Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / French Onion Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    French Onion Soup

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on November 10, 2003

      This was my first time straying away from my original recipe. I am glad I did! I served it to my wife for a special meal it was a hit. Our hats go off to you for the great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2003

      This was very good. It cooked away and thickened, so it gave us 2 generous serves in deep bowls. I love French onion Soup, but often Russell complains it's too sweet-no complaints today. Loved the thyme in it too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2004

      I thought this was delicious. With the herbs, the taste is slightly different from the usual versions I have tried, however this was very pleasant. Next time I might try using fresh herbs, but the dried were fine. It does seem to disappear as it simmers, even when placed over a rather low flame, but I was still able to get 4 ample servings.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2003

      Bonnie: As is, this recipe is a treat for the taste buds and worth making again. I found that it was difficult to squeeze 4-6 servings from the recipe but managed to get 3 very generous portions (size of soup bowls may make the difference). The only thing different I would do differently is increase the amount of liquid. UMMMMM!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2003

      My wife and I are big fans of French Onion Soup. This recipe was simple to make and came out beautifully. If you want to save some time and calories and not lose flavor, put the onions in a microwave safe container and spray with butter flavor cooking spray. Microwave on high for about 5 minutes to soften the onions.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2011

      Great French onion soup. I only used 1/2 c. wine and DH commented that it was sweet. I was helping DH and it simmered longer that called for so not sure if that made it sweeter or not. I thought it was great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2010

      I like this recipe, but it calls for perhaps a bit too much wine. The wine flavor seemed quite strong, almost overpowering (I used a nice Chateau Ste. Michelle chardonnay). I would use this recipe again and just cut back the wine to maybe half the amount called for in the recipe.

      Edit to add: This soup was excellent the next day! The strong wine flavor definitely mellowed and all the flavors really came together nicely. Thumbs up!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2010

      DH and Iiked this soup. Because it is not French Onion like we are used to, the kids did not like it. I think it was because of the wine and chicken stock.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2009

      The first time i have ever cooked onion soup and my family loved it and they keep asking for it:) THANK YOU, CountryLady!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2009

      Not a big onion soup fan, but tried this on a whim. Surprisingly good. The fresh toasted bread and mozzarella cheese makes it. Next time I'd only use 1/2 a teaspoon of sugar, and perhaps not quite so many onions.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2009

      Great recipe, thanks for sharing it. I didnt have any bowls that I could use, so I just toasted the cheese on the bread and then floated them into the soups. Delish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2009

      Excellent! The only thing I did not care for about French Onion soup was that by serving it in the crock dish, it left the soup so hot that it would take for ever for it to cool down! Lately, I have noticed that restaurants have been serving this soup in a bowl with a cheese baguette floating on top, so I decided to do the same! I used a small baguette, topped it with Gruyere cheese...grilled it under the broil, then placed 3 toast on the soup. The fresh thyme is a must....it makes the flavour. I served it with a bit of fresh parmesan grated over the bowl. I did a mix of onion....regular yellow onion, sweet Italian, shallots and green onions. This was rich and satisfying. I would definately do this one again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2009

      This was awesome! As good as I've ever had in some very fine restaurants and so easy to make. I used all beef broth, instead of 2 beef and 1 chicken. I also substituted a good dry sherry for the white wine. I think the beef broth and the sherry added richness. I put some shredded parmesan (not the canned stuff) on the french bread slices before toasting. Didn't have cognac, but I don't think the soup missed it. I didn't have individual crocks, so I made it in a casserole. Came out just fine. I used grueyer cheese on top, baked it for a while until cheese was melted, then broiled until bubbly. That first spoonful was a "roll your eyes heavenward and sigh contentedly" moment! ENJOY!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2007

      I made a few times, once with Merlot and then with a sweeter white wine and liked it both ways, didn't add cognac, also used gruyre cheese once and swiss the next with parmesan. I'm making again in a few days. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2006

      This soup was wonderful. It tasted exactly like one of our local resturants version of French Onion Soup. I can't wait to make this for company!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2006

      This was soooo good. I made it exactly as the recipe stated and I can't wait to make it again. I was so rich and comforting. Thanks for the great recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2006

      I picked this recipe cause I am from Montreal. This was easy to prepare and very tasty.It's a soup that I will prepare more often as my husband never had it before. He really loved the subtle flavours. I didnt add the white wine as I had none in the house.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for French Onion Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (361 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 207.2
     
    Calories from Fat 86
    41%
    Total Fat 9.6 g
    14%
    Saturated Fat 2.1 g
    10%
    Cholesterol 1.8 mg
    0%
    Sodium 680.5 mg
    28%
    Total Carbohydrate 15.7 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 1.6 g
    6%
    Sugars 5.8 g
    23%
    Protein 4.5 g
    9%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes