Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / French Onion Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    French Onion Soup

    Average Rating:

    42 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 42

    Sort by:

    • on August 18, 2010

      Good recipe! Next time I may add another onion to the pot, and I increased the amount of pepper. I was surprised at how easy this was and that it came together so quickly.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2010

      This is an EXCELLENT soup! Made it just the way you have it here, then I used Swiss and Asiago cheeses at the end - wow! My husband liked it better than Panera's! This also froze well when I went on an extended trip to Japan and cooked ahead for my husband. He just defrosted it in the microwave, heated it for 2 minutes, added the bread, topped with cheeses and broiled for 2 minutes. This is definitely a keeper! Thank you!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2010

      First time ever making french onion soup. Thank you for such an easy and quick recipe. I used sweet Vidala Onions and did not add the sugar. This soup was a huge hit. My b/f who normally suffers after eating onions, had no problem, perhaps the Vidala Onions, not sure, but Thank You for a Easy and Tasty Recipe!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2013

      A quick and very good onion soup recipe. I made it as directed but needed to add salt and more pepper for our taste. If I did not already have a stellar French Onion Soup recipe I would likely have given this a 5 star rating but my 'standby' recipe has a much more complex taste. In fairness it also takes more than 3 times as long. DH really liked this and I would not hesitate to serve it to company. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2012

      Very good, but I should have cooked the onions longer (maybe as long as 45 minutes instead of 15) and let them get much more caramelized. Next time - I will definitely make this again. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2011

      Delicious! This was my first time making French Onion soup from scratch, but it definitely will not be the last!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2010

      Very good and easy, too. However it did need salt. Thanks for the recipe - it satisfied my craving for French Onion Soup!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2010

      Very easy and delicious. Richer taste than a non alcoholic French onion soup. I will make this again. There was a lot of onions and they were stringy, so I used a stick blender at the end to avoid having to deal with the strings with my spoon. Yummy. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2010

      This was really great. I used a bit more liquid and butter. At the end i stirred in a few more tablespoons of butter to make it creamy. I don't like the texture of the sliced onion and a lot of broth so I used an immersion blender and blended some of it up. It was very very good. I used mozzarella cheese. Thanks for the post.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2010

      This recipe is delicious! I had another go-to recipe for many years, but I think I'm going to retire it and go with this. I made only a few, minor changes. I used margarine instead of butter, 4 sweet onions instead of 3 (cut the recipe in half), and doubled the broth (4 cups total). I also used beef-style vegetable broth (I'm a vegetarian). Even though I used sweet onions, I kept the sugar int he recipe. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2009

      This is so yummy! I have made it several times now! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2009

      Very Good, but I did have to make changes. That is why the 4 stars. I don't cook with wine so I used white grape juice instead. I also used my favorite roll, cut in half for the bread. The cheese I added a provolone slice as well as the slice of swiss and shredded parmesan cheese. I have used white onions as well as vidalia onions. The vidalia onions are sweeter and give it a better taste. The white onions still work and tastes well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2009

      This soup really hit the spot for all of us. Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2009

      Really delicious soup Kirstin! I made this for my lunch and to have leftovers to bring to work, and it was so yummy! I loved the rich flavors with each mouthful. I will be making this often now that I have the recipe! Thanks for sharing!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2008

      Everyone said this was the best onion soup they had ever had...it was really a big hit this weekend! I doubled the recipe to have leftovers and HAD NO LEFTOVERS! Everyone ate it until it was gone! I can't even imagine changing a thing - it can't get any better! Thank you sooooo much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2008

      With autumn and colder weather upon us this is a PERFECT comfort food for those cozy nights at home. Easy to follow recipe and very delicious. Thank you for a new "family" tradition recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2008

      Very good -- smell was yummy and it tasted great. I will add another 1-2 onions next time to make it a bit thicker. Other than that it was perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2008

      Very, Very good! I have never had homemade french onion soup this delicious. Thank you for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2008

      Thanks Kirstin. I tried your recipe and voila! it was a hit. My family and I loved. So easy to make. Thanks again. Bonnie ps...hope your sailing in the South Pacific by now. I love Oregon. Go once a year to visit family. Right now I'm stuck in Texas! UGH

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2008

      5 stars for ease of preparation and 5 stars for the taste! I made a double batch of this last night( I cooked the 2 batches of onions separately, so they would carmelize well)and used the Texas 1015 onion, which is a sweet onion. With the added sugar, the soup was a little on the sweet side,but still delish, so I'll leave the sugar out if I use the 1015 next time. I also added 2 bay leaves and about 1/2 teaspoon of dried thyme to the soup as it simmered.Really delicious- hubby had 2 bowlfuls and was delighted to have leftovers for lunch today! Thanks for posting this, Kirsten- it's a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for French Onion Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (397 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 427.8
     
    Calories from Fat 190
    44%
    Total Fat 21.1 g
    32%
    Saturated Fat 13.0 g
    65%
    Cholesterol 60.7 mg
    20%
    Sodium 1029.8 mg
    42%
    Total Carbohydrate 33.4 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 2.7 g
    10%
    Sugars 7.1 g
    28%
    Protein 19.9 g
    39%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites