Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / French Dip Roast Beef for the Crock Pot Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    French Dip Roast Beef for the Crock Pot

    Average Rating:

    155 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 155

    Sort by:

    • on March 13, 2011

      Delicious. Made exactly as written and it was perfect

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2010

      I imagined myself anywhere in France with DH at an off-street cafe with wine, cheese, toasted bread and French Dip.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2010

      Made this last night for dinner. It was great! I was a little concerned about the soy sauce. I used lo sodium soy sauce. It was not overly salty but just right. This is a keeper.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2010

      This turned out great. I used different seasoning (personal preference) of garlic and burgundy beef which has some spice to it and used beef broth instead of the bouillon. I added onion like other reviewers. The kids and I all loved it. Now I just need to figure out a way to use up the leftover broth...the kids did not want to dip...

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2010

      Overall great flavor. It was cooked well, I like it sliced more than shredded which I tried. My biggest issues was the liquid. For that much beef. NO way not enough au jus. So rather than bouillon, I used 1 can beef broth low salt, also low salt soy and fresh garlic and fresh thyme, but dried rosemary. I also threw in on onion, just cuz I thought it would taste good. Definitely do the onion! Strained the au jus, cut or sliced the meat as best I could as it shredded more. It doesn't taste like traditional au jus. French Dip. But hey it is very good, inexpensive and easy. Very nice. I think as is it was fine the recipe. I just new I wanted more juice and the onion is just something I thought would be good and it was. I just like lots of au jus with my sandwiches so I wanted enough to pass around. Nice easy good recipe for an everyday sandwich. Kim

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2009

      Shame on me for not rating this quicker! I made this last winter and it was so easy and superb! I freeze the left overs for quick and easy meals for my husband. I followed the recipe as written using low sodium soy sauce.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2009

      WOW. I love French Dips but every time I order one in a retaurant it's dry and tasteless. My husband wasn't thrilled when I told him what I was making either. But, that was last week and I'm already making it again, and with a bigger roast this time. It's moist a juicy and the flavor is awesome. I added the full amount of rosemary and thought it was perfect. This will be something that we have often. Much thanks to you Big Cheese!! ***Update on 6/23/09: I want to add that I always use low sodium ingredients and the cheapest cut of beef that I can find. I also skim the fat by pouring the jus into a metal bowl and throwing some ice cubes in it. The fat congeals to the cubes, so I can just scoop out the ice cubes and the solidified fat. Still a great recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2014

      add ONION........ (BUT).... cook overnight on low for 12 hours just add more water and soy 1/2 cup is good

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2014

      I tried this recipe and it was absolutely wonderful. Just a hint, I wanted to make it again but had no soy sauce so I tried using Teriyaki Sauce. I just knew it would not be as good. However it turned out wonderful! Just a tad different flavor. Now I have two great recipes for my family. Thank you so much for sharing the one you added. I promise was not better but as good. Thanks again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2014

      Made this recipe yesterday, with a few changes. Beef broth instead of cube, fresh garlic instead of powder, oregano instead of rosemary. And cooked it on high to get it done sooner. But it was wonderful and will be making this again soon. Thanks to The Big Cheese for the recipe!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2014

      Really, really good. I'm picky so when I rate 5 stars I mean it :-) don't be afraid to truly add a bunch of water...the au jus will have plenty of flavor. So good...I cooked the beef until I could shed it, then I refrigerated it, took the fat off the top and then served. Yummy

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2013

      We loved this! A little salt so may put lesss soy sauce next time. Added half a sliced onion and six garlic cloves. No garlic powder. French bread rolls with a slice of provolone cheese. The rest the same as posted.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2013

      I used an arm roast because it was the closest when I opened the freezer. I substituted part of the soy sauce with worchteshire. Used fresh garlic and was out of bay leaves so I used oregano. this recipe is very forgiving for using what is on hand. We loved this recipe and will be using it again. The best use for roast I have ever made. (not a fan of pot roast) Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2013

      I've been looking everywhere for a french dip recipe and had just about given up. This is the BEST I've had in...well...forever. My husband woofed it DOWN. Perfect the way the recipe is written. I didn't change a thing. Making this again tonight. YUM.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2013

      This was delicious, the meat was very flavorful. It would've been helpful for the butcher to make thin slices to cut cooking time down. Thank you for a great crock pot recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2013

      Made it exactly as written. It was perfect for our family! Fell off the bone, shredded easily, tasted delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2013

      This was really great. I think a little more pepper would have been nice, but it was juicy, tender and fantastic. The DH and DDs LOVED it! Thanks for the great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2013

      this was x, did not know you cld. add so much liquid to cook the roast and have it turn out to be oven roast, this is great, can make gravey and have hot sandw. and the rest of liq. can be beef broth two fold.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2013

      In my family, it can be hard to get everyone to rave about a meal, but this recipe achieved that goal! AMAZING! I made this to serve the next day, so I was able to skim off the fat that had collected on top while it was in the fridge. I did add about 2 TBS of diced onions (they were left over from another recipe and I didn't want to waste them) and I added 2 TBS of Worcestershire sauce on the second day while I was reheating it.
      I served it on chewy steak rolls with provolone cheese, that I put in a 450* oven to melt the cheese and soften the roll. I'm not usually a dipper because I don't like soggy bread, but I couldn't keep out of the sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2012

      This recipe yielded a very tender cheap cut of meat! I seared my meat in a pan first to enhance the flavor. I also added a bit of garlic. I used reduced sodium soy sauce but still thought it was a bit salty so next time I'd reduce the soy sauce a bit. Also, I used reduced sodium beef broth in place of the bouillon and water. Sure made a yummy and easy dinner on a busy night! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for French Dip Roast Beef for the Crock Pot

    Serving Size: 1 (183 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 300.4
     
    Calories from Fat 87
    29%
    Total Fat 9.7 g
    15%
    Saturated Fat 4.0 g
    20%
    Cholesterol 87.3 mg
    29%
    Sodium 1055.3 mg
    43%
    Total Carbohydrate 20.6 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 1.4 g
    5%
    Sugars 0.4 g
    1%
    Protein 32.6 g
    65%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites