Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / French Madeleines Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    French Madeleines

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on August 15, 2011

      Wow. These are so easy and so good. I can't believe I've been paying bakery prices all these years.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2010

      These Madeleines have the perfect texture and not too sweet. I only found them to taste a bit 'eggy'.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2010

      I must be doing something wrong. This is the second time I've tried this recipe (I love madeleines). The taste is too eggy and lacking in the typical flavor I associate with madeleines. There is also not enough sugar - it is hardly sweet. The texture though is where I'm totally stumped. This is much lighter than the store bought ones and not in a good way. I think that is partly because they spread too much. If I try it again, I will definitely use 4 eggs, more sugar and more flour. Sorry this didn't work out, I really wanted to like it! Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2009

      Really great recipe. I do have one recommendation based on my experience with baking madeleines. I bake them at 425 for no longer than 7 minutes and immediately release them from the pan. They come out very nice and moist this way. These are so good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2009

      Very tasty and easy to make. If you do not have a non-stick pan, though, my advice is to lightly flour the pans. Remove the madeleines from the pan immediately after taking them out of the oven. Tap the edge of the pan as you turn them out onto the counter top. You might have to tap a couple of times.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2008

      Excellent recipe! Thankyou for sharing, I had many requests for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2008

      Absolutely delicious and soooo easy to make! My two DDs could not get their hands off them after they leave the oven! A definite keeper!! ;-))

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2008

      This is my new favorite recipe , i will be cooking this agian and very often. I used both lemon and orange zest. yummy !

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2007

      I made them today. My first recipe to try.Very easy to make. Light and sponge and not too sweet. Excellent with afternoon tea or coffee.They didn't make the way to the freezer.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2007

      These were pretty good. They tasted a little eggy than I hoped. My boss just adored them so I got some brownie points today... I'll use those for later. Anyway, I think next time I will add both the orange and lemon zest. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2007

      Easy and delightful. For the grown ups I microwaved some lemon juice, cointreau and sugar and poured it on them hot from the oven.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2007

      These had great flavor but my madeleines turned out really dry. I think if you are going to use a dark madeleine pan then reduce baking time. That is the only reason why I think they came out dry.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2007

      AWESOME!!! I am a huge Barefoot Contessa fan, but I have to say these are better than her Coconut Madeleines #179755. Barefoot's madeleines taste good if you eat them right after you bake them, horrible the next day. Gingerbee's taste great the day of and the next day (air tight container. I varied my madeleines by drizzling chocolate sauce or strawberry sauce. Thank you for the posting!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2007

      all i can say is all my goodness! these are excellent, so light in texture. This is the first time I have made madelines, I specificly went out to purchase the pans, I love these. If someone could let me know can you dip or galze these?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2005

      These are very easy to make. My kids ate them up faster than I could make them. My husband took them to work and every one really enjoyed them. I omitted the zest and they were still great tasting. They are being requested again for my husbands workplace.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2004

      Yes, these are delicious. And very easy to make. I did grease the molds well and didn't have any trouble getting them out, except for the first one or two, which I have not baked enough. Thank you for this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2003

      What a great, easy-to-follow recipe! They took longer to make than they did to disappear off the platter, in fact, I'm pretty sure that these lemon-scented jewels disappered almost as quickly as they came out of the oven. I did manage to get a few into the freezer, but they were out of the freezer and on the counter this afternoon. (They do freeze very well.) No need to change this recipe at all, they are perfect. Make sure to grease the molds very well and remove the madelines from the pan immediately upon taking them out of the oven, they do tend to stick a bit otherwise. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for French Madeleines

    Serving Size: 1 (783 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 112.7
     
    Calories from Fat 44
    39%
    Total Fat 4.9 g
    7%
    Saturated Fat 2.7 g
    13%
    Cholesterol 48.9 mg
    16%
    Sodium 79.0 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 15.2 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 0.1 g
    0%
    Sugars 8.4 g
    33%
    Protein 2.0 g
    4%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    lemons, zest of

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites