Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / French Onion Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    French Onion Soup

    Average Rating:

    155 Total Reviews

    Showing 141-155 of 155

    Sort by:

    • on February 22, 2005

      Amazing flavor and its too easy! I scaled down the recipe for two servings and I didn't use as much onion. I like mine with lots of broth! I am impressed with this recipe I used lactose free cheese and followed the rest of the recipe as written. I had no idea there would be sugar in an onion soup recipe, or that it would be this easy to make. Great for my cold too! It was great, I'll be making again and again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2005

      For some reason, I'd always thought French onion soup was hard to make. This was really easy and got raves! Like several other reviewers, I had to cook the onions about 45 min. to get them caramelized well. I also took the suggestions on adding fresh thyme and white wine and rubbing the bread with garlic. It seemed a tiny bit too sweet to me (you might want to taste your onions before adding sugar since they vary so much), but after I added salt and pepper, everyone else thought it was perfect. Thanks for an excellent recipe, MizzNezz!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2005

      Wow, this was excellent! I was looking for an easy heartier soup recipe to accompany a small meal...I forgot to add the sugar but it still came out yummy! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2005

      Thank you thank you, I topped off with mushrooms and gorgonzola cheese (low carb).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2004

      We very much enjoyed this lovely, homemade soup! I have a french onion soup that I make that is very similar to this; however, this one is a bit faster and easier to make. I made a few minor changes, based on adding some of the ingrediants from my other soup recipe...I added 1/2 tsp mustard seeds and 1/2 tsp celery salt (you could also use celery seeds) to the onions, while they were carmalizing. I also added 1 1/2 tbs worchestier sauce to the soup, and would also probably add about 1/4 cup red cooking wine next time (I did not have any on hand this time), to liven up the flavor a bit. A great way to turn this into a lower-carb soup is to use a large slice of Portebella Mushroom instead of the bread, and then place a slice of cheese on top of the mushroom slice. These changes are based on personal preference only; however, this soup would also be wonderful cooked, just as written. There is nothing like a good bowl of homemade french onion soup! :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2004

      PERFECT! This was so easy to make as well. Anytime I get this while out to eat my husband hates it. But when I made it.....he loved it! (or at least he said he did...hum?) GREAT GREAT GREAT! FYI - This recipe only made two bowls for me. But they were good sized bowls.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2004

      I really enjoyed this soup, the recipe was easy, I made it exactly as directed, except I used a mixture of cheeses on top. My husband usually doesn't like French onion soup, he complains it's too salty. He really loved this soup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2004

      I halfed this recipe and it made exactly enough for 2 french onion soup bowls. This soup is delicious! I toasted some extra pieces of french bread to dip in the soup. I will be making this again soon, thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2004

      This was an easy and wonderful soup. I ended up cooking the onions for about 45 minutes and added about a half of a can of tomato sauce (3 oz.) because I believe that is how a place around here makes their soup and I really enjoy it. I also ended up using about 3/4 tsp. salt, but I may not next time since I have a cold and my tastebuds are a little dull! I will be making this recipe again! Thanks MizzNezz

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2004

      I thought this recipe was very easy to make. I used a little more onion because I like it a little meatier! Will use this recipe everytime!!! Thanks so much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2004

      I can't say enough about this soup! My husband gets so hungry for this, that I make huge bowls of it, covered with sourdough bread and sliced swiss and we eat it as they main course! It's a grand lunch soup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2004

      This was so easy and made a delicious soup for our dinner. Of course, I fiddled with the recipe a bit - can't help myself! There were only two of us, so I used 6 small onions and 2 cartons, (3 cups) of beef stock. Instead of vegetable oil I substituted a good extra virgin olive oil but found I still needed the whole 1/4 cup of it. I also added 1/4 teaspoon salt as I found the soup a little sweet and 1/4 teaspoon dried thyme. Towards the end of the cooking time I added 2 tablespoons brandy. I cooked the onions on a very low heat so as not to burn them, so it took about 1/2 hour for them to caramelise. I made melba toast by dipping crustless bread triangles in some olive oil and baking them at 180C until golden brown. I topped these with grated parmesan. Didn't have heatproof bowls, so I melted the parmesan by finishing the soup for 40 seconds per bowl in the microwave. The soup took about an hour to make all up and made two generous, main course, servings. Next time I might also add 1/4 cup of dry white wine - but really, the recipe is wonderful as is.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2004

      I have made this soup about 8 times. Very good,just forgot to rate it.A keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2004

      didnt try it, however this recipe isnt kosher, unless one omitts the chees or uses parve meet flavored broth

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2004

    1... 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for French Onion Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (492 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 443.9
     
    Calories from Fat 173
    39%
    Total Fat 19.2 g
    29%
    Saturated Fat 4.8 g
    24%
    Cholesterol 12.4 mg
    4%
    Sodium 1253.4 mg
    52%
    Total Carbohydrate 53.5 g
    17%
    Dietary Fiber 4.2 g
    17%
    Sugars 10.1 g
    40%
    Protein 15.6 g
    31%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites