Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / French Onion Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    French Onion Soup

    Average Rating:

    155 Total Reviews

    Showing 61-80 of 155

    Sort by:

    • on January 23, 2010

      My entire family loved this, even my two and a half year old (who is very picky)! I paired little bowls of it with Croque Monsieur sandwiches (The Classic French Bistro Sandwich - Croque Monsieur) to rave reviews. I made it exactly per directions, except for adding it a bit of herbes de provence and it was delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2010

      This french onion soup was amazing and I got rave reviews. I used 3 parts beef broth and one part beef stock and it really upped the flavor. Make sure to splurge and get a good quality cheese. I used a blend of gruyere and mozzerella and it was amazing. Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2009

      Delicious, quick, and easy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2009

      simply amazing... Ive made this a few times and it's always a hit. Alittle red wine or a little beer is a good addition. But, great recipe...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2009

      Absolutely amazing! I put more onions and butter instead of oil and it came out wonderfully rich and full of flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2009

      The real deal! Didn't change a thing and doubled the recipe. Very easy to prep too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2009

      soooooooooo tasty. I added about a two teaspoons of paprika, and used mozzarella. Easy recipe. Keeper, for sure.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2009

      Pretty good base soup. I added some sherry and Worcestershire. After i tasted of course. Thank you so much:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2009

      Super easy and tasty too! To keep it restaurant style, I used mozzarella cheese and added about 2 oz. dry sherry. Beautiful! Thanks for a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2009

      Very good and easy too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2009

      I had never had French Onion Soup before and this was my first. It was delicious! This recipe is foolproof and tastes wonderful.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2009

      I finally posted a review - we make this soup at least once a month! It is a simply delicious soup that is easy to make. I substitute Gruyere for the Swiss, other than that I always stick to the recipe. Hubby says it's better than any he's had in a restaurant!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2009

      this soup is very good easy to make good flavor next time i wont add and sugar the only thing i did differnt was to add 2 teaspoons of good seasons italian salad dressing mix this give it the zang needed to make this the best french onion soup i ever made thank you for sharing this tasty treat of a soup

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2009

      This soup was not what I have had before. It has too much sugar, and seemed to lack any zing. Also the swiss cheese is not the correct cheese for this soup. You need mozzerella, or Guyre.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2009

    • on February 26, 2009

      Having been sick for 2 weeks I was craving french onion soup. I wanted an easy recipe and picked this one. Oh My Goodenss it's absolutely wonderful! I made it when I got home from work and it's sitting on the stove waiting until I get the little one to bed so I can relax and enjoy, If there's any left since I keep having a taste every time I walk by. This may become my regular meal when my hubby is at the fire station. Thank you so much for sharing this wonderful recipe. I can't believe it tastes so wonderful and was so simple to make. Thank you Thank you - Outstanding!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2009

      French Onion Soup is my boyfriends favorite and I made it for our Valentines dinner. This recipe is wonderful, the flavor incredible and it's actually very easy to make. We'll make it again and again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2009

      I wanted some soup and this was awesome! I topped with my own blend of Asiago, Parmesan and Mozzarella cheese. We all give it a high five! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2009

      LOVED this soup! I used provolone instead of swiss. Can't wait to make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2009

      This was really good. Very easy to make and makes a nice presentation. I used butter instead of oil and added some red wine and worcheshire sauce. I made this as part of our Christmas Eve feast.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for French Onion Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (492 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 443.9
     
    Calories from Fat 173
    39%
    Total Fat 19.2 g
    29%
    Saturated Fat 4.8 g
    24%
    Cholesterol 12.4 mg
    4%
    Sodium 1253.4 mg
    52%
    Total Carbohydrate 53.5 g
    17%
    Dietary Fiber 4.2 g
    17%
    Sugars 10.1 g
    40%
    Protein 15.6 g
    31%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites