Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / French Onion Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    French Onion Soup

    Average Rating:

    155 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 155

    Sort by:

    • on February 16, 2008

      Just finished having this for dinner, in a word: Terrific! Easy to prepare, my mandolin made quick work of the onions so cooking this soup was a breeze. This recipe is a keeper!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2006

      Made this for my husband and myself for a special New Year Eve supper. It was our first attempt at French Onion soup and this has been filed for future use. It was way better then any I have had at a restaurant. The only thing I would do different was not fill the soup bowls so full, they bubbled over in the stove with the bread and cheese. My husband finished his down to the last drop and I have never known him to order it but would always taste mine. Oh and I used a 1/2 and 1/2 combo of extra virgin olive oil and butter. This is so simple and easy to make, expecially for someone who has never tried to make it before. Thanks MizzNeszz for an awesome first course.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2003

      It was very very delicious. My husband said it is a really treat. I satuued onions about 40 minutes/ It had better flavour.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2003

      After browsing though just about every french onion soup recipe on RecipeZaar, I chose this one...and GOOD CHOICE, if I do say so myself! I caramelized the onions in butter rather than vegetable oil, hoping for maybe a little more 'authentique francais' flavor. Also added some dried organic thyme as suggested in some of the other french onion soups I saw. It was SO GOOD! And easy! Better than any French onion soup I've had in a restaurant by far- perfect flavor. We used an EXTREMELY hard (I hurt my teeth trying to bite a piece off) couple day old baguette and shredded swiss cheese! WONDERFUL MEAL! Thanks so much for posting! I'll be making this again and again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2013

      It is easy. and not at all what I would call French Onion soup. It lacks the deep rich flavors of French Onion Soup that has all the needed ingredients. I swear people on this site give far too much credit to recipes just because they are easy to make. In my book, "easy to make" usually translates to " Not full flavored, but edible". I guess if you want French Onion Soup Lite, this might be a higher star recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2013

      Terrific soup! I used red and yellow onions in mine. I also used 4 beef bouillion cubes and fresh mozzarella cheese. I will definitely make this often. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2013

      I found this version rather dull. I caramelized the onions for 40 minutes, per Julia child, and simmered for 40 mn. Still, not much flavor development. If I had followed the directions to the letter it may have been better!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2013

      I used 2 cups of onions to 4 cups of beef broth. (4 cups of onions seems like onion overload). I used ceasar crutons instead of the french bread since thats what I have on hand. Also, I prefer using sliced mozzarella instead of swiss. Overall very delicious & easy to make. Very filling.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2012

      I loved this onion soup! Very easy to make and so good. I added a little salt, some Worcestire sauce and red wine, and then used Gruyere cheese.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2012

      Excellent! It took longer than 45 minutes, but was super easy. I'll DEFINITELY be making this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2012

      We love carmalized onions so made those. I deglazed with a dry red wine, added vegan veggie stock and a cube of "not bullion" until I had about six cups. I also added Hungarian paprika, Greek seasoning, bay leaf, roasted garlic, and juice of one lemon. I simmered for 40 minutes and let sit in the fridge overnight to meld favors. These steps make this easy soup stupendous and worth the extra work. It is now both kosher and vegan.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2012

      A quick, simple, and very delicious French onion soup. My family loves it every time I make it. Thank you for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2012

      5 stars is not enough for this recipe. It was fantastic. I used four varieties of onions (yellow, white, red and vidalla) and used a 1/2 cup of unsalted butter instead of the oil. I cooked the onions on med-low heat until carmalized. about 45 minutes. I also added a little Worchester sauce. Followed the recipe from that point forward. The end results were wonderful. The broth was rich with a good onion flavor and a hint of sweetness.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2012

      Love Love Love this recipe!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2011

    • on November 14, 2011

      It was a good soup for being an easy soup recipe. I would like to find a soup recipe with more WOW! though. I would like a more flavorful broth. Not bad though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2011

      I love French Onion, so I have been looking for a quick and easy but good. This fits the bill, followed the recipe as stated.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2011

      This is a very simple and easy recipe. I'm not sure about the sugar? We added a little sherry and and it definitely helped.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2011

      So easy to make this! I added a splash of balsamic vinegar to the onions when they were finished sautee-ing to give it the taste as if it had wine. I make this in triple batches since my boyfriend can't get enough! Even then it still only lasts about a day and a half! Thanks for this great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2011

      This was my first time making a french onion soup and Im hooked this was so delicous! I seasoned my croutons with italian seasoning to match up with the 'Soft Italian Breadsticks (Abm)' recipe I made on the side. I did have to add a few ingrediants in to jazz it up a little. I added a little worchester sauce as another foodie mentioned, I was going to add some thyme in too but forgot to grab some at the shops beacuse the goats ate all our homegrown herbs, so I added in a bit of dried oregano. Threw in alot of Salt and Pepper and some extra beef stock powder. Just amazing, a hit all round. Also note that this is very filling and If I had of realised I wouldnt have made an awesome 'Chocolate hot cross bun and butter pudding' haha TY MizzNezz

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for French Onion Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (492 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 443.9
     
    Calories from Fat 173
    39%
    Total Fat 19.2 g
    29%
    Saturated Fat 4.8 g
    24%
    Cholesterol 12.4 mg
    4%
    Sodium 1253.4 mg
    52%
    Total Carbohydrate 53.5 g
    17%
    Dietary Fiber 4.2 g
    17%
    Sugars 10.1 g
    40%
    Protein 15.6 g
    31%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes