Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / French Fried Onions Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    French Fried Onions

    Average Rating:

    38 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 38

    Sort by:

    • on December 03, 2002

      I was caught making the classic green bean casserole for the holidays and didn't have the Durkees French Fried onions. I had no desire to run to the store so I tried these. They are much easier than I imagined. Cooked up a batch in just a few minutes. (and had to chase the kids out of the kitchen so I had some to cook with!) I salt and peppered the flour before cooking the onions. I will never buy them again! (just have to remember to double the batch...they are so addictive!)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2009

      I will be making these often for casseroles! I live in East Africa and so I make everything from scratch out of necessity. I made these for a green bean casserole for Thanksgiving. They were easy, cheap to make, and delicious. My husband and I kept snacking on them. They were just like the ones in the can but a bit better because of the fresh taste, they're crispy and melt in your mouth, and the fresh onions are more potent. I sliced them very thinly on a mandolin slicer (very fast and easy if you have one) and followed the recipe closely, except I added a little onion powder and white pepper to the salt before seasoning them at the end. My only advice is to cook them in as large of handfuls as you can because the longer you cook the oil, the darker it gets from all the loose flour that starts to burn and it affects the taste of the onions cooked last, though only slightly

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2011

      You've saved my green bean casserole!!! Only change I made was to add season salt and pepper to the flour mixture. I highly recommend doubling the quantities, as you'll easily find yourself munching on them. They're that good!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2010

      Really simple and really yummy! Sliced them using a mandolin soaked in just milk and they came out thin & crispy.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2010

      You rescued yet another recipezaar fan. I too, will never ever use store-brought french fried onions. Thank you.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2010

      I made this recipe so we could have onions on top of our salad. I had a small onion so I used 1 cup of flour, 2 tablespoons onion powder, 1 teaspoon each cayenne, salt and pepper. My Husband said "this is how I want you to make onion rings, and you can buy a huge bag of onions-we are going to need more-LOL! Super easy, very tasty, maybe a touch more salt but on the salad they rocked! Thanks for Posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2009

      These turned out wunderful... I forgot to buy some from you green bean casserole. Then I remembered about this recipe and had to give it a try. I will never buy the canned stuff again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2009

      Turned out wonderful! I like to make things from scratch so this was just what I was looking for to make green bean casserole. I didn't use the whole batch and froze the leftovers to top other dishes later. Very simple and tasty. Thanks

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2009

      I am not a fan of green bean casserole, but my family is, and this year we found out that most of the family has a wheat and oat allergy, so I have started cooking gluten free, it is easier. So of course we could not have the traditional gluten filled green bean casserole. I took a recipe from one of the other chiefs on here that did the gluten free green bean casserole and this recipe and through them together to make a wonderful, better than canned, green bean casserole. I used 1 cup soy flour and 1 cup white rice flour, with garlic and pepper seasoning. The reason for using soy is because that is what they use if you look on a can of fried onions (i forget which brand i had when I looked at the ingredients) It turned out so wonderful my step son ate it every night for dinner until it was gone! lol I said so I take it this one is better than the old recipe. He said uh hu with a mouth full. lol Usually the other one sits in the frig until i through it out. haha. thank you for a wonderful recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2009

      didn't get to get the canned stuff this year for green bean casserole, but this was great! I also added an egg to the milk mixture, but completely forgot to add s&p...the second batch was great...i used lawry's season all...fried in a deep fryer at 375 for about 5 minutes...also, instead of using a bag, i used a gladware container....turned out great!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2009

      A little Season-All (any other kind of seasoning salt will do too) in the flour? HEAVEN. I usually bread and fry onions for my greenbean casserole but I like these even better and they were fun to make! They store well too. Would give this 10 stars if I could!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2009

      Green bean casserole is possible here (Peruvian jungle) now! These were a cinch to make, and they taste awesome. The only problem is, my wife and I ate them too quickly to use for anything else, so I'll have to make more!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2008

      These are just fantastic. I didn't have any french-fried onions on hand and made these instead. I don't think I'll ever buy commercial fried onions again. They're very quick to make up. One small onion made enough for my casserole.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2008

      Oh, the power of Zarr! These are sooo much better than store bought, not only fresher, but no added chemicals/preservatives. I put them in the deep fryer at 375 degrees for about 5 minutes, flipping them often with long handled tongs. One large onion made plenty for a green bean casserole at Thanksgiving. Thanks for another Zarr recipe that saves me money!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2008

      Awesome, just awesome!!! I made these 2 weeks ago and stored them in a plastic container. They are just as fresh today as when I made them. I took another reviewer's advice and fried my first test batch dark, but they had a burnt taste to me. I fried the rest of them to a medium brown and they were perfect. Thank you so much for posting this great recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2008

      This recipe ROCKS! Thank you so much for posting! I must admit, I was a skeptic at first but after I saw and tasted the final product I was hooked! Great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2008

      My husband said that these are the BEST fried onions he has ever had! Even better than The Cheesecake Factory.. and that's saying something!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2008

      Phew...saved by recipezaar again! thanks for the recipe! i realized i didnt pick up the durkee onions when it was too late to go to the store!! and i too ate half the batch before it made it to the casserole!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2008

      I needed these for a casserole (NOT green bean casserole -- I despise green beans heheheh) and I didn't feel like going to the store. The Zaar comes through again. I made this recipe and they were perfecft.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2008

      WOW!!! I made a batch of these last night for green bean casserole and, like other reviewers, ate half the batch before they made it into the recipe! My children and I follow the Feingold Program (www.feingold.org) which eliminated artificials - colors, flavors and sweeteners- from our diet as well as petroleum based preservatives. I wanted green bean casserole so badly last night and you saved the day with this wonderful recipe! Thank you so so much! It is going in my favorites!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for French Fried Onions

    Serving Size: 1 (1188 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 280.4
     
    Calories from Fat 37
    13%
    Total Fat 4.1 g
    6%
    Saturated Fat 2.3 g
    11%
    Cholesterol 13.6 mg
    4%
    Sodium 52.4 mg
    2%
    Total Carbohydrate 51.1 g
    17%
    Dietary Fiber 2.8 g
    11%
    Sugars 3.9 g
    15%
    Protein 9.3 g
    18%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites