17 Reviews

AWESOME!!!! We love this! I raved so much about it, I had 4 co-workers ask me for the recipe without even trying it! The seasoning was perfect! Not too salty (I did use the lite soy sauce) and just absolutely wonderful! This will be a staple for sure!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kamocean April 15, 2010

I wished I could give this more than 5 stars!! It was delish! The whole family enjoyed it! I didn't have quite enough Soy Sauce (only had a little over 1/4 cup) so I added a pinch of ginger, a beef bullion cube, a little light corn syrup and a dash of red vinegar to sub. I was real iffy on the whole thing since I had to "experiment", but it all turned out fantastic! Thanks for sharing! Finally, I'm able to fix one of my favorite diner subs for myself and my family!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Holley Mc January 03, 2010

We really loved these sandwiches. It was hot and if I use the oven the whole place becomes a desert heat resort. I did add some worcestershire and left out the thyme as I didn't have any. This smelled so good while cooking and we had a hard time waiting. Thanks for a definate keeper.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cst1996 June 17, 2007

The ingredients gave the beef the most wonderful "beefy" flavor! I did, however, find the au jus a bit salty, perhaps a lite soy sauce could be used. This is definately a keeer, at least a once-a-monther!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Gary in Mesquite, TX January 22, 2007

My house smelled amazing while this was cooking. So good. Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommyoffour December 28, 2014

Hey thanks so much for this recipe!! My husband loves french dip--this wasn't sliced meat like @ restaurants but he still really enjoyed. it. You have to watch the cooking time, though--I had a 2 1/2 lb roast & cooked it on high for a few hours, then low b/c I could sense it might overcook. I used light soy sauce, no rosemary & didn't skim the fat--I just ladled around the fat :-). I also used 2 cups of water AND 2 cups low sodium beef broth for better dipping sauce flavor & to cover the roast. Thanks so much for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LUVMY2BOYS July 03, 2014

Oh my goodness, I can't believe I haven't rated this yet... This is the BEST French Dip I have EVER had. I'm always inexplicably drawn to French Dip sandwiches and always end up being sorely disappointed. Not anymore! I can't wait to make this again (and again, and again)!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dripdripsplat December 21, 2010

My daughter makes these. She gave me the recipe and I had misplaced it. Thank goodness I found it here! These are soooo good! We butcher our own beef and when I make a roast, I use one of two recipes, this is one of them. The seasonings are fantastic. Now that we are having cooler weather I will be using this one frequently. Thanks, Lynzi

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Lynzi August 29, 2010

I loved how simple the ingredients were, I choose this because I had everything and didn't need to go to the store!!! We bought 1/4 a cow and need to use up some of the roasts and we had a chuck roast so I did the ingredient search and found this one. I love French dip a restaurants, this was good I am glad we bought nice hoagie buns the meat by it self was okay but on the bun and dipped in au jus made it good. Thank you for a simple easy recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
newtocookingm&m May 16, 2010

I have been making this for a long time, and never realized I hadn't given it a review! This is wonderful. My Mother-in-law asks me to make this from time to time. It is a sure-fire way of getting her to come over for a visit, and she always raves about it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Montagnaia November 06, 2009
French Dip Sandwiches (For Crock Pot)