158 Reviews

Delicious. Made exactly as written and it was perfect

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Prairie girl in Canada March 13, 2011

I imagined myself anywhere in France with DH at an off-street cafe with wine, cheese, toasted bread and French Dip.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gailanng July 31, 2010

Made this last night for dinner. It was great! I was a little concerned about the soy sauce. I used lo sodium soy sauce. It was not overly salty but just right. This is a keeper.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
clw721 May 13, 2010

This turned out great. I used different seasoning (personal preference) of garlic and burgundy beef which has some spice to it and used beef broth instead of the bouillon. I added onion like other reviewers. The kids and I all loved it. Now I just need to figure out a way to use up the leftover broth...the kids did not want to dip...

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Queenofcamping April 02, 2010

Overall great flavor. It was cooked well, I like it sliced more than shredded which I tried. My biggest issues was the liquid. For that much beef. NO way not enough au jus. So rather than bouillon, I used 1 can beef broth low salt, also low salt soy and fresh garlic and fresh thyme, but dried rosemary. I also threw in on onion, just cuz I thought it would taste good. Definitely do the onion! Strained the au jus, cut or sliced the meat as best I could as it shredded more. It doesn't taste like traditional au jus. French Dip. But hey it is very good, inexpensive and easy. Very nice. I think as is it was fine the recipe. I just new I wanted more juice and the onion is just something I thought would be good and it was. I just like lots of au jus with my sandwiches so I wanted enough to pass around. Nice easy good recipe for an everyday sandwich. Kim

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SarasotaCook March 26, 2010

Shame on me for not rating this quicker! I made this last winter and it was so easy and superb! I freeze the left overs for quick and easy meals for my husband. I followed the recipe as written using low sodium soy sauce.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shani Banani October 13, 2009

WOW. I love French Dips but every time I order one in a retaurant it's dry and tasteless. My husband wasn't thrilled when I told him what I was making either. But, that was last week and I'm already making it again, and with a bigger roast this time. It's moist a juicy and the flavor is awesome. I added the full amount of rosemary and thought it was perfect. This will be something that we have often. Much thanks to you Big Cheese!! ***Update on 6/23/09: I want to add that I always use low sodium ingredients and the cheapest cut of beef that I can find. I also skim the fat by pouring the jus into a metal bowl and throwing some ice cubes in it. The fat congeals to the cubes, so I can just scoop out the ice cubes and the solidified fat. Still a great recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
comfort*foodie*mama June 23, 2009

Love this recipe. It is easy and delicious, and when we are craving the French dip sandwich, this is the recipe we go to! Thank you for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
oscarrules July 14, 2015

it was perfect. tasted so good

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Patricia S. February 14, 2015

My daughter made this for a family gathering and it was a huge hit. Who knew the crockpot would make such a delicious dish.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gbtowslee November 28, 2014
French Dip Roast Beef for the Crock Pot