Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / French Onion Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    French Onion Soup

    Average Rating:

    155 Total Reviews

    Showing 81-100 of 155

    Sort by:

    • on December 26, 2008

      I made this on Christmas day and it was the first time I had made French Onion Soup. The recipe was very easy, but I do agree with previous reviews about it being on the sweet side. I did use the sweet onions and probably should have skipped adding the sugar. I may play around with different kinds of onions and I like the idea of adding some wine to it also. I also made the bread to top the soup with: recipe 95086. That was great also. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2008

      I have to say this is a delicious soup. I have never made or had it before and thought this was great! I did the onions and french bread a day ahead and then just simmered the broth and onions. Topped with bread and cheese and broiled. DH said it was just as good as what he has had in restaraunts.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2008

      This the first time I've had french onion soup and I was very impressed. I used olive oil and butter instead of vegetable oil for more flavor. Also added some fresh parsley and rosemary since it was handy. These really deepened the beef broth. Will make again on the next cold, snowy day.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2008

      WOW I didnt' think a recipe could be so easy. This is super duper yummy and quick.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2008

      Awesome, can't rave enough about this soup! Followed the directions, and it came out perfectly. Will definitely make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2008

      This was a very tasty soup. Quick and easy. Will make again soon. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2008

      Fabulous, toasted the bread and melted the cheese on top an then ladled the soup straight over the top. Used a heavy bread (Durrum or Ciabatta).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2008

      Very good french onion soup recipe! French onion is my husband's favorite soup and he asks for it often. I had only made it in the crockpot before and this way is much easier, and I believe it tastes much better too. Very simple to make and very flavorful. This recipe is a keeper in my house!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2008

      I used butter instead of oil and this is my favorite soup recipe now. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2008

      Made this as a treat for my DH and he absolutely loved it. I didn't have the french bread or swiss so I used what I had and hand. Using wheat bread and marble cheddar cheese it still turned out great. I will be making this again for sure.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2008

      YUM!! I cranked the heat above medium to caramelize the onions in about 20 minutes. I had about three cups of onions, and it felt like too much - I'll probably use 2 cups next time. I used store bought croutons in place of the French bread and a slice of Swiss as opposed to shredded. It was awesome as is, but it might be cool to try red wine like some have mentioned. Thanks for a repeat recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2008

      Absolutely delicious! I added a 1/4 cup of red wine as suggested by others & a pinch of dried thyme. I cooked the onions over med-low heat in butter (instead of oil) for about 30 mins & they looked done but were still a bit crunchy so next time I will cook them for longer - and there definitely will be a next time!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2008

      I got the big approval from the BF who is in love with restaurant french onion soup. I added 1/4 cup red wine (gave it a nice flavor!) and also about a tablespoon of Worcestershire. Used provolone instead of Swiss. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2008

      So good!! Not exactly like you'd get in the restaurant, but VERY close.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2008

      This was so rich and delicious. Such a nice hearty meal in itself. My husband and I enjoyed it very much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2008

      I added a few tweaks to it - I put in some flour to make it thicker, put in some water, increased the sugar substantially, and threw in there some bits and pieces of leftover ham and chicken. The outcome was fantastic! Because of all the sugar it was really sweet and you could really taste the onions and beef. Marvellous!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2008

      My boyfriend and I totally loved it. We are vegetarian , so I replaced the beef broth for veggie and added a dash of tamari and it was still very delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2008

      I really liked this recipe. In the future I might reduce the vegetable oil a little bit. Also, I liked it a lot better with low sodium beef broth so that it is less salty.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2008

      Oh my gosh, this recipe was incredible...I have never made onion soup before, but was not disappointed in this recipe...I used croutons in place of French bread, only for convenience...will definitely make this again... thanks for sharing your recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2008

      We enjoyed this very much. I love French Onion Soup!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for French Onion Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (492 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 443.9
     
    Calories from Fat 173
    39%
    Total Fat 19.2 g
    29%
    Saturated Fat 4.8 g
    24%
    Cholesterol 12.4 mg
    4%
    Sodium 1253.4 mg
    52%
    Total Carbohydrate 53.5 g
    17%
    Dietary Fiber 4.2 g
    17%
    Sugars 10.1 g
    40%
    Protein 15.6 g
    31%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes