Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / French Dip Roast Beef for the Crock Pot Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    French Dip Roast Beef for the Crock Pot

    Average Rating:

    155 Total Reviews

    Showing 121-140 of 155

    Sort by:

    • on October 10, 2007

      I made this as my first recipe in my new crockpot. It was wonderful! We both loved it and my partner insists I make again very soon. I did cut the rosemary down to a 1/2 tsp. No bay leaf, but did put in some fresh ground pepper. Instead of soy sauce, I used Bragg's liquid aminos, which is very similar. Cooked in seven hours exactly for 3 1/4 pound pot roast.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2007

      This was really good, however, we found that the soy sauce made things super salty....we should have gone for a low sodium soy sauce I think. It did turn out alright though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2007

      MMMmmmm, this stuff is awesome!!!! I've gotten many compliments on this recipe. Thank you so much for sharing it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2007

      My son says it's the best French Dip he's ever had and believe me, when we go out to eat it's usually the thing he orders, so he has had a lot of them! I loved that it was sooooo easy and that everyone enjoyed the results. Thanks for sharing Big Cheese!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2007

      Easy and DH LOVED it. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2007

      Good easy recipe. I used fresh rosemary, which I think gave it the wonderful taste.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2007

      This is so delicious! I love, love, loved it!!! It tastes better than what you get from a restaurant. My husband said to put it on the "make often" list! Thank you so much!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2007

      I use this very same recipe from Taste of Home! So yummy, and easy to make. I often don't have thyme, and have added a tablespoon of onion soup mix. My recipe adds 2 cups of water as well to make more Au Jus. We like to make our buns toasted and garlicky to add another special taste. Thanks for reminding me that I need to make this soon!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2007

      delicious! i made this earlier this week when my mother in law was visiting and served it on sour dough baguette. absolutely perfect. i didn't make any changes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2007

      This was amazing! After putting the meat on the rolls, I topped with provolone cheese and tossed in the oven for a few minutes so it would melt. Tasted sooo good dipped in the juice! This will be a Sunday regular!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2007

      I don't even like roast that much, but loved this. My DH said this was one of his favorite meals in my repitoire. I didn't have rosemary or thyme and it came out great. I also had to cook this on high due to lack of time, and it was wonderful. We'll make this again. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2007

      I tried this yesterday using a boneless sirloin tip roast. The end result after 7 hours was a tasty but dry roast. I did manage to take the sauce, put it in a frying pan and reduce it for about 1/2 hour in order to make gravy. This was very tasty over the meat. I'll make the sauce again but will not do another roast in the slow cooker. Sorry maybe I should have used a cheaper cut of meat but this just didn't turn out for me.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2006

      I just finished making this and although we haven't had dinner yet, I sneaked a little taste. Fabulous. It's such a simple recipe! I was worried that it wouldn't have enough flavor, because I'm used to sauteeing onions and adding wine to my pot roasts. But it came out very flavorful. I did not cook it in a crock pot, since I don't have one. Instead, I cooked it in a big cocotte on top of the stove and it was meltingly tender in about 4 hours. I also threw in a bunch of carrot sticks that I had leftover from the weekend. I'll be making this again for sure.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2006

      This was good, but way too salty. I will use low sodium soy sauce the next time. As some others noted, it was also pretty heavy on the rosemary, and I like rosemary! I'll cut the amount of rosemary by half. All that said, my carnivore son had two sandwiches the night I made it, and finished off the leftovers. I served this with bakery hard rolls that I had crisped up in the oven for 10 minutes. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2006

      This was so easy to make. After the meat was cooked, I put the au jus in the freezer to solidify the grease for easy removal. (I couldn't find my grease seperator for gravy). After removing the fat, I heated the au jus in the microwave for a minute. I also reduced the rosemary to 1/2 tsp. as other reviewers suggested. I will definately make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2006

      Not sure what was better... the incredible aroma while it was cooking or the flavor of the meat and au jus! Followed the recipe and didn't change a thing... and won't change a thing when I make it the next time. I also made Dorel's Hamburger Buns Hot Dog/Hamburger Buns/Rolls/Cinnamon Buns Dough Cycle A.b.m. to go w/ it... a very delicious meal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2006

      Simply Wonderful! I used a 3-4 lb blade roast, cut the soy sauce in 1/2 and added an onion. I cooked the roast in the slow cooker on slow and everything tasted great. Next time I might use less rosemary, but other than that it was perfect. My DS had two for dinner and my DD wanted another when it was time to go to bed for a snack. We used the horseradish mayo on the sandwich which added a little bit more flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2006

      "This is awesome, Mom!" was just one of the compliments I received when I served this at our July 4th celebration. It's easy to fix and tastes wonderful! The only change I made was to use only 1/4 tsp. rosemary.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2006

      I made this but didn't actually get to EAT any of it because my husband and his friend ate ALL of it in one sitting. They raved for three days about how good it was, so I figure it is worth five stars!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2006

      I did like one review and left out the rosemary but I used a packet of onion soup mix and it turned out great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for French Dip Roast Beef for the Crock Pot

    Serving Size: 1 (183 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 300.4
     
    Calories from Fat 87
    29%
    Total Fat 9.7 g
    15%
    Saturated Fat 4.0 g
    20%
    Cholesterol 87.3 mg
    29%
    Sodium 1055.3 mg
    43%
    Total Carbohydrate 20.6 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 1.4 g
    5%
    Sugars 0.4 g
    1%
    Protein 32.6 g
    65%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites