155 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Halved the recipe and used butter instead of oil, thats the way my mama did it :)
Great recipe! Tastes just like I remember from my childhood. Served with toasted french bread smothered in pepper jack and cheddar.
Thanks for a keeper MizzNezz
Even my boyfriend loved it and I am not sure he's an onion guy :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sapowell October 18, 2010

X-tra good recipe, easy to put together, and makes a delightful presentation. I followed this exactly, and enjoyed this immensely. I used a Malian sweet onion and feel like the sugar was not needed at all (was a bit sweet with the sugar). And since I used my homemade broth, I added 1/8 teaspoon salt, to bring out the richness of the broth and onion. With these slight changes, I know this is a 5-star and would probably go without the sugar and add some butter instead of oil next time. Great recipe, and I thank you so much for posting! Will make again. March 2010

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Andi of Longmeadow Farm March 15, 2010

I felt that the recipe as written turned out to be a little blah for my taste. I followed the recipe exactly but when I tasted it without the cheese and bread I wasn't impressed. Added bay leaf, paprika, celery salt, white wine and a little flour (dissolved in broth before adding). I love french onion soup and after I tweaked it this was very yummy but I wouldn't recommend it as is.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jfoxe March 05, 2010

Great Recipe. I like this one better than a different one I used which called for white wine. It's cheaper, and tastes just as great, if not better. I did add 6 cups of broth instead of 4 though, since there are plenty of onions to make more. Topped with the bread and cheese, this recipes tastes BETTER than the stuff you get in restaurants sometimes...

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Devonshire with a Twist November 01, 2009

This was pretty good. I only added 1/2 tsp. of sugar after reading other reviews that mentioned it was too sweet....I agree with them...next time I will leave it out. Otherwise great recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Quiltingqueen May 27, 2009

I have to say this is the best French Onion Soup I have ever had! The flavors are so yummy! I did use an Asiago, Parmesan, Fontina mix of cheese over the top and it really added to the overall flavor and made it outstanding! This one is heading to my all time favorite soup and chowders folder to be made many more times during the long cold winters here!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
annchase60 March 05, 2009

Tried this tonight. It was wonderful. I topped mine with an extra sharp cheddar anda dded a clove of garlic after the onions were browned some. Will defiently make again! :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
StickyBunz February 07, 2009

Awesome, I used regular onions (4093) and Swanson Broth.For the cheese I used mozzarella and the bread a sour batard. I will be adding this soup to my XMAS eve menu. I will double the recipe next time as I did not have enough for 4 servings. My soup bowls are a little big (16 oz) and I only got two bowls from this recipe. Thanks Nezz

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Goodieman November 27, 2008

This recipe is great- so simple, and made with ingredients you probably have laying around the house. Instead of 1/4 tablespoon of sugar, I used 1/4 teaspoon plus an extra pinch. Also, I used store-bought garlic bread slices instead of french bread for added flavor. It was delicious!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rtoto November 11, 2008

5! Yes! Oh, this was delicious. My fiance and I had tried a chicken recipe today and we both felt sick afterward, literally. We were still hungry since we dumped the chicken in the trash so I made this and I am so glad I did! I had 4 green onions that were starting to shrivel so I chopped them up and threw those in. I took a cue from the poster before me and added the red wine and Worcestershire and olive oil. Thanks for posting :D I'll make this again!!! (and again, and again!)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ThatSouthernBelle October 16, 2008
French Onion Soup