Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / French Potatoes Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    French Potatoes

    Average Rating:

    77 Total Reviews

    Showing 41-60 of 77

    Sort by:

    • on May 06, 2008

      This was very good. I don't usually like potatoes, but I liked the flavor of these. My 6 year old requested more onions, so I think I'll do that next time, and since I'm high altitude I added a bit more milk and cooked an extra 5 minutes. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2008

      What's that you say? I don't have to wash an extra pan AND it tastes fabulous?! You're too kind. ;) The boyfriend and I both really liked this. It was a the perfect supporting role to our main dish. I went with the laziness vibe of the microwaves and didn't peel my potatoes or put them in cold water first. I also ended up using a plastic container and just set the lid on without sealing it instead of the plastic wrap and they still turned out great. In addition I tossed some chopped garlic in with the onions b/c I put garlic in everything. Thanks the keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2008

      omg this is so good. Relatively easy to make, and I was amazed at how good it tasted despite only having two main ingrediants. Definitely add the milk, as it prevents drying-up while in the microwave.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2008

      This is a great recipe to use when you cant use your oven. I was roasting two big chickens and was looking to make something different than the regular mashed potatoes. I found these easy to put together although it took a liitle more effort (probably because I just used my knife instead of a fancy gadget.) I doubled the recipe but used two different dishes becuase I didn't know how long to cook them for if I put them all in one. I made one exactly like the recipe and the other I used seasoning salt and cream instead of milk. The seasoning salt definitely helped with the blandness. All in all I would definitely make these again. Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2008

      I liked the easy method of these potatoes, but they came out way too bland for my family. Probably wouldn't make again unless I added a lot more spices. Mine also didn't brown or crisp up like the picture.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2008

      I was very upset to find that one done peeling the potatoes and onions that I did not have a round dish to make this in the small microwave at my mom's. I was determined to make this so I doubled the recipe, covered the dish with foil and baked at 350 for 1 hour. It was a nice change from the regular potato dishes we usually have. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2008

      I gave this 4 stars. My family loved these potatoes. I was looking to make a easy but tasty side dish and boy was this it. My family thought these tasted like fried potatoes. My 5 yr old newphew & 6 yr old niece even ate the onions. I even messed up a bit and I forgot to add the milk for the first 4 minutes of cooking and forgot the butter and these still turned out great. We will have these again for sure. Thanks for posting a great recipe! Christine (internetnut)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2008

      These were great and so easy!! I followed the recipe, although I must admit that I didn't really measure and I 'm sure that I added more butter than called for (a bad habit I have picked up since moving to France!). I have preheated my broiler in anticipation of browning, but I didn't need it. I did use a slicer to cut my potatoes and onions so maybe they turned out brown because they were so thin. My only regret is that I didn't make more! Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2008

      What an easy way to make potatoes! Rather than milk, I just used vegetable broth and Montreal Steak seasoning. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2008

      Followed instructions exactly and they turned out really well. They were cooked to perfection but not as brown as the photo so I took the advice of another reviewer and popped them under the grill to brown the top a little more. I will definately be making these again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2008

      I followed direction as stated. The picture made it look so good but mine were still white on top, so I threw them under the broiler for a little bit to brown them. Everything was tender, it's just they were very bland to me and I had to add more salt afterwards while they were on my plate (a lot more salt). I guess I'm just used to fattening, very flavorful potatoes : (. Maybe better if I added other ingredients to make it more like my scalloped recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2007

      Yummy! Has anyone tried to double this? Will it still work?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2007

      So simple and quick. Made as posted. Not a bad alternative when time is short. Family ate it, no complaints. Would make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2007

      Great recipe. Simple and tasty!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2007

      This was great. Frankly I forget about my microwave and it was really nice to use it while I grilled chicken. I did make a couple of changes after reading the reviews. I used a bit of Montreal Steak Seasoning on the potato layers and grated some parmesan on the dish when it came out of the microwave. Delicious. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2007

      Just made this tonight and my hubby who is extra extra picky loved it too! Easy and yummy, what more could you ask for? :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2007

      New to the kitchen and trying to make a "French" meal in a hurry...I accidently skipped the milk and butter! Amazingly, these still came out great! My guest raved! As mentioned before, they reheat well also! Thank you!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2007

      This was absolutely delicious, and so easy to make! My husbands immediate response was that we'll never make potatoes any other way than this. :) Thanks so much for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2007

      This are so tasty. They are so easy to make. It's going to be nice being able to fix something this easy on a weeknight. Thanks for sharing such an easy and tasty dish Recipewrestler :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2007

      Loved this recipe...i recommend it ot EVERYONE

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for French Potatoes

    Serving Size: 1 (208 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 172.2
     
    Calories from Fat 29
    17%
    Total Fat 3.3 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 2.0 g
    10%
    Cholesterol 8.6 mg
    2%
    Sodium 40.1 mg
    1%
    Total Carbohydrate 32.6 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 4.2 g
    16%
    Sugars 2.5 g
    10%
    Protein 4.0 g
    8%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites