17 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was my first time straying away from my original recipe. I am glad I did! I served it to my wife for a special meal it was a hit. Our hats go off to you for the great recipe.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shawn J Shepherd November 10, 2003

This was very good. It cooked away and thickened, so it gave us 2 generous serves in deep bowls. I love French onion Soup, but often Russell complains it's too sweet-no complaints today. Loved the thyme in it too.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JustJanS July 19, 2003

I thought this was delicious. With the herbs, the taste is slightly different from the usual versions I have tried, however this was very pleasant. Next time I might try using fresh herbs, but the dried were fine. It does seem to disappear as it simmers, even when placed over a rather low flame, but I was still able to get 4 ample servings.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HeatherFeather March 13, 2004

Bonnie: As is, this recipe is a treat for the taste buds and worth making again. I found that it was difficult to squeeze 4-6 servings from the recipe but managed to get 3 very generous portions (size of soup bowls may make the difference). The only thing different I would do differently is increase the amount of liquid. UMMMMM!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BonnieCanada November 14, 2003

My wife and I are big fans of French Onion Soup. This recipe was simple to make and came out beautifully. If you want to save some time and calories and not lose flavor, put the onions in a microwave safe container and spray with butter flavor cooking spray. Microwave on high for about 5 minutes to soften the onions.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gadgetman0404 September 08, 2003

Great French onion soup. I only used 1/2 c. wine and DH commented that it was sweet. I was helping DH and it simmered longer that called for so not sure if that made it sweeter or not. I thought it was great.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
adopt a greyhound November 24, 2011

I like this recipe, but it calls for perhaps a bit too much wine. The wine flavor seemed quite strong, almost overpowering (I used a nice Chateau Ste. Michelle chardonnay). I would use this recipe again and just cut back the wine to maybe half the amount called for in the recipe.

Edit to add: This soup was excellent the next day! The strong wine flavor definitely mellowed and all the flavors really came together nicely. Thumbs up!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
wj1 November 05, 2010

DH and Iiked this soup. Because it is not French Onion like we are used to, the kids did not like it. I think it was because of the wine and chicken stock.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Scrivener1 January 25, 2010

The first time i have ever cooked onion soup and my family loved it and they keep asking for it:) THANK YOU, CountryLady!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Giga December 09, 2009

Not a big onion soup fan, but tried this on a whim. Surprisingly good. The fresh toasted bread and mozzarella cheese makes it. Next time I'd only use 1/2 a teaspoon of sugar, and perhaps not quite so many onions.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ulysses December 02, 2009
French Onion Soup