15 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I've made this recipe over and over again. Each time it has gotten better and better. I'm posting again to share my new findings: I found that the recipe turns out even better if you don't over cook your mixture before adding the eggs. By not over cooking, you get a very silky texture.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lifeservant_1216178 June 11, 2013

I made this last year and it was wonderful. I am going to make it every year at Holidays. Not too sweet. All I can say is if you made it and it turned out wrong then maybe you should stick to frozen pies. It was the easiest pie to make! Yum. I used regular pie crust and one with oreo crust. Both were well liked. :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gatormom1972 November 21, 2012

Made this for my husband for Valentine's Day weekend. Unfortunately my pie wasn't so silky after having been refrigerated. I was looking for more of a mousse consistency and got a pretty hard, solid filling that I wasn't too thrilled about (the filling was beat until fluffy, as directed). While it still tasted good it wasn't what I was hoping for. I did swap the pie crust from a dough crust to a cookie crust and there were no complaints on that :). Good luck with the recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BbyBluThghHghs February 12, 2011

VERY VERY yummy! Thanks for the great recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wes and Sara March 31, 2009

If I could give you 10 stars for this recipe, I most certainly would! This was the most fantastic, smooth, rich chocolatey French silk pie I've ever tasted. Thank you so much for posting! Yum!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MarthaStewartWanabe December 16, 2008

This was the biggest hit at my Thanksgiving dinner! Wow. It did take more than 20 minutes for my mixture to thicken, but other than that, everything turned out wonderful. Like someone else said, the taste is not exactly what I remembered as "french silk" pie - it was almost more chocolaty than I wanted (is that possible?!). Next time I might experiment with a mix of more than one type of chocolate.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lisa.conklin December 01, 2008

This is a great recipe!! I'm glad I picked this recipe to try out.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
norm.bryant July 21, 2008

This was a big hit at my husband's place of work. The guys he shared it with said it was better than Baker's Square French Silk pie.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sheri826 May 21, 2008

Outstanding! Easy to make and delicious! Everyone raved about this pie and couldn't believe I made it myself. I used a store bought frozen pie crust and that was my husband's only complaint. He said it was just too thick for the pie. I'll try a homemade crust next time. The filling is rich and chocolaty, not too sweet. Thanks for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mama2boys March 30, 2008

One word = AMAZING!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
littlepinkpumas February 28, 2008
French Silk Pie, Cooked