Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / French Dip Roast Beef Sandwiches Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    French Dip Roast Beef Sandwiches

    Average Rating:

    31 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 31

    Sort by:

    • on January 16, 2003

      This recipe was a hit with the kids and the hubby. I made one simple change though-- I cooked this in the crock pot. (Gotta love that crock pot!!) The beef was very tender and the au jus was flavorful.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2003

      Great recipe! I used a 4 lb rump roast and made it in a crockpot. Easy and good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2002

      This is a very good recipe! I like the fact that the au juice is not as salty as a lot I've had.The beef was tender and the au juice is very flavorful.I served this with potato salad and jello for a nice easy meal after the busy Thanksgiving week-end.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2002

      This was very easy to prepare and simply delicious! I straind the broth for a nice au jous. I will definitly be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2008

      I've made this recipe many times - Always in my crockpot so when I get home at the end of the day - the house smells wonderful and my dinner is ready. This is the only way to make roast beef sandwiches. The beef is always tender and juice is very savory. Note: I always strain the juices into individual bowls before serving. Outstanding!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2008

      This came out very nice. I didn't slice the beef as my husband hadn't work late at the last minute. So, I let it continue to cook and then shredded it with a fork. Yummy all the same. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2003

      Yum! I used a eye round roast and added a little garlic - as well as used the crockpot. About an hour before serving..I sliced the roast - placed back in juices to make sure the inside pieces had chance to pick up extra flavorings...yummy and so very easy! This will replace the one I'd been making! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2003

      I made this last night with one small change...I didn't have a roast, so I used cube steak. After cooking for 1 1/2 hrs, the meat was so tender and the au jus was simply delicious. I can't wait to try this again using a roast. Served with scalloped potatoes, this was an easy meat to prepare. Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2012

      I LOVE this recipe. I am trying new meals at home and this will be a keeper. I added a few additional ingredients to the broth (fresh thyme, fresh rosemary, and celery). My husband and cousin loved it. It was so simple. I cooked it a little longer so the meat would tear apart.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2012

      This was good. I mixed everything together used a dark beer marinated it overnight cooked for about 2 hours and like others said it was hard to cut plus was dry next time I won't cook it as long. But the flavors of the sauce was great. I put some swiss cheese and onions on top, everyone ate them up fast. Thanks for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2011

      Wow. A recipe that is easy and delicious. I really enjoyed this recipe and so did my family. Even my picky son had some. Will definitely make this again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2011

      Congratulations! Your recipe will be featured on our homepage today as the "Recipe of the Day" ! (6/20/2011)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2010

      I cut the recipe in half to use with my 1.5lb London broil. I also prepared it in the crock-pot. It turned out beautifully!! Extremely tasty meat that made excellent sandwiches. I think it would be good served over mashed potatoes or noodles too. I used a sweet vidalia onion which really went well with the beer flavor. A big hit here! Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2009

      I was really hoping that the meat would be eaiser to cut into thin slices like you buy at the deli. However the taste was AMAZING and I lived using the juices to dip. DH ate the rest for leftovers the next day. I had my sandwiches plain on big hoagie rolls but DH had his with mayo, mustard, and slices of american cheese. I had to take a lot of time and cut the fat off the meat, but other than that it was really easy.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2009

      This was really good! I cooked the roast in the crock pot on low for 6 hours. Made as directed and added a teaspoon of rosemary and thyme for personal taste. Used Heineken for the beer. Thanks for sharing! Made for ZWT 5.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2009

      really good but the meat needs something more it's a bit bland. But I would recommend using a dark beer for more added flavor as opposed to a light beer...

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2009

      This was a great french dip sandwich. DH even said to keep it on the regular rotation (he usually doesn't comment unless asked)...so that's a huge compliment. Very easy to do and delicious to eat!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2008

      This is really a great EASY recipe. I throw mine in the crockpot. Comes out PERFECT every time!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2008

      These made great sandwiches. And I think the house smelled wonderful while cooking. I served our sandwiches with sauteed onions and pepper and then sauteed up some mushrooms. I also offered swiss cheese for those who wanted it. Thank you for posting a delicious recipe for french dips.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2008

      This was a wonderful meal to come home from a baseball tourney to. I cooked it for about 8 hours in the crockpot on Friday night, skimmed the grease off on Saturday morning, cut into thin pieces and cooked on low for about five hours longer. The meat was very moist, very tender and yummy!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for French Dip Roast Beef Sandwiches

    Serving Size: 1 (3854 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 426.5
     
    Calories from Fat 142
    33%
    Total Fat 15.8 g
    24%
    Saturated Fat 5.6 g
    28%
    Cholesterol 82.7 mg
    27%
    Sodium 1301.5 mg
    54%
    Total Carbohydrate 35.9 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 1.8 g
    7%
    Sugars 1.5 g
    6%
    Protein 31.0 g
    62%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites