158 Reviews

I really enjoyed this. It's a bit salty, even with the reduced sodium soy sauce. I served it on hoagie rolls. Delish.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Christy in Illinois November 24, 2009

I made this tonight for my husband and me, and it turned out wonderful! I wanted to use something other than the beef bouillon cubes because they have MSG (even the Weyln's, or whatever the normal brand is), and I think I would have preferred to try beef stock if it wasn't so expensive (my grocery didn't have their store brand). This will be used many more times! Thank you for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Erin MS November 14, 2009

This was delicious! Extremely tender, even as leftovers. My husband loved it and couldn't stop eating. We put our roast on french bread with an italian cheese blend melted on top and dipped away. I love the saltiness of the au jus, but next time I might try to lower sodium soy sauce just to decrease the amount of sodium. Thanks for the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jami Robin November 07, 2009

Fantastic! Loved the rosemary flavor in this, I used fresh from the garden. This is the best french dip recipe I have ever tried, much better than any I have gotten in a restaurant. This recipe is definitely a keeper! Thank you for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CraftScout November 03, 2009

Yuuuuuuuuuuuuuuummy! THIS is good stuff. At first I made the recipe as is for the first few hours, then I saw the review about leaving out the rosemary and got scared so I strained it out! But I still had plenty of rosemary flavor from it steeping for a 3 hours. The au jus is right on!! It was a bit salty so I just added water till it was just right for us. I will use this recipe whenever I make pot roast! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Japanese Delight September 15, 2009

This was nice but I wasn't blown away. It needed so much water to nearly cover the meat that I had to add a quartered onion, at least 1 cup of red wine and another 1/2 bullion cube to make sure it still had taste. Other reviewers said the rosemary was too much, but I assumed the recipe means crushed rosemary leaves and not a whole teaspoon of ground rosemary which would have been too much. In the end the beef was tender but a bit dry so had to be drenched in the sauce, which isn't neccessarily a bad thing. I used the extra sauce as stock for French onion soup, which was much better than the beef itself.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shoga-chan September 12, 2009

Usually when there's already a TON of reviews, I don't review...however - my husband said this was probably his absolute favorite meal I've ever cooked! I'm a huge french dip fan myself (probably my favorite sandwich out there...) and I now eat a very healthy low-carb diet. I made this and while he had it on regular bread, I had this on my low-carb bread and the meat and the au jus were absolutely to die for! thank you for an OH so simple and DELICIOUS recipe! Definitely a keeper and will become a regular in this house!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LowCarb_in_Indy September 06, 2009

This was sooo good!!!!!! My family and guests said it was better than any French Dip sandwich they had had in a resturant! SO EASY!!!!! Thanks

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NanaJulie August 21, 2009

This was amazing had great flavor and very simple to prepare and no fussy ingredients. I didn't have any peppercorns so I just added a few dashes of ground pepper. I served it on french rolls with some swiss cheese and the broth on the side and the whole family loved it. My 9 year old managed to fit large 3 sandwiches into what he calls the black hole (aka his stomach) and was asking me when I was going to make them again before he was even finished eating.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dying2Live August 16, 2009
French Dip Roast Beef for the Crock Pot