Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / French Onion Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    French Onion Soup

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on February 09, 2009

      This was delicious! It does take FOREVER to caramelize five pounds of onions, but it was worth the wait. I used the better than bullion stuff but I didn't heat it separately and then add it to the onions because I didn't want to dirty another big pot. I just added to bullion to the onions when they were ready and poured in 10 cups of boiling water. The soup was really rich and I can't imagine it would have tasted any better if I had cooked the stock separately.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2011

      Awesome Recipe!!!! I loved it and so did my kids!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2008

      I will have to make this again, only and let it cook longer. I didn't want my onions to be mush, and I was soooo hungry so I only cooked it 20 minutes after adding the wine and worceshershire sauce. I didn't like the flavor of the W sauce. I will try again and try to be more patient.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2006

      Better than any french onion soup I've had before. Great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2006

      MY DH doesn't know how to cook (other than frozen pizza, pasta or tacos). This was his 1st meal that he made. If he can can make it, anyone can. It was easy and OH MY, it was delicious. He is making it again this week and will be enjoying it all over again. Thanks for a GREAT recipe! EDIT - we made it again and this time I went shopping for the broth. Apparently, the size can I bought had more oz. than the cans my DH bought last week (based on the amount of liquid from both batches). You may want to add the size can to your recipe. This 2nd batch wasn't good at all. My DH thinks the size he used were 10 oz. cans. The one I had were 14 oz. cans. I'm still giving this 5 stars b/c the 1st batch was awesome!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2006

      I made this soup recently, and it was delicious! It had a less salty taste than the restaurant variety. I modified this recipe to cook in the pressure cooker after I browned the onions (be sure to drain the liquid or it's too strong). After adding wine, water and the soup bases, it only took 6 minutes in the pressure cooker (at high pressure) instead of an hour and a half.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2005

    • on January 11, 2004

      I am abandoning my own recipe of French Onion soup in favor of yours, Box O Wine! I made this and froze most of it--the rest we ate for dinner. Really terrific balance of flavors in this--the wine makes a big difference as does the worcestershire sauce. Thanks so much for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for French Onion Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (2965 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 152.0
     
    Calories from Fat 61
    40%
    Total Fat 6.8 g
    10%
    Saturated Fat 4.2 g
    21%
    Cholesterol 17.4 mg
    5%
    Sodium 128.2 mg
    5%
    Total Carbohydrate 16.1 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 2.7 g
    11%
    Sugars 7.2 g
    29%
    Protein 2.0 g
    4%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes