158 Reviews

I followed this recipe to the letter and the meat was not very flavorful. I even added more of everything and it was still very bland. The meat was kind of dry too, and I added all the water in the recipe. I was expecting this to be really fantastic and I was disappointed. Maybe I will try again with a different cut of meat and more seasoning.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
charmaymc March 24, 2011

MMmmmmmmm nice :D Thought I'd give this a go as have been trying to use my slow cooker more. So nice! Will definitely be doing this again. I added the onions, used beef stock, and worcestershire sauce, needed to amend the length of time as partner bought a very small joint. But the rest stuck to the original recipe. Yum :D

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rasully February 06, 2011

This was so good!! I don't think I'll even try another recipe. The icing on the cake, was that the whole family gave it 5 stars!!! I used low sodium beef granules. Reading the reviews I also decided to reduce the *crushed* rosemary leaves to 1/2 teaspoon. This recipe is to die for, you will not go wrong if you give it a try. Made for Zaar Cookbook Tag 2010

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charlotte J September 30, 2010

Excellent!. I used rosemary strands(forgot to crush) had to strain from the juice. Instead of garlic powder I used minced dried garlic bits and fresh canned garlic bits in a jar. I used Lumpong pepper from Sumatra, it is a course grain pungent pepper. My roast was about 5-6 pounds, home grown so didn't weight it. Good with sourdough rolls also. Cut them, toast and fill. I can certainly see why all of the reviews. Outstanding!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Montana Heart Song May 08, 2010

Alright, so this recipe is THE BOMB! Holy cow, it tasted just as good as pub fare. I used low-sodium soy sauce and added probably about 2 tablespoons of kosher salt. Secondly, I only used half of the rosemary and thyme (a little goes a long way with these spices). Make sure to throw in 1/3 of an onion - chopped, and some scallions for good measure. Thanks for posting this delicious, easy to make recipe.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RazzMan November 18, 2011

Excellent flavor and so easy! The broth was so good I could eat it alone. I added some chopped onions on top of the meat, but otherwise made as written. Served on rolls with melted muenster cheese. I will definitely make this again since everyone loved it and it was so simple. Thanks for posting.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chris from Kansas January 27, 2011

My family loves this and I have made it several times with nary a complaint. For us, all the seasonings are spot on. The only problem I have ever encountered is not cooking a big enough roast. Most of the time we have a good amount of au jus leftover, but I will sometimes remember and incorporate it somehow in another recipe/dish. The Big Cheese scores! Thanks.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jug O'Mud October 04, 2010

Going ahead and giving you 5 stars, because the final outcome was FANTASTIC! But I did have a wee bit of trouble...after 7 hours it was hard and tough as a brick!! I'm sure it was just a bad cut of meat or something though, because this is the first and only time I've ever had trouble with chuck roast! I ended up putting it into the pressure cooker with 1 1/2 cups of the broth mixture for 30 minutes and cooled immediately before opening, and then it was truely TDF!! :) I skipped the rosemary and added a little oregano in place of it, and didn't use a boullion cube. I used Superior Touch Better than Boullion beef base instead. (I just like it better.) Everything else the same! I'll definately use this recipe for French Dip, but maybe I'll just do it in the pressure cooker frm now on. Thanks, though, for the best French Dip we've ever tasted!! :) Alls well that ends well!! ;) :) (Oh, and served on hard rolls topped with provolone and toasted and melted in the oven...AWESOME!!)

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wildflour March 24, 2010

Thanks for this recipe! I would take this over any restaurant French dip sandwich any day! The au jus was right on target in terms of taste and consistency. After cooking the meat it in the crockpot, I shredded it and let it sit in the juices so they would soak in a bit before we had dinner the result was fabulous.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chocolover August 28, 2013

Great recipe! I added a sliced onion on top as others suggested and popped in a totally frozen roast (grassfed from a local farmer/friend so I wasn't worried about bacteria). Cooked on high for 8 hours. Next time I'll used reduced-sodium soy sauce. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lolablitz June 28, 2011
French Dip Roast Beef for the Crock Pot