12 Reviews

Delicious Lainey! I have never added fruit prior to baking it. Very good indeed :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Butternut Shabutie September 19, 2012

Very good! Will for sure make this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
55tbird April 01, 2012

Very good! My in-laws loved this when we had them over for a Saturday morning breakfast. I made just a few changes...I added an extra apple, used 3 Tbsp. of butter instead of 5, used light corn syrup instead of dark, and added pecans. Took 45 minutes. Yummy!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The Red-Headed Chef April 11, 2010

Great dish for a cold winter day when I only had to put it in the oven and eat it! Mine took 45 minutes and next time, I'll add some raisins too and maybe cut down on the sugar. Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
littlemafia January 23, 2010

OH, YES! A GREAT TASTING TREAT, THIS! I was going to cut the recipe in half, but after reading it through, I decided to do the whole thing ~ So glad I did, too, 'cause it's extremely good (easy to make, too)! Another time, though, & I'll probably add some raisins, but then, that's just me! [Tagged, made & reviewed in Zaar Stars tag]

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike June 25, 2009

WOW! This was great! It was easy to throw together. I found it should have been bake a bit longer than 30 min but it was tastey! I used granny smiths. The only thing is it calls for using cinnamon twice but I only saw it listed once and didn't call for it to be divided.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MinnMomof2 May 09, 2009

Luscious choice for breakfast! OMG is this ever good! It's more like a dessert, and since I love dessert anytime, this really tickled my taste buds first thing this morning! I did use cinnamon raisin bread instead of the French bread and just cut it to the 1" thickness myself. I am keeping this one to have for Christmas morning with my family! Thank you so much for such a great recipe Lainey! I will be using this one often, cause I love apples and this is one lovely apple recipe! Made for Zaar Stars 4/09

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Linda's Busy Kitchen April 20, 2009

What a tasty, tasty dish Lainey. We enjoyed this for brekky today, it was wonderful. The french toast puffed up beautifully, the apple topping was delicious, carmelized, sweet and cinnamony. Next time I will make the apple slices thicker (personal preference). Thank you for sharing this easy to make dish, that we will have often.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Baby Kato March 16, 2009

great!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Bailey #1 October 18, 2008

This has been a Christmas morning tradition in our family for many years. I now use cinnamon bread from a great local bakery instead of French bread. Even better that way.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lglowicki October 24, 2007
French-Toast Apple Bake