Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / French Silk Chocolate Pie (Or Parfait) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    French Silk Chocolate Pie (Or Parfait)

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on March 18, 2003

      Beachgirl...OMG...this is to die for! Please anyone trying this use egg substitute as raw uncooked eggs are not a good idea to use here. There was no difference in anything except for your safety. Excellant pie and I recommend topping with cool whip too! May as well add a couple more pounds!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2003

      This pie has beautiful texture and looks impressive, but just isn't chocolatey enough. Over all we thought it was bland.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2003

      I got this exact recipe from a friend years ago. It is just wonderful. Easy to make and delicious. What I am really thrilled to find out is that it can be frozen!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2004

      So smooth & creamy! And it's delicious in a chocolate cookie crust with cool whip on top.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2003

      Recipe says 40 min prep time and 3 hours cooking time, but has no cooking directions other than for pie shell. since filling (parfait) has raw eggs, I cooked in top of double boiler, low heat, almost to soft boil.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2003

      I made this for my 10-year old son's birthday (at his request, instead of a cake). It was a huge hit with the whole family! Very creamy, melt-in-your mouth texture, and just the perfect amount of sweetness. OK, I did let him have two pieces, but only because it was his birthday! (And he's not usually a fan of chocolate).

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2003

      My daughter made this for my wife's birthday and it is fantastic, absolutely fantastic

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2003

      Made this pie and a cake for my sisters birthday and this pie was gone right away and the cake is still sitting there. This is creamy and delicious. I melted chocolate over the top and put cool whip over that and sprinkled sum chocolate shavings. GREAT!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 15, 2008

      FYI, this recipe is the same as #25172, "Silk and Satin Chocolate Pie." Two squares of a Hershey's baking bar is one ounce of unsweetened baking chocolate, so.... That said, people who are deathly afraid of raw eggs - unless you have a compromised immune system, and are using old eggs, it is not a problem. I realize Westerners are terrified of any number of statistically improbable ailments, but really now. I lived in Japan for a while - my four year old host brother ate a raw egg over rice for breakfast every day, and never had a problem. In fact, people in Japan and some other asian countries eat raw egg all the time, and yet Japanese people live much longer than Westerners, on average. The pie is decadent and delicious. It is a little more bitter than your typical French Silk, but the bitterness is lovely, especially when contrasted with the sweetness of whipped topping. However, and this is very important, make sure you beat the mixture for a LONG time. It takes a long time to cream properly, and then I was beating for about 8 minutes after each egg to get the proper consistency.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2008

      My BF is a french silk lover and for our Christmas dinner dessert I made this. Followed the recipe to a tee and it was delicious!! I made these in graham cracker tart shells(only 2 of us in the house) and it made 8 of them. I also froze them and he takes them in his lunch topped with cool whip. Thanks for a wonderful recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2006

      This was a good pie, but not really what I was expecting. I chilled it for several hours and it was still on the goopy side, must've done something wrong. I cooked the mixture almost to a soft boil, like one of the other posters since small children and some elderly folk would be eating it. Served this as dessert when some friends came over. They loved it, kept raving about it so I let them take the rest of it home. Used Cool whip for topping, but I would haveliked it better with REAL whipped cream. Just a personal preference thing, I guess.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2005

      This stuff is awesome. I have made it before from the Pillsbury recipe and was looking around the Zaar to see if there were any others like it. I had wanted to try using the filling for chocolate candies instead of pie. As I suspected it is absolutely DELICIOUS. I highly recommend using this as a filling in candy molds. I find that sometimes barely scorching the chocolate can be good as it adds just a bit of crunchy texture to the French Silk. Also, I use more vanilla than is called for - usually 1/2 to 1 TSP more than is suggested. The amount of chocolate in this recipe is perfect, since, for my purposes, there was plenty of other chocolate surrounding the filling. Tasty treats! By the way, the method for melting the chocolate is great. I don't know why I never thought of that before. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for French Silk Chocolate Pie (Or Parfait)

    Serving Size: 1 (50 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 223.4
     
    Calories from Fat 138
    61%
    Total Fat 15.3 g
    23%
    Saturated Fat 7.5 g
    37%
    Cholesterol 55.5 mg
    18%
    Sodium 144.9 mg
    6%
    Total Carbohydrate 20.5 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 1.1 g
    4%
    Sugars 12.6 g
    50%
    Protein 2.5 g
    5%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes