Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / French Tart's Classic Madeleines: Madelines: Little Fluted Cakes Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    French Tart's Classic Madeleines: Madelines: Little Fluted Cakes

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on February 20, 2009

      OOOOH MY!!!! What delicious little treats! I made Madeleines for the first time and was pleasantly surprised at - how easy they were to prepare and how tasty they are! The vanilla and fresh lemon zest are a perfect combination! I have bought Madeleines before, but they pale in comparison to this recipe! I do not have a Madeleine pan; I used my paper baking cups in muffin tins and although the shape is different the taste and texture is great!! I highly recommend this recipe!! Thanks for posting FT!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2013

      Lovely little teacakes. Made as instructed but browning the butter before cooling, adding 1/4 tsp finely chopped rosemary from my garden and letting the batter chill for 2 hours. Took 10 minutes in my nonstick dark metal mad pan.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2012

      Made these this weekend with an all-purpose gluten-free flour. They turned out perfectly, although I only needed about 8 minutes in the oven. These are great with coffee or tea. I popped mine in the microwave the next morning for 10-15 seconds and added a dollop of raspberry jam.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2011

      what a great recipe! one of the tricks is definitely beating the eggs and sugar, etc as recommended---i set my timer and walked away-perfect results! didn't have a lemon so i used orange zest in its place--really good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2011

      Great Recipe! I changed mine slightly I made them with Orange Flower water and orange zest. They are perfect with a cup of tea.. Rose flower water is another favorite variation.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2011

      Wonderful! My hubby loves Madeline from Starbucks and he felt that these were better; finished all of them within a day. I doubled the measurements and they made 40 mini cupcake sized cakes. I realized that the first batch was much better than the second, note to self - bake immediately. Do not let the mixture sit out for too long. Will be making these again very soon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2009

      Oh my...nothing could prepare me for these incredible little morsels. It is worth getting a madeline pan to bake these, but I do suggest you get a non-stick version. My first batch was pretty stuck after the first bake, so I liberally greased and floured my pan and the results were perfection! They sure make an inpact on a cookie tray! Thanks FT for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2009

      Wonderful treat FT :) I made my Madelines using a pre-blended gluten-free flour (Orgran brand) and they turned out looking and tasting just perfect. I just knew that these would be the perfect recipe to make gluten-free. I didn't get a photo this time round due to a flat camera battery.....but there definitely will be a next time!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2009

      Nice easy recipe. I used mini madeleine pans, so had to put some batter in the fridge until ready to bake. As Joy of Cooking says to chill the batter half hour to firm up I didn't see that it wasn't okay to do this. Although that pan humped up in the middle which I really didn't like as much as the first batch, so after placing in the pans I let it sit a minute or two at room temperature, and baked off. Yes I prefer them flat on the one side. I had to eat the humped ones well, because they didn't look as nice, but I over cooked them too. In the mini tins it took 8 min. in my oven. I am bringing these to mom for mothers day, and I am sure my dad will enjoy them with a cup of tea.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2009

      Wow, these are great tasting. So easy to make although elegant,light tasting and just plain yummy. Next time I may dip the tops in chocolate. I used greased and floured muffin tins with no problems. A recipe I will be making again very soon. Great instructions. Thanks for sharing. Made for Aus/NZ swap#26

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for French Tart's Classic Madeleines: Madelines: Little Fluted Cakes

    Serving Size: 1 (49 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 165.1
     
    Calories from Fat 83
    50%
    Total Fat 9.2 g
    14%
    Saturated Fat 5.6 g
    27%
    Cholesterol 53.2 mg
    17%
    Sodium 93.7 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 18.4 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 0.2 g
    1%
    Sugars 10.2 g
    41%
    Protein 2.2 g
    4%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes