Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / French Onion Salisbury Steak Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    French Onion Salisbury Steak

    Average Rating:

    23 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 23

    Sort by:

    • on January 12, 2012

      Very good recipe. I followed recipe except I used mozzarella instead of swiss. Kids loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2011

      I've been wanting to make this ever since I got the magazine in the mail a couple of years ago... Finally got around to trying it, and I sure am glad I did!! A little involved, but totally worth it! Delicious!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2010

      This recipe is FANTASTIC and will regularly be in my rotation.... I found it first in the Cuisine at home mag a friend gave me .... YUMMY!!! My son LOVED the taste of the bread in the juice - i followed the recipe for the cheese toast in the cuisine magazine that came w/this recipe instead of buying frozen - VERY good!!!! I also didn't have the low sodium broth on hand - used regular but it was not overly salty to me at all.. I did use only 1/2 tsp of kosher salt in broth just in case. I would prob put more flavoring into the ground meat to my liking - otherwise the sauce is the BOMB served this also with mashed potatoes and the gravy soaked into those and enhanced those as well - VERY VERY flavorful! used merlot for the wine!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2010

      We make this quite often...perfect for company! I use ciabatta bread cut into squares and broil swiss and parm cheeses on top before putting the Salisbury steak on top. What would we do without Cooks Country??

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2010

      I saw this recipe in the same magazine, and made it for supper. My mom absolutely loved it. I didn't have scallions so I just used baby onions but it still was delicious!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2009

      My friend and I are in a cooking co-op and she made this one night for dinner and we LOVED it! It's really great over the cheese toast!! Thanks for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2009

      I cooked this for my boyfriend and his parents. Everyone loved it!! Served it on top of egg noodles with the cheese toast on the side. Yummmmmmm

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2008

      Since finding this recipe I have made this over again. One unique way of having this dish is using the left over bread from olive garden. Always a hit when I make this dish. We all love it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2008

      This is one of the best dinners I've made in a while-my husband went crazy for it!! The onion soup broth poured over the beef and cheese toasts tasted so amazing!! It seems like a lot of ingredients but don't let it scare you-it really is easy to make and tasted outstanding!! Great weeknight family meal-Sharlene, I'm printing out all your recipes-you rock!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2008

      My children love this and it is very simple to whip together during a busy weeknight.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2007

      I found this recipe through a food-related forum and whoever posted it got me really wanting it. I made it that night and it was delicious. I forgot to buy the thick toast, but it was still good. I loved it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2007

      This was really good. I followed the recipe exactly and was very pleased with the outcome. I think the cheese toast really made the dish. I will be making this again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2007

      Super yummy and easy to make, but it was a tad salty. I would put a little less salt in the meat and leave it out of the sauce entirely.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2006

      This was a quick dinner to put together. I mixed a small amount of the broth with cornstarch and added back into the main mixture to thicken into a gravy.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2006

      This was great because it was a nice change from the usual meat and potatoes. Thanks for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2006

      We all enjoyed this very much. I did add extra garlic and some red pepper flakes to the meat mixture, just a personal preference. I didn't have any cheese toasts, or the ingredients on hand to make them, but I did put a slice of Swiss cheese over the patties and waited a few minutes for them to melt. Next time I will definitely try the cheese toasts! Served over mashed taters. Thanks for posting, will make again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2006

      Outstanding! One of the best things I've made in a while. I didn't have a problem with the patties since the soup and bread are both incredibly flavorful. If you live near a Trader Joe's, use their Parmesean Garlic Baguette for this recipe. Out of this world!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2005

      This was pretty good. It was quick and easy to make and I had all the ingredients on hand. I followed the instructions exactly. The meat was flavored nicely with the onions, but I agree with another review that said it needed some tweaking. I think I would have preferred a more meatloaf-type texture. The overall flavor for me was okay (I didn't like the tomato paste), but my family loved it as is and gobbled it all up. No leftovers. I served it with store bought cheese toast and roasted corn.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2005

      Tasty and quick but I think the meat patties need just a bit of tweaking. My patties had no real flavor. I loved the broth and after setting it all up I sprikled some grated parmesan cheese all over the top. I will make again but plan to doctor the meat up some, making making it more "meatloaf" like.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2005

      I decided on Salisbury Steak at the last minute and this photo caught my eye. Oh boy, was this great!The flavor was first class (and not even too salty since I used a low-salt beef broth). The only change was that I served this over egg noodles. We also had peas, rolls, and vanilla ice cream with chocolate sauce (by Bev) to complete this wonderful meal. Roxygirl

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for French Onion Salisbury Steak

    Serving Size: 1 (387 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 454.4
     
    Calories from Fat 256
    56%
    Total Fat 28.5 g
    43%
    Saturated Fat 10.6 g
    53%
    Cholesterol 99.2 mg
    33%
    Sodium 1355.1 mg
    56%
    Total Carbohydrate 16.9 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 2.1 g
    8%
    Sugars 5.1 g
    20%
    Protein 28.8 g
    57%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    toast

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes