bread cubes and egg mixture in a bowl for a quick toss before putting them in the pan (this is my tried and true best way to make it!) AND I will uncover the pan for the last 10 minutes of baking! YUMMY!!! Thanks for posting!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2011

      To die for! I used hawaiian bread rolls and it was amazing. I also made it the morning of and only let it soak into the bread for an hour but it was perfect!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2010

      Great recipe! I use leftover bread,stale rolls,buns & cake. What a transformation, it was a gourmet meal. I will keep a bag in the freezer to collect odds and ends of baked goods and bread just for this recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2009

      excellent recipe! I didn't have time to let it sit overnight and it still came out great. I added a couple of sliced apples to mine. Thanks for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2014

      I use to love french toast but as i got older it just got kinda boring. I had a taste for some recently but didn't have any bread but i did have some frozen waffles and used that instead and boy oh boy was that so much better. Now, when i get the urge for something sweet (i don't just eat breakfast food at breakfast) i'll whip up a few french cinnamon waffles!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2014

      After an hour of cooking the middle was still a bit mushy....I think I will re-try with less milk maybe 2 cups instead of 3....I also mixed the cinnamon into the liquid before pouring it over the bread so that each piece gets some cinnamon on it...then sprinkled more cinnamon over the top with the brown sugar and butter.... Will re-post after tweaking this recipe....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2013

      Pretty good! Really easy to make. Even after adding the maple syrup, I think I would have liked this a little sweeter - which is bad, but just what I thought would have taken it from good to great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2013

      My family was not a fan of this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2013

      My coworker made this casserole 2 years in a row for a holiday brunch and I just found the recipe she gave me from a year ago! :D The only difference is a dash of cinnamon in the bread mixture and 1 teas. total cinnamon in the topping. Of all the recipes I have eaten, I like this one best, not too eggy or sweet. Thanks for posting! It's delish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2011

      This is an amazing twist on traditional French toast that my family absolutely loves! I made it for Thanksgiving and Christmas morning, and it was delicious both times. I like to add diced apples or pears and dust a little icing sugar over top before serving. YUM YUM YUM! Thanks for posting :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2011

      Thank you for posting this Nicole. I made this once at Christmas and then had an idea of making it for a brunch I was going to yesterday. Cooked it and went to put it into my Carrier and there was another copy of your recipe sitting there from Christmas time. My mother, who does not care for the usual Breakfast of Pancakes or Waffles, absolutely loved this casserole as did the rest of the family. The only thing that I do different is use only half of the sugar and cinnamon mixture. I let everyone else add their own sugar and cinnamon if they want afterwards. Thanks again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2010

      Great recipe. I put sliced apples before adding the sugar and cinammon. Everyone raved about the dish! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2010

      YUMMY!!! This dish is super easy. I used french bread that was very fresh. I used Saigon cinnamon because that is the favorite in the house. It is the perfect dish for a special breakfast, Christmas, Birthday or whenever. Thanks for sharing!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2009

      This was ok but not great. Very plain. I used left over bread from tea sandwiches and perhaps the fact that there was honey wheat bread in there was what made it just so-so. Perhaps we'll try again with plain old wheat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2009

      Very good, very simple. Worked exceptionally well. I was a cup short on milk, and it still came out just fine. Used a two day old loaf of italian bread that I tore up. I also mixed the bread with the egg, instead of just pouring over the top. Great! Thanks! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for French Toast Casserole

    Serving Size: 1 (126 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 191.7
     
    Calories from Fat 69
    36%
    Total Fat 7.7 g
    11%
    Saturated Fat 3.7 g
    18%
    Cholesterol 137.6 mg
    45%
    Sodium 215.6 mg
    8%
    Total Carbohydrate 21.3 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 0.8 g
    3%
    Sugars 5.3 g
    21%
    Protein 9.0 g
    18%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites