Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    More Slow-Cooker Favorites

    Top Slow-Cooker Dishes

    Top Slow-Cooker Dishes

    52 Low-and-Slow Meals
    You Can Slow Cook That?!

    You Can Slow Cook That?!

    Try Potatoes, Pizza or Cake
    Slow-Cooker Desserts

    Slow-Cooker Desserts

    Effortless One-Pot Treats
    You are in: Home / Recipes / French Dip-Crock Pot Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    French Dip-Crock Pot Recipe

    Average Rating:

    82 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 82

    Sort by:

    • on January 19, 2011

      We thought this was pretty good. I am not sure why, but my au jus was so salty. Maybe it was the brand of bouillion cubes I used. We put 1 slice of swiss cheese each on our sandwiches, and my 1 year old ate his plain with no bread. I would make this again, but I would have to look carefully at what I put in the au jus that made it so salty, maybe switch brands of the cubes, or leave them out altogether. Thanks for posting the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2010

      Made this recipe for my family over the weekend, and it was loved by all who ate it. It was so good in fact, I'm making it for friends tomorrow. It's the best roast dip I have ever had anywhere.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2010

      This was a pretty good recipe. The meat turned out very dry though, I guess I over cooked it. I would probably only cook it for 3-4 hrs next time. But, overall the flavor was very good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2010

      One of my husbands favorites! He loves this, as do several friends I've passed it on to! Thank you so much for posting!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2010

      We loved this recipe! Only minor adjustments....I didn't have any bouillon so I used a pkg of beefy onion soup mix. I used beef stock instead of broth. Delicious! This is one of our favorite sandwiches and quick week night meal. Thank you!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2009

      Oh soo good! The aus jus wasn't quite beefy enough for me, so I reduced it on the stove for about 10 minutes. That did the trick without having to add extra sodium.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2009

      Fantastic!! I didn't add the pepper as my family does not enjoy the flavor but followed the rest of the recipe exactly. Made french dip sandwiches the first night ... for the left overs we thickened up the au jus to make it more like gravy and served it over hot beef sandwiches with mashed taters!! Simply wonderful!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2009

      Oh sweet baby Jesus, this was GOOD! I used a 4 lb bottom round roast and followed the ingredients exactly, except for cutting the pepper down to a few turns from my mill. I also used low sodium broth but regular sodium bouillon. It got about 4 hours on low, 1.5 hours on high, and then back to low for another 2 hours. It went on crusty hoagies with provolone cheese and got all toasted, and my au jous also got the additional bouillon. So tender...so flavorful... My so-not-easily-impressed husband declared it "quite possibly one of the best meals he's ever eaten" and "nice restaurant quality"! And begged me to make the leftovers into sandwiches that he can take to the Panthers game tomorrow! THANK YOU!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2009

      Very Peppery!!! I made this for company yesterday and while the meat was delicious the broth had WAY too much pepper. When I make this again I'll be using about a 1/2 teaspoon of black pepper instead of the 1 tablespoon of black pepper the recipe calls for. Other than that the meat was wonderful and it smelled fabulous cooking.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2009

      Wow! Thank you for posting. This recipe saved the day. I was having a late night supper for 6 people and this got rave reviews. Four nights later I made it again for my husband and I because we just didn't get enough on the first go around. I used a 3 lb. Tri Tip Roast, 2 teaspoons of Trade East Canadian Steak Seasoning instead of your blend - (only because I was nervous serving a new recipe for friends so I went with what I knew), and 2 1/2 cups of ready made broth. I cooked for eight hours on low and served on french rolls with a cheese slice, and caramelized onion slices sauteed in 1 Tablespoon of butter. Goes great with kettle chips and caesar salad!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2009

      I don't think this is the best french dip. Not making again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2008

      I thought this recipe was quite good and very easy to boot. My husband is not a big fan of french dip and he gave me the go ahead to make this again. Thank you for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2008

      My BF and I have had a couple of roasts lately, and with the leftovers we made some delicious roast beef and gravy, and wanted to try something else. Since I just got a new crock pot, I wanted to use it and see how it worked, so I made this roast. The seasonings were just enough without overdoing it, and we enjoyed these in rolls, and just dipped them in the Au Jus as we ate. Next time I might thicken the Au Jus and add it to the meat sandwich. Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2008

      This was pretty tasty. My eldest daughter had two of these, and my sons ate it breadless. Served alongside Easy Oven-Fried Potatoes for a quick and easy meal before we went out the door for DD1 ballet, DD2 ballet, then DS1 soccer!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2008

      Delicious! I just sprinkled the spices on the roast instead of measuring them out.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2008

      This was outstanding. We LOVED it. Next time I will decrease the pepper by a little. Thanks for this share..... so simple and SO WONDERFUL!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2008

      This was VERY good. I love getting this at restaurants and now I can make it at home!!The aus jus was excellent. I used a cheesecloth to strain it before serving and that made it much more appetizing.Rump roasts tend to be leaner so if you make this using a different cut of roast-make sure to trim some of the excess fat so that the aus jus will not be too greasy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2008

      This was EXCELLENT! I used only one bouillon cube and 2 Vidalia onions, threw it into the crock-pot while I went out shopping and came home to a wonderful dinner. I shredded the meat and served it on freshly baked French rolls that I ran under the broiler with some cheddar cheese. My husband inhaled his. Thanks for an easy and delicious recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2008

      Can't believe I've never reviewed this! This makes THE best sandwiches! Definitely my favorite recipe on here. I love the peppery Aus Jus...it just makes the whole thing perfect. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2008

      This was so good!! I made exactly as is and it came out perfect. One of the best receipe I have found on this site. Thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for French Dip-Crock Pot Recipe

    Serving Size: 1 (403 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 582.1
     
    Calories from Fat 312
    53%
    Total Fat 34.7 g
    53%
    Saturated Fat 13.7 g
    68%
    Cholesterol 212.6 mg
    70%
    Sodium 521.0 mg
    21%
    Total Carbohydrate 3.2 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 0.6 g
    2%
    Sugars 0.8 g
    3%
    Protein 60.3 g
    120%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    seasoning salt

    instant Oxo

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites