Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / French Onion Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    French Onion Soup

    Average Rating:

    155 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 155

    Sort by:

    • on April 10, 2003

      A simple, quick, and tasty version of French Onion Soup. I've been searching for an easy version of this soup, and this recipe fit the bill. I used a mix of white and yellow onions and sprinkled Gruyere cheese on top of the french bread. Excellent!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2012

      This is at best ok as a lazy way to make the soup.
      Sorry but if you have to add sugar to the onions you truly don't know how to make it. The sweetness comes from the sugars in properly caramelized, well browned, but not burned, onions. The process takes longer over medium heat with lots of stirring and some attention (the darker you can get the onions without burnibg the better) but the final result is far superior. Fresh or dried thyme (cut the amount when dried because it can overpower, it's very strong) added to the onions as they cook and white wine to deglaze the onions is essential. Add your stock or broth and let it simmer and develope.
      Just as an aside, it's best to make this (as with any soup) today and serve it tomorrow. The flavours marry and give you something amazing

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2002

      Nummy Nummy Nummy!!!!! Don't change a thing -- make it just like this and you'll be in heaven!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2004

      This was easy and full of flavor.I have never made french onion soup before, but will be making this one again!! I cooked the onions in butter for 40 minutes as well and added a splash of wine to the broth. Ruba cut clove of garlic over the toasted baguette before topping with Gruyere and brioling. Yum! Yum! Thanks, J.C.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2003

      This is great soup. I tend to like my french onion really brothy, so I used 5 cups of broth and less onions. Perfect! I'm thinking of maybe adding a little red wine next time but it certainly tastes wonderful just as is.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2010

      This was good. We jazzed it up a bit by adding Worcestershire sauce, a little red wine, and sprinkled some celery seeds, garlic powder, thyme and salt to taste. We also used only a pinch of sugar with the onions, since some reviewers thought it was too sweet (it was perfect with the pinch :). We topped with provolone cheese. We will definitely make this recipe again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2004

      This soup was delicious and so quick and easy to make!! I substituted vegetarian broth and added a splash of red wine. It was a big hit. I'll be making this soup again. Thanks for posting this wonderful recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2004

      Very good, better than my old stand by. The family loved it too! I doubled the recipe (but not the oil) and added some thyme, as suggested. I also let the onions cook much longer, maybe 40 min. I used two kinds of beef broth, Campbell's double strength and then some regular. I think it gave it some extra zing. Yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2003

      This was so simple to make and as good as anything I've tried at the restaurant. Thank-you MizzNezz!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2003

      I tried this tonight. Family said I had outdone myself. I used red onions and a little red wine. It was fantastic. This is now my preferreed receipe for French Onion Soup

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2010

      Halved the recipe and used butter instead of oil, thats the way my mama did it :)
      Great recipe! Tastes just like I remember from my childhood. Served with toasted french bread smothered in pepper jack and cheddar.
      Thanks for a keeper MizzNezz
      Even my boyfriend loved it and I am not sure he's an onion guy :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2010

      X-tra good recipe, easy to put together, and makes a delightful presentation. I followed this exactly, and enjoyed this immensely. I used a Malian sweet onion and feel like the sugar was not needed at all (was a bit sweet with the sugar). And since I used my homemade broth, I added 1/8 teaspoon salt, to bring out the richness of the broth and onion. With these slight changes, I know this is a 5-star and would probably go without the sugar and add some butter instead of oil next time. Great recipe, and I thank you so much for posting! Will make again. March 2010

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2010

      I felt that the recipe as written turned out to be a little blah for my taste. I followed the recipe exactly but when I tasted it without the cheese and bread I wasn't impressed. Added bay leaf, paprika, celery salt, white wine and a little flour (dissolved in broth before adding). I love french onion soup and after I tweaked it this was very yummy but I wouldn't recommend it as is.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2009

      Great Recipe. I like this one better than a different one I used which called for white wine. It's cheaper, and tastes just as great, if not better. I did add 6 cups of broth instead of 4 though, since there are plenty of onions to make more. Topped with the bread and cheese, this recipes tastes BETTER than the stuff you get in restaurants sometimes...

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2009

      This was pretty good. I only added 1/2 tsp. of sugar after reading other reviews that mentioned it was too sweet....I agree with them...next time I will leave it out. Otherwise great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2009

      I have to say this is the best French Onion Soup I have ever had! The flavors are so yummy! I did use an Asiago, Parmesan, Fontina mix of cheese over the top and it really added to the overall flavor and made it outstanding! This one is heading to my all time favorite soup and chowders folder to be made many more times during the long cold winters here!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2009

      Tried this tonight. It was wonderful. I topped mine with an extra sharp cheddar anda dded a clove of garlic after the onions were browned some. Will defiently make again! :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2008

      Awesome, I used regular onions (4093) and Swanson Broth.For the cheese I used mozzarella and the bread a sour batard. I will be adding this soup to my XMAS eve menu. I will double the recipe next time as I did not have enough for 4 servings. My soup bowls are a little big (16 oz) and I only got two bowls from this recipe. Thanks Nezz

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2008

      This recipe is great- so simple, and made with ingredients you probably have laying around the house. Instead of 1/4 tablespoon of sugar, I used 1/4 teaspoon plus an extra pinch. Also, I used store-bought garlic bread slices instead of french bread for added flavor. It was delicious!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2008

      5! Yes! Oh, this was delicious. My fiance and I had tried a chicken recipe today and we both felt sick afterward, literally. We were still hungry since we dumped the chicken in the trash so I made this and I am so glad I did! I had 4 green onions that were starting to shrivel so I chopped them up and threw those in. I took a cue from the poster before me and added the red wine and Worcestershire and olive oil. Thanks for posting :D I'll make this again!!! (and again, and again!)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 8

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for French Onion Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (492 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 443.9
     
    Calories from Fat 173
    39%
    Total Fat 19.2 g
    29%
    Saturated Fat 4.8 g
    24%
    Cholesterol 12.4 mg
    4%
    Sodium 1253.4 mg
    52%
    Total Carbohydrate 53.5 g
    17%
    Dietary Fiber 4.2 g
    17%
    Sugars 10.1 g
    40%
    Protein 15.6 g
    31%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites