Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / French Onion Burgers Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    French Onion Burgers

    Average Rating:

    18 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-18 of 18

    Sort by:

    • on December 21, 2008

      This is so easy and so tasty We loved it! I didn't add the mushrooms to the meat but fried fresh sliced ones along side the burger. Mmm enjoyed my Saterday rnight burger

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2010

      This is a GREAT tasting burger!! I couldn't find any French Fried Onion (although it must exist over here!) so I made my own,by tossing onion into milk and then flour and deep frying until crisp.I also used finely chopped fresh mushroom. The burgers were simplicity itself to make and held together beautifully while cooking...so moist and flavoursome-we didn't even want to add any sauces to them. DH is STILL raving about them,and he is the burger expert-he has already requested a repeat performance!! Another winner from you Diner-many thanks!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2013

      Delish

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2010

      The flavor of these was pretty good and they were unique. I used the mushrooms and really enjoyed them. (An added bonus is that my son ate every bite and didn't complain about the mushrooms.) However, they completely fell apart. They only got brown on one side (under the broiler) because I couldn't turn them, and there is no way they could ever be cooked on the grill.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2009

      These were amazing! I also put french onions between the burger & cheese & added a little cumin. I threw a bbq for my co workers & they were a great hit even with the veggie heads!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2009

      Absolutely delicious burgers! is just about all there is to say. It took 5 minutes to put together, and who doesn't love easiness? These were so moist as well. The cold front is coming, and so the burger recipe will be the one I come to when I want a burger during cold months. Thank you for posting. Made for Everyday Is A Holiday Tag Game

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2009

      What a great, simple, who'd a thunk it, easy, yet make it different and good recipe's! Hot weather, lazy but hungry people, hamburger out but dang, don't want to look to boring. Say yes to any of these and this is the burger to try. If that is not enough then since when doesn't taste of home deliver? We are not a big fan of burgers that kind of taste like meatloaf or heavy. The french onion rings did just the right trick. I used button mushrooms fresh N fried on the top and these baby's didn't even need cheese but thats going to happen next time. Thanks for finding, sharing, and taking it up a notch!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2009

      Yum yum! I used mushrooms, but they were fresh and I sauteed them along with additional Worcestershire sauce just to mimic the flavor in the meat and put them on top of the cheese. Made for Every Day Holiday Tag. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2009

      AWESOME Burgers,I always add onion & garlic in my burger meat before frying. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2009

      This is my new favorite burger! We usually just have them alone with cheese and the fried onions on top. They have such a great flavor and the mushrooms keep them nice an moist. I only use one can of the onions in the mixture and one for the topping. They come out perfect for us! Thanks so much for this wonderful recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2009

      This one hit the spot! I made these super fast with my George Foreman grill and they were scrumptous and so filling! I served them on grilled ,buttered, onion rolls. I also sauteed mushrooms to serve on the side. Great meal! Thanks! Will definetly have these again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2009

      I was in the mood for a simple yet full of flavor burger and I came across this one,and decided to try it. I cut the recipe in half and made myself an 8 ounce burger.As a personal choice I left off the mushrooms,and used a little over 1/8 cup of french fried onions.This was pan fried over medium low heat, after frying, a little bit of swiss cheese was added to the top and melted under the broiler.Then I topped the cheese with a few of the french fried onions for garnish.The is one of the best burgers that have passed my lips in a long time. This will be made again.Thanks for posting and, "Keep Smiling :)"

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2008

      Nice burger with hearty flavors. We followed this recipe exactly- minus the optional mushrooms- he won't touch them! - and grilled them to juicy perfection. DH rarely gets red meat so he thanks you for this recipe! The worcestershire sauce was a bold and flavorful addition here and really boosts the flavor of these to an almost steak like level. Thanks diner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2008

      These went over in a big way with DH and DS. A great tasting burger especially if you love ff onions. DS doesn't, but he does love these. I omitted the mushrooms and salt per preference. I"m so glad I cam across this recipe. Made for 123Hits~

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2008

      Oh boy these burgers were GOOD! I love ff onion rings and they gave such a great flavor to these. I didn't add the salt and didn't miss it. These burgers cooked up perfectly on the grill and were so flavorful - I will definitely make them again - thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2008

      My burgers turned out DELICIOUS !!! The french fried onions, sauce and mushrooms gave the burgers such a great flavor !!!! I will definately make my burgers like this again. Thank you for sharing your recipe :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2008

      DH loves mushrooms with his steak so I thought he would enjoy these hamburgers.....he did! I used ground round and DH grilled these slowly until they were done. The larger pieces of french fried onions I broke up and they tasted great in the burger. I omitted the salt and used salt free seasoning with a bit of pepper. We will definitely be having these burgers again. Made and reviewed for ZWT 4.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2008

      My DH made these last night and the 5 patties were gone before I knew it. I was wondering about the french-fried onions in the recipe, but they turned out tasting just like good old fried onions, a lot different than putting chopped onions in the hamburger mix. All the other ingredients made them what I called "Super Burgers." I had my second one without a bun because the burger was so good that I didn't want all the bread to interfere with the taste. Yumm, and thanks for this great recipe, diner524!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for French Onion Burgers

    Serving Size: 1 (189 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 367.0
     
    Calories from Fat 169
    46%
    Total Fat 18.8 g
    29%
    Saturated Fat 7.1 g
    35%
    Cholesterol 77.1 mg
    25%
    Sodium 613.1 mg
    25%
    Total Carbohydrate 22.0 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 0.9 g
    3%
    Sugars 3.1 g
    12%
    Protein 25.1 g
    50%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    French-fried onions

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites