13 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

These were excellent, I only wished I had cut the fennel and onion smaller. As this is written the pieces are too big and unwiedly when they get to the plate. Mind you, that didn't stop anyone from finishing every bite!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mgnbos January 19, 2013

Terrific! What a lovely combination of flavors. I minced up the fennel and onion first and then followed the recipe exactly. It was very easy and very good! However, my peppers were on the small side so I ended up putting the extra filling into two ramekins. While it wasn't quite as pretty, they still tasted great. In fact I might skip the peppers next time, saute the fennel and oinion then bake in mini tartlettes. I love it when I find a delicious flavor combination because the possibilities are endless. Merci French Tart!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wish I Could Cook January 23, 2010

I have had this recipe tucked away for a while waiting for a good time to use it and yesterday after snacking for a good portion of the day I only wanted a light dinner and this was perfect. I also cubed the onion and fennel.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Queen Dana December 14, 2008

Awesome, awesome taste, although in the future I'd cube the fennel and onions - the wedges were a bit large and awkward.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pomegranatedream March 27, 2007

What a great dish! As suggested, I cut the fennel and onions much smaller. Even though it won't be as pretty, I might cut up the peppers next time and have a vegetable casserole. Merci, French Tart!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Linky February 22, 2013

I belong to a CSA (Consumer Supported Agriculture) and I got a fennel bulb in my box this week. I had never had fennel anything, and this was a very delicious recipe to start with. I made the recipe as stated and it was perfect. My husband is a dear and is always willing to try different things (YEAH!).

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kim S. June 21, 2009

This was... interesting! I used feta because I could not find any goat cheese, and red wine vinegar as I find balsamic quite strong. The peppers, sundried tomatoes, and cheese went excellently together, but I might cut the fennel and onions up even smaller next time and maybe mix it with rice or something - it was just not my thing to eat giant chunks of onion. Thanks for sharing though! I would never have tried fennel bulbs otherwise!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
horseplay June 17, 2009

This has become one of my favourite vegeterian recipies. I cube the fennel, as other suggested; men in my family cannot believe it does not have meet - it's so filling and has such a nice texture!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Vlada February 22, 2009

What a wonderful, wonderful dish. I cubed the onion and fennel as suggested by another reviewer and perhaps I used a bit more goat cheese 'cause it's so tasty :-)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sugaree January 23, 2008
French Stuffed Red Bell Peppers With Fennel and Goat's Cheese