38 Reviews

A little Season-All (any other kind of seasoning salt will do too) in the flour? HEAVEN. I usually bread and fry onions for my greenbean casserole but I like these even better and they were fun to make! They store well too. Would give this 10 stars if I could!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
the80srule November 17, 2009

Green bean casserole is possible here (Peruvian jungle) now! These were a cinch to make, and they taste awesome. The only problem is, my wife and I ate them too quickly to use for anything else, so I'll have to make more!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Russianspi November 06, 2009

These are just fantastic. I didn't have any french-fried onions on hand and made these instead. I don't think I'll ever buy commercial fried onions again. They're very quick to make up. One small onion made enough for my casserole.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dreamer in Ontario December 09, 2008

Oh, the power of Zarr! These are sooo much better than store bought, not only fresher, but no added chemicals/preservatives. I put them in the deep fryer at 375 degrees for about 5 minutes, flipping them often with long handled tongs. One large onion made plenty for a green bean casserole at Thanksgiving. Thanks for another Zarr recipe that saves me money!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MommaEllen November 28, 2008

Awesome, just awesome!!! I made these 2 weeks ago and stored them in a plastic container. They are just as fresh today as when I made them. I took another reviewer's advice and fried my first test batch dark, but they had a burnt taste to me. I fried the rest of them to a medium brown and they were perfect. Thank you so much for posting this great recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Deely November 26, 2008

This recipe ROCKS! Thank you so much for posting! I must admit, I was a skeptic at first but after I saw and tasted the final product I was hooked! Great recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MarZal October 19, 2008

My husband said that these are the BEST fried onions he has ever had! Even better than The Cheesecake Factory.. and that's saying something!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
889804 October 17, 2008

Phew...saved by recipezaar again! thanks for the recipe! i realized i didnt pick up the durkee onions when it was too late to go to the store!! and i too ate half the batch before it made it to the casserole!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kerri B October 05, 2008

I needed these for a casserole (NOT green bean casserole -- I despise green beans heheheh) and I didn't feel like going to the store. The Zaar comes through again. I made this recipe and they were perfecft.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Twiggyann September 16, 2008

WOW!!! I made a batch of these last night for green bean casserole and, like other reviewers, ate half the batch before they made it into the recipe! My children and I follow the Feingold Program (www.feingold.org) which eliminated artificials - colors, flavors and sweeteners- from our diet as well as petroleum based preservatives. I wanted green bean casserole so badly last night and you saved the day with this wonderful recipe! Thank you so so much! It is going in my favorites!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cook from scratch August 04, 2008
French Fried Onions