Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / French Potatoes Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    French Potatoes

    Average Rating:

    77 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 77

    Sort by:

    • on April 17, 2002

      I couldnt believe how wonderful these were. I am not one too cook in the microwave and they sounded too simple to be so good but they were excellent! The potatoes had a really great flavour and they hardly had any fat in them. I would serve them as a side dish for company any day. If anyone wonders I weighed the poatoes and it took 6 medium size.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2002

      Ditto Tara's comments. PaulaT, you're under-rating this recipe by calling it tastey. It's absolutlely scrumptuous! Wish I had company right now so I could show off. Oh well, more for me! Thanks PaulaT. Oh yeah. I did substitute evaporated skim milk just because I had an open can in the fridge

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2002

      "These potatoes are great!!!" was the response I recieved after my husband at his first bite. Its almost embarrasing how easy these potatoes are to make. This is a definite keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2002

      This is an excellent & easy side dish! I used Nature's Seasonings by Morton in place of the salt & pepper (but it's basically salt & pepper with a little garlic powder). Otherwise, I changed nothing. This one goes into my "keeper" binder!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2002

      These were very easy and quick to prepare and left the stove top and oven free for other dishes I was preparing. However, I did think that they were missing something; I'm so used to eating this type of dish in a cream sauce that my taste buds felt a little cheated.I think next time I'll add some garlic and a little cheese. This potato dish is one that I'll use many times over though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2002

      These were simple and good. I think I might try cooking the onions a little longer, they were kind of crispy. I highly suggest using a metal grater to slice the potatoes and onions. next time I might try adding whipping cream instead of milk.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2002

      These are great!!So easy with such a lovely taste.I will be making these once a week.Highly recommended.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2002

      one evening i decided to "coax" my husband into helping with supper, so i pulled up the category of potatoes and let him have at it. he found this and made it. i was impressed with the way it turned out and the ease of it all. my husband was impressed with himself and i was thrilled with his help!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2002

      I was very surprised by how flavorful these potatoes were! I expected them to be somewhat bland...not so. They were delicious. I also like this dish because it is made with ingredients that most cooks always have in their kitchen. I'll make this one again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2002

      Ok maybe it's just my tastes. I was only going to give 2 stars but my mother in law really liked them alot so I gave it another star. She even had another serving which is unheard of. I thought it needed more spices. It was ok but I expected more. I did like the fact it was in the microwave and freed more of the stove. It's different from mashed anyway.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2011

      We loved these potatoes! We don't do a lot of microwave cooking. This recipe may change that. We'll be making these again. Thanks for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2011

      Who would have guessed a few ingredients and a microwave would produce a OMG!!! side dish. I used a 11x7 dish, and a madoline for slicing. Cook time was perfect. Served this with Deviled Chicken Thighs and Herb-Roasted Vegetables

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2010

      I had my doubts these were going to taste so good since they seemed so simple with on hand ingredients but they are great!Delicious and I love being able to just put it all in the Microwave.Thank you.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2010

      Simple elegance! I have allergies, and even with my subs it was great. Subs: orig., unsweetened almond milk for cow's milk; soy marg for butter; shallots for onions. I skipped soaking the potatoes in cold water because I was short on time. I used 3-4 French gray shallots from the garden-- amazing, delicate flavor. Chives could also be a good sub. I think it might have exploded a little in the microwave-- opps! LOL.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2010

      This was awesome!!! My only changes were to add cheddar and parmesan between the layers, and broil at the end for 2 minutes to brown. YUMMY!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2010

      I didn't think these would turn out at great as they did. So easy to quickly throw together and ingredients that I always have on hand. This is a keeper at my house.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2010

      This recipe turned out so much better than I expected it to. I wanted something to go with pork tenderloin but didn't want mashed or roasted potatoes - searched zaar and I came upon this recipe. I left out the onions b/c my kids don't really like them, I used 5-6 medium potatoes scrubbed with with the skin on - sliced thin - didn't soak. I layered them in a 2.5 qt round casserole dish that I sprayed with cooking spray. I seasoned each layer with garlic, salt, pepper, onion powder - then on top I added the butter, milk and paprika. I cooked for 15 minutes b/c I wasn't sure if my dish was deeper than the original recipe. I let them stand for probably 20 minutes or so before we actually ate - the kids LOVED them. Will definitely make these easy, delicious potatoes again and again!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2009

      These turned out so good. I cant believe how easy they were in the microwave. I had to cook them four more minutes then called for but that could have been because I had more potatoes then a pound and a half. I will make this again, it saved time and stovetop. Thank you for sharing this.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2009

      These were quite good - I added a little bit of cheese between each layer and more on top. Lovely. Thanks for the recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2003

      Good recipe! Nice to have something you can make in the micro & leave stove and oven free. Not having a double oven, micro dishes sure come in handy! I reheated the leftovers in a skillet with a little olive oil. I added some green pepper & green onion. However you reheat them, they are just as tasty the next day.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for French Potatoes

    Serving Size: 1 (208 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 172.2
     
    Calories from Fat 29
    17%
    Total Fat 3.3 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 2.0 g
    10%
    Cholesterol 8.6 mg
    2%
    Sodium 40.1 mg
    1%
    Total Carbohydrate 32.6 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 4.2 g
    16%
    Sugars 2.5 g
    10%
    Protein 4.0 g
    8%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes