Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / French Toast Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    French Toast

    Average Rating:

    61 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 61

    Sort by:

    • on July 18, 2011

      Great recipe. It's flexible enough to be made vegan too! I used Ener-g Egg Replacer, almond milk, and margarine and topped it with some maple syrup. Comfort food at it's finest. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2010

      GREAT recipe. Didnt use the melted butter. I did however butter each piece when finished and sprinkled cinnamon over the top. I will try the original directions next time. I am interested in the change. Very easy to make, everyone should try this recipe out. Im going to add it to my cookbook.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2010

      Made this for our own champagne brunch this morning. I used a hearty whole grain bread and added a little cinnamon to the egg mixture...WOW! This was delicious! My DH gobbled up every last bite! Wonderful french toast recipe! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2012

      I have been making french toast for a while, but when I saw this recipe, I decided to give it a try. I was a great success...and I even used just some wheat bread from a grocery store that I had in the fridge. Worked great! I don't know what part the orange juice ingredient plays into this recipe...but I did add it, but really didn't notice anything different from using it, verses not.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2012

      Great basic recipe for French toast! The only thing I added was a sprinkle of cinnamon. Thanks for a nice, quick, easy breakfast!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2003

      I made this twice with Yogi's tasty bun recipe.. I made a loaf of that bread just to try out some new french toast recipes.. and I made this recipe for french toast..TWICE already... once with Orange Juice, and the other time using lemon juice instead of orange juice. Both times it was absolutely marvelous!!!!! When I made it with Lemon, I left out the vanilla.. and it was fabulous!!! :-) Thanks for the recipe!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2013

      MMMM so good! I added cinnamon and I used orange extract instead of orange juice. The best french toast i've ever had! Thanks for sharing :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2011

      Thanks for a delicious breakfast recipe! I was only making 5 slices so I used 2 eggs and 1/2 cup of cream but kept all the other measurements the same. I didn't have any orange juice so I squeezed a fresh Okinawan orange (tastes like a cross between an orange and a lime)and the french toast came out so very tasty. My husband said it tasted a little like an ice cream cone (sugar cone)and gave the recipe a thumbs up.... Made this again as written exactly and loved it. Then again with the following changes: squeeze of orange, 1 tablespoon of sour cream, and 2tsp of grand mariner. Cut back by half on the sugar. Delish! I'm surprised by how good this recipe tastes without cinnamon but really it's better than any French toast I've made before!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2011

    • on October 26, 2010

      This was quicker than the usual recipe I use, and it was fine, but it just didn't quite come together as well as my other recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2010

      BIL makes his own maple syrup, so we served with real maple syrup or powdered sugar. Thanks for a lovely Sunday morning breakfast.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2010

      One word, delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2009

      The family thought it was great! We'll be making it again. Since my son doesn't like syrup, I sprinkled his with powered sugar.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2009

      We love this and use it as our cottage french toast recipe. Thanks so much for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2009

      Easy, tasty. Had to use 1/2 and 1/2 rather than milk.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2009

      I was concerned about mixing OJ and milk but I followed the recipe and we LOVED the french toast! I added a little bit of cinnamon to the egg mix but otherwise followed the recipe. Yummy! thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2009

      We enjoyed this french toast for breakfast today. I used home baked cinnamon raisin bread. Yummy! I added a little more than 1/2 tsp of vanilla, and didn't add salt. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2009

      What a nice treat this was for a lazy Sunday morning! I realized that I was out of vanilla, so did without - and added cinnamon. YUM! I didn't taste much oj so might top with a little orange zest next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2009

      I skipped OJ , and added cinnamon powder and 2TB more sugar . Served with sausage. Taste great, just like what I had when I was little. Thank you for sharing, MaeEast.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2009

      A great addition to my collection of delish breakfast recipes! I doubled the recipe thinking that it would not feed 6 people but we had tonnes of leftover. Thanks for posting :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for French Toast

    Serving Size: 1 (187 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 362.4
     
    Calories from Fat 181
    50%
    Total Fat 20.1 g
    31%
    Saturated Fat 10.6 g
    53%
    Cholesterol 225.0 mg
    75%
    Sodium 603.2 mg
    25%
    Total Carbohydrate 32.5 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 1.2 g
    4%
    Sugars 6.1 g
    24%
    Protein 12.2 g
    24%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites