77 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I couldnt believe how wonderful these were. I am not one too cook in the microwave and they sounded too simple to be so good but they were excellent! The potatoes had a really great flavour and they hardly had any fat in them. I would serve them as a side dish for company any day. If anyone wonders I weighed the poatoes and it took 6 medium size.

42 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tara April 17, 2002

Ditto Tara's comments. PaulaT, you're under-rating this recipe by calling it tastey. It's absolutlely scrumptuous! Wish I had company right now so I could show off. Oh well, more for me! Thanks PaulaT. Oh yeah. I did substitute evaporated skim milk just because I had an open can in the fridge

25 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
karen in TN April 20, 2002

"These potatoes are great!!!" was the response I recieved after my husband at his first bite. Its almost embarrasing how easy these potatoes are to make. This is a definite keeper.

20 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tarynne April 23, 2002

This is an excellent & easy side dish! I used Nature's Seasonings by Morton in place of the salt & pepper (but it's basically salt & pepper with a little garlic powder). Otherwise, I changed nothing. This one goes into my "keeper" binder!

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KeyWee June 17, 2002

These were very easy and quick to prepare and left the stove top and oven free for other dishes I was preparing. However, I did think that they were missing something; I'm so used to eating this type of dish in a cream sauce that my taste buds felt a little cheated.I think next time I'll add some garlic and a little cheese. This potato dish is one that I'll use many times over though.

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Carrie Ann September 09, 2002

These were simple and good. I think I might try cooking the onions a little longer, they were kind of crispy. I highly suggest using a metal grater to slice the potatoes and onions. next time I might try adding whipping cream instead of milk.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chelle keithley September 10, 2002

These are great!!So easy with such a lovely taste.I will be making these once a week.Highly recommended.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
evelync June 23, 2002

one evening i decided to "coax" my husband into helping with supper, so i pulled up the category of potatoes and let him have at it. he found this and made it. i was impressed with the way it turned out and the ease of it all. my husband was impressed with himself and i was thrilled with his help!!

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cheryl2texas June 12, 2002

I was very surprised by how flavorful these potatoes were! I expected them to be somewhat bland...not so. They were delicious. I also like this dish because it is made with ingredients that most cooks always have in their kitchen. I'll make this one again!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MizMosa October 01, 2002

Ok maybe it's just my tastes. I was only going to give 2 stars but my mother in law really liked them alot so I gave it another star. She even had another serving which is unheard of. I thought it needed more spices. It was ok but I expected more. I did like the fact it was in the microwave and freed more of the stove. It's different from mashed anyway.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Scott Keith September 16, 2002
French Potatoes