158 Reviews

This is fantastic! I did use 1/2 tsp. oregano instead of the rosemary, and only 1/2 tsp. of thyme. Next time, I think I may use fresh garlic, just because I like to use it in my cooking. I sliced an onion and laid it in the pot before the meat, as suggested in other reviews - great idea! I served it with provolone cheese on toasted rolls. I'll be making this one again!

13 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Blessed*One August 01, 2010

Oh. My. Goodness. This is a GOOD roast recipe. Like, so good that I kept sneaking little pieces of the beef as I was putting together everyone else's sandwiches. YUM.

We made this and used it for French dip. I made as written, except that I liberally sprinkled the roast with garlic salt first, and I was out of rosemary so I subbed 1/2 tsp Italian seasoning and 1/2 tsp just oregano (thought the balance of flavors would approximate rosemary). The jus by itself was a little too bland for our taste (maybe I added too much water!), so I just ladled some into a saucepan and boiled it for a few minutes to concentrate the flavor.

AMAZING. This will become a staple in our house.

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Megicce April 07, 2011

Thank you for sharing, my family loved it! Once the meat was cooked, it shredded very easy. I skimmed fat off the juice for dipping but heated up my broiler. Opened up my soft hoagie rolls, piled them high w/beef and topped with provolone cheese. Broiled just few minutes to toast bread and melt cheese. It was wonderful! What a great recipe.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lorianne March 19, 2010

This was very good! It smelled great and was so tender. I did add onions as others suggested to the top and I was out of garlic powder so I used fresh. Thank you for sharing! I will definitely be making this again

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
schefersjunk April 09, 2011

hands down the best french dip recipe i have ever tried...used fresh minced garlic since i was out of garlic powder...the chuck roast turned out very tender...shredded the meat easily...tfs this keeper!!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pigtailone March 08, 2011

I cooked this for about 9 hours on low (I have a long commute) but, otherwise, followed the recipe exactly. It was incredibly tender and tasty! I did add sliced pepper Jack, my best option on hand. Next time I will add some Worcestershire as some reviews suggested as well as sliced onion. Great quick dinner! I will be using this again thank you for posting!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
coreybro1 March 15, 2011

Very Good and Easy too. Don't have to have a lot on hand. I did add a can of Golden Mushroom soup to flavor the broth a bit more, and sliced up one onion. I was in a time crunch, so I did 3 lbs of meat, Took 2 Hours HIGH, then 3 Hours Low/Warm.....My boys devoured it, wish I made more for left overs.

Thank you! :)

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Soup-R-Mom August 21, 2010

I cannot believe how good this recipe turned out! I followed it pretty much as written, only adding a teaspoon of dehydrated onion flakes, and it the results were unbelievable! I cooked it on low for 8 hours and while it didn't fall apart, it was still very moist and it really soaked up the seasonings. I added provolone to the sandwiches and served them on ciabatta bread (since the kids complain about harder bread). Between myself, my 3 kids and my husband, a 4 lb. roast disappeared in 20 minutes! The au jus was perfect, not too salty like some other recipes that I've had. I think next time I will try it with a top round roast to see if it gets "fall apart tender" but I will not change anything else. Thank you for the perfect French Dip recipe!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PSU Lioness February 20, 2012

This is phenomenal! Amazing flavor and tender beef from such an easy preparation. As some other reviewers suggested, I added a thinly sliced onion, chopped garlic, and worcestershire sauce to the liquid. I served this on crusty rolls topped with the onions, sliced cheddar and creamy horseradish and dipped in the strained jus. I think DH would've eaten 3 or 4 if I would've let him :)

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
under12parsecs October 12, 2011

I was looking for something nice to make for my girlfriend after she got off work, something tasty. This seemed just right. So I made it, exactly to the recipe listed (plus extra garlic, b/c garlic is great), and it was a HIT! She absolutely loved it, said it was perfect, and my roomates loved it too. Thanks for such an awesome recipe--it was definitely an instant favorite! The meat was so perfect and tender, fell right apart. I put mozzarella and horseradish on the sandwiches as well just for a little something extra. I will absolutely be making this again! :)

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
EBacon June 08, 2011
French Dip Roast Beef for the Crock Pot