Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / French Onion Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    French Onion Soup

    Average Rating:

    155 Total Reviews

    Showing 41-60 of 155

    Sort by:

    • I liked this recipe as it was very simple. Thanks'

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2011

      Very simple recipe. I added Worcestershire sauce and Thyme to suit my own tastes. Will make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2011

      Wonderful Recipe! This was quick and easy and absolutely delicious! Wouldn't change a thing, although I used Parmesean myself, Swiss for my hubby. You can count on MizzNezz! Thanks for all your great recipes!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2011

      My DS loves French Onion Soup so I was looking for a good one to make. This one looked good, so I let him make it. Wow, it's excellent!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2011

      So so so good!! I have made much harder French Onion soup recipes and this one is at the top of my list. So easy and so very good!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2011

      I cannot say enough about this fabulous soup! I printed the recipe and had every intention of making it then got busy so I asked my non cooking husband to throw this together. All I can say is WOW! Even the inexperienced cook can get a standing ovation for this one! I had 2 big bowls for dinner and took the leftover bowl for my lunch...and wanted to lick that clean! Will make this one again and again....thanks for a real keeper !

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2011

      I love this soup! It is very filling, so use small bowls. The kids don't enjoy onions and worried down the cheese and bread, but I enjoyed it thoroughly! I added the butter and olive oil suggestion, the Worcestershire and red wine suggestion, and the many kinds of cheeses-provolone, swiss, and sharp cheddar. Thanks MizzNezz!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2010

      eating a bowl now. So yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2010

      My boyfriend really likes French Onion Soup, and this is my first time making it. At first, I halved the recipe without any edits. When I made more, for leftovers, I used about 2/3 the amount of onions and added a splash of red wine and paprika. The wine gave it depth and the paprika gave it a little more complexity. Very good, easy, and cheap.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2010

      Excellent and so easy. Used muenster cheese and sourdough bread, what I had on hand. Never had any this good in a restaurant. Thanks for a great tasting, simple to make recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2010

      Excellent! My dh loves this soup, so this was the first time I attempted it at home and couldn't believe how easy it was. We all enjoyed it, thanks so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2010

      I made a version of this and it was delicious. We are gluten free so I left off the bread, yes I know not traditional and added white Basmati rice while simmering. I also used the cheese I had on hand which was haloomi. For the broth I used Beef Broth. I would make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2010

      MizzNezz: This is WONDERFUL! Even though this recipe is relative quick, the broth still had that wonderful blend of savory with a hint of sweet. I did modify the recipe slightly... I added some leftover sliced beef tips to add some extra depth to the broth (and to help clear out my freezer!). Thank you so much for sharing this recipe - we really enjoyed it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2010

      Incredible! My fiancee made this and I nearly died of delicious. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2010

      Yes Excellet. I would double this since it does simmer down. Did not have french bread, so used croutons in a pinch, still excellent. Try it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2010

      Good stuff

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2010

      Neither I nor my wife liked this soup. This is the first time I have ever made or tasted onion soup so there may not be a problem with the recipe but instead I may just not be a fan of onion soup. My wife thought it was bitter and I thought it had almost no taste. I also wasn't a fan of the Swiss cheese. Of course, I think something is wrong when you have to add cheese on top of a soup in order to find it tasty.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2010

      awesome! my first time making this soup. I'm about to go have some leftovers for lunch. I used Kittencal's Rich Homemade Beef Stock (Crock-Pot or Stove Top) for the stock

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2010

      I served this for our Valentines Day Dinner. I used my homemade stock and a mixture of swiss and mozzerella cheese. We loved this, I will use this again. Thank you for sharing this yummy and easy recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2010

      This was very good. I did add 1/4 cup of Sherry cooking wine. We don't like swis, so we used mozzarella. We had some fresh made chile chedder bread and it was AMAZING! It really cut the sweetness and had a nice hard crust.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for French Onion Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (492 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 443.9
     
    Calories from Fat 173
    39%
    Total Fat 19.2 g
    29%
    Saturated Fat 4.8 g
    24%
    Cholesterol 12.4 mg
    4%
    Sodium 1253.4 mg
    52%
    Total Carbohydrate 53.5 g
    17%
    Dietary Fiber 4.2 g
    17%
    Sugars 10.1 g
    40%
    Protein 15.6 g
    31%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes