Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / French Onion Beef Casserole Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    French Onion Beef Casserole

    Average Rating:

    19 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-19 of 19

    Sort by:

    • on March 10, 2002

      This was very good, and very filling too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2002

      This was good! I am always looking for somethimg diffrent to do with round, or cubed steaks! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2002

      This was good and easy to make. I'm sure I will make it again for something different.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2003

      We enjoyed the taste of this recipe very much! I used stew beef, however, and with my large crockpot, the beef was on the verge of being dry (I couldn't get a 1/2 cup of liquid for the stuffing!)...so next time I think I will add a can of water to the beef so it doesn't dry out. At any rate, a very unique dish that the husband & inlaws enjoyed!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2002

      This was an easy to put together crockpot recipe that had great flavor. The stuffing adds an unexpectedly tasty dimension to the beef, onions, mushrooms. I followed the recipe exactly, except doubled the amount of mozzarella cheese, since I love it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2003

      This was very good...the only change I would have to make for my personal tastes is to drain some of the liquid off of the beef before adding the stuffing...mine was a little wet...but this was excellent and everyone enjoyed it at my house!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2003

      Had this last night. Used the beef stew meat and it was wonderful. This is certainly one I'll keep on hand to fix again and again. Thanks for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2003

      We found this to be too salty for our liking. I will try this with seasoned bread cubes next time instead of the instant stuffing mix to reduce the salt content.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2003

      It was delicious, a very unique dinner. It was very easy to make. I took the recipe in to my coworkers to try and they also loved it. I will definitely make it again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2002

      This was good and easy! I omitted the mushrooms and it was still good. Will make again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2012

      This dish was SO good! I really do love French Onion soup but it's not something I can eat as a main dish- it's just too much. But when made this way with the beef & the stuffing it's delightful as a main. The only thing I changed was the stuffing; I didn't use the Stove-Top type. I used half a bag of very lightly seasoned stuffing cubes. I am very glad I made that substitution because the dish would have been SUPER salty if I hadn't and the flavor would have been overpowering.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2010

    • on April 17, 2009

      I have made this many times, although I usually leave out the stuffing and just put the meat over some mashed cauliflower. People always think I went to great effort to make this, but it is so easy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2009

      We also enjoyed this dish as it was quite filling. I do think it needed a little more in the way of spices, or at least a little black pepper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2008

      Very good. I couldn't find condensed French onion soup, so I used a regular French onion soup (not condensed) in a 14 ounce can. The meat was very tender with wonderful onion flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2007

      everyone loved it

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2007

      The house smelled SO good when we got home from work! We doubled the mushrooms and omitted the cheese (trying to avoid a few extra calories) and it was terrific. We're sharing this recipe with everyone!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2007

      A nice change from the usual crockpot type of meals. I used Kellogg's brand stuffing, and followed the instructions on the package to use 1 cup of liquid, instead of the 1/2 cup this recipe calls for. That worked out perfectly for me. Some reviewers mention having either too much or too little liquid; however, I followed the recipe and ended up with just the right amount. I think if I had not had enough liquid to make the stuffing, I could have easily mixed the stuffing with a beef or chicken broth (the Kellogg's stuffing instructions actually call for chicken broth). I would recommend seasoning the liquid to your tastes before making the stuffing. For us, all it really needed was a good amount of black pepper. This turned out quite good and I'll be sure to make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2002

      This was good and easy. Something different than the normal. I will definitely make again. Stuffing and beef went really good together.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for French Onion Beef Casserole

    Serving Size: 1 (371 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 593.9
     
    Calories from Fat 301
    50%
    Total Fat 33.5 g
    51%
    Saturated Fat 13.7 g
    68%
    Cholesterol 110.9 mg
    36%
    Sodium 1298.8 mg
    54%
    Total Carbohydrate 28.8 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 3.9 g
    15%
    Sugars 5.4 g
    21%
    Protein 43.8 g
    87%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes