Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / French Dip Roast Beef for the Crock Pot Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    French Dip Roast Beef for the Crock Pot

    Average Rating:

    156 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 156

    Sort by:

    • on August 01, 2010

      This is fantastic! I did use 1/2 tsp. oregano instead of the rosemary, and only 1/2 tsp. of thyme. Next time, I think I may use fresh garlic, just because I like to use it in my cooking. I sliced an onion and laid it in the pot before the meat, as suggested in other reviews - great idea! I served it with provolone cheese on toasted rolls. I'll be making this one again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2011

      Oh. My. Goodness. This is a GOOD roast recipe. Like, so good that I kept sneaking little pieces of the beef as I was putting together everyone else's sandwiches. YUM.

      We made this and used it for French dip. I made as written, except that I liberally sprinkled the roast with garlic salt first, and I was out of rosemary so I subbed 1/2 tsp Italian seasoning and 1/2 tsp just oregano (thought the balance of flavors would approximate rosemary). The jus by itself was a little too bland for our taste (maybe I added too much water!), so I just ladled some into a saucepan and boiled it for a few minutes to concentrate the flavor.

      AMAZING. This will become a staple in our house.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2010

      Thank you for sharing, my family loved it! Once the meat was cooked, it shredded very easy. I skimmed fat off the juice for dipping but heated up my broiler. Opened up my soft hoagie rolls, piled them high w/beef and topped with provolone cheese. Broiled just few minutes to toast bread and melt cheese. It was wonderful! What a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2011

      This was very good! It smelled great and was so tender. I did add onions as others suggested to the top and I was out of garlic powder so I used fresh. Thank you for sharing! I will definitely be making this again

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2011

      hands down the best french dip recipe i have ever tried...used fresh minced garlic since i was out of garlic powder...the chuck roast turned out very tender...shredded the meat easily...tfs this keeper!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2011

      I cooked this for about 9 hours on low (I have a long commute) but, otherwise, followed the recipe exactly. It was incredibly tender and tasty! I did add sliced pepper Jack, my best option on hand. Next time I will add some Worcestershire as some reviews suggested as well as sliced onion. Great quick dinner! I will be using this again thank you for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2010

      Very Good and Easy too. Don't have to have a lot on hand. I did add a can of Golden Mushroom soup to flavor the broth a bit more, and sliced up one onion. I was in a time crunch, so I did 3 lbs of meat, Took 2 Hours HIGH, then 3 Hours Low/Warm.....My boys devoured it, wish I made more for left overs.

      Thank you! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2012

      I cannot believe how good this recipe turned out! I followed it pretty much as written, only adding a teaspoon of dehydrated onion flakes, and it the results were unbelievable! I cooked it on low for 8 hours and while it didn't fall apart, it was still very moist and it really soaked up the seasonings. I added provolone to the sandwiches and served them on ciabatta bread (since the kids complain about harder bread). Between myself, my 3 kids and my husband, a 4 lb. roast disappeared in 20 minutes! The au jus was perfect, not too salty like some other recipes that I've had. I think next time I will try it with a top round roast to see if it gets "fall apart tender" but I will not change anything else. Thank you for the perfect French Dip recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2011

      This is phenomenal! Amazing flavor and tender beef from such an easy preparation. As some other reviewers suggested, I added a thinly sliced onion, chopped garlic, and worcestershire sauce to the liquid. I served this on crusty rolls topped with the onions, sliced cheddar and creamy horseradish and dipped in the strained jus. I think DH would've eaten 3 or 4 if I would've let him :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2011

      I was looking for something nice to make for my girlfriend after she got off work, something tasty. This seemed just right. So I made it, exactly to the recipe listed (plus extra garlic, b/c garlic is great), and it was a HIT! She absolutely loved it, said it was perfect, and my roomates loved it too. Thanks for such an awesome recipe--it was definitely an instant favorite! The meat was so perfect and tender, fell right apart. I put mozzarella and horseradish on the sandwiches as well just for a little something extra. I will absolutely be making this again! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2011

      I followed this recipe to the letter and the meat was not very flavorful. I even added more of everything and it was still very bland. The meat was kind of dry too, and I added all the water in the recipe. I was expecting this to be really fantastic and I was disappointed. Maybe I will try again with a different cut of meat and more seasoning.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2011

      MMmmmmmmm nice :D Thought I'd give this a go as have been trying to use my slow cooker more. So nice! Will definitely be doing this again. I added the onions, used beef stock, and worcestershire sauce, needed to amend the length of time as partner bought a very small joint. But the rest stuck to the original recipe. Yum :D

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2010

      This was so good!! I don't think I'll even try another recipe. The icing on the cake, was that the whole family gave it 5 stars!!! I used low sodium beef granules. Reading the reviews I also decided to reduce the *crushed* rosemary leaves to 1/2 teaspoon. This recipe is to die for, you will not go wrong if you give it a try. Made for Zaar Cookbook Tag 2010

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2010

      Excellent!. I used rosemary strands(forgot to crush) had to strain from the juice. Instead of garlic powder I used minced dried garlic bits and fresh canned garlic bits in a jar. I used Lumpong pepper from Sumatra, it is a course grain pungent pepper. My roast was about 5-6 pounds, home grown so didn't weight it. Good with sourdough rolls also. Cut them, toast and fill. I can certainly see why all of the reviews. Outstanding!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2011

      Alright, so this recipe is THE BOMB! Holy cow, it tasted just as good as pub fare. I used low-sodium soy sauce and added probably about 2 tablespoons of kosher salt. Secondly, I only used half of the rosemary and thyme (a little goes a long way with these spices). Make sure to throw in 1/3 of an onion - chopped, and some scallions for good measure. Thanks for posting this delicious, easy to make recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2011

      Excellent flavor and so easy! The broth was so good I could eat it alone. I added some chopped onions on top of the meat, but otherwise made as written. Served on rolls with melted muenster cheese. I will definitely make this again since everyone loved it and it was so simple. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2010

      My family loves this and I have made it several times with nary a complaint. For us, all the seasonings are spot on. The only problem I have ever encountered is not cooking a big enough roast. Most of the time we have a good amount of au jus leftover, but I will sometimes remember and incorporate it somehow in another recipe/dish. The Big Cheese scores! Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2010

      Going ahead and giving you 5 stars, because the final outcome was FANTASTIC! But I did have a wee bit of trouble...after 7 hours it was hard and tough as a brick!! I'm sure it was just a bad cut of meat or something though, because this is the first and only time I've ever had trouble with chuck roast! I ended up putting it into the pressure cooker with 1 1/2 cups of the broth mixture for 30 minutes and cooled immediately before opening, and then it was truely TDF!! :) I skipped the rosemary and added a little oregano in place of it, and didn't use a boullion cube. I used Superior Touch Better than Boullion beef base instead. (I just like it better.) Everything else the same! I'll definately use this recipe for French Dip, but maybe I'll just do it in the pressure cooker frm now on. Thanks, though, for the best French Dip we've ever tasted!! :) Alls well that ends well!! ;) :) (Oh, and served on hard rolls topped with provolone and toasted and melted in the oven...AWESOME!!)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2013

      Thanks for this recipe! I would take this over any restaurant French dip sandwich any day! The au jus was right on target in terms of taste and consistency. After cooking the meat it in the crockpot, I shredded it and let it sit in the juices so they would soak in a bit before we had dinner the result was fabulous.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2011

      Great recipe! I added a sliced onion on top as others suggested and popped in a totally frozen roast (grassfed from a local farmer/friend so I wasn't worried about bacteria). Cooked on high for 8 hours. Next time I'll used reduced-sodium soy sauce. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 8

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for French Dip Roast Beef for the Crock Pot

    Serving Size: 1 (183 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 300.4
     
    Calories from Fat 87
    29%
    Total Fat 9.7 g
    15%
    Saturated Fat 4.0 g
    20%
    Cholesterol 87.3 mg
    29%
    Sodium 1055.3 mg
    43%
    Total Carbohydrate 20.6 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 1.4 g
    5%
    Sugars 0.4 g
    1%
    Protein 32.6 g
    65%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes