157 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Delicious. Made exactly as written and it was perfect

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Prairie girl in Canada March 13, 2011

I imagined myself anywhere in France with DH at an off-street cafe with wine, cheese, toasted bread and French Dip.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gailanng July 31, 2010

Made this last night for dinner. It was great! I was a little concerned about the soy sauce. I used lo sodium soy sauce. It was not overly salty but just right. This is a keeper.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
clw721 May 13, 2010

This turned out great. I used different seasoning (personal preference) of garlic and burgundy beef which has some spice to it and used beef broth instead of the bouillon. I added onion like other reviewers. The kids and I all loved it. Now I just need to figure out a way to use up the leftover broth...the kids did not want to dip...

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Queenofcamping April 02, 2010

Overall great flavor. It was cooked well, I like it sliced more than shredded which I tried. My biggest issues was the liquid. For that much beef. NO way not enough au jus. So rather than bouillon, I used 1 can beef broth low salt, also low salt soy and fresh garlic and fresh thyme, but dried rosemary. I also threw in on onion, just cuz I thought it would taste good. Definitely do the onion! Strained the au jus, cut or sliced the meat as best I could as it shredded more. It doesn't taste like traditional au jus. French Dip. But hey it is very good, inexpensive and easy. Very nice. I think as is it was fine the recipe. I just new I wanted more juice and the onion is just something I thought would be good and it was. I just like lots of au jus with my sandwiches so I wanted enough to pass around. Nice easy good recipe for an everyday sandwich. Kim

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SarasotaCook March 26, 2010

Shame on me for not rating this quicker! I made this last winter and it was so easy and superb! I freeze the left overs for quick and easy meals for my husband. I followed the recipe as written using low sodium soy sauce.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shani Banani October 13, 2009

WOW. I love French Dips but every time I order one in a retaurant it's dry and tasteless. My husband wasn't thrilled when I told him what I was making either. But, that was last week and I'm already making it again, and with a bigger roast this time. It's moist a juicy and the flavor is awesome. I added the full amount of rosemary and thought it was perfect. This will be something that we have often. Much thanks to you Big Cheese!! ***Update on 6/23/09: I want to add that I always use low sodium ingredients and the cheapest cut of beef that I can find. I also skim the fat by pouring the jus into a metal bowl and throwing some ice cubes in it. The fat congeals to the cubes, so I can just scoop out the ice cubes and the solidified fat. Still a great recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
comfort*foodie*mama June 23, 2009

it was perfect. tasted so good

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Patricia S. February 14, 2015

My daughter made this for a family gathering and it was a huge hit. Who knew the crockpot would make such a delicious dish.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gbtowslee November 28, 2014

add ONION........ (BUT).... cook overnight on low for 12 hours just add more water and soy 1/2 cup is good

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
James A. August 05, 2014
French Dip Roast Beef for the Crock Pot